Customer Reviews for

Extra Credit

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    How would you like to repeat sixth grade?

    Extra Credit
    Abby Carson has been having a little trouble with her grades from fourth grade to sixth grade (she's presently in sixth grade.) In February of sixth grade, Abby found out she probably will have to repeat sixth grade. But, she finds out that if she does all her homework in all her subjects (and an extra credit project in L. A.), she has a chance to go to seventh grade. Then, she finds out the project is to write to someone from where she lives (Illinois) to a small village by the city of Kabul in Afghanistan. The person she is writing to is Amira Bayat. But secretly, Amira's brother Sadeed is the real one writing the letters because he doesn't think what Amira is saying in her letters is important and because what Amira says isn't answering the questions that Abby is asking in her letters.

    Extra Credit is a book that is written by Andrew Clements and illustrated by Mark Elliott. Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing Division published the book. The book was copyrighted in 2009. Extra Credit costs $16.99 in the United States. The theme of the book is it takes a lot of effort to set things right (as Abby did throughout the book with her grades.) Overall, it was a book with turns and twists.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Great Story

    This story allows 2 children to have a small window into each of their worlds. I loved the way he was able to help each child see their differences and appreicate all that they have and could have. I would recommend this to any family who are trying to help their children understand the struggle the Afgan children must face in order to do something as simple as write a letter. Many of us take this privledge for granted and if we did not have the communication highway where would we be? Clements has done an excellent job in showing children friendships can cross all borders and it is important to care for others and not just yourself.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    loved it.

    I loved this book. It gives people a chance to learn what it is like in different cultures, and, in some cases, how lucky we are.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Andrew Clements' novels are always a success in my opinion. Written for a middle grade audience, they are entertaining, inspirational, and educational, and EXTRA CREDIT is no exception.

    Just look closely at the cover and you will probably guess EXTRA CREDIT is a pen pal story, but it is not just any pen pal situation. Abby finds herself reluctantly writing a pen pal letter for extra credit. She is in danger of being held back in sixth grade again next year. Desperate to go on to junior high with her friends, she has promised to do all her homework and earn B's on all future tests this year so that she can leave the sixth grade behind.

    That is not quite enough for her language arts teacher. An extra credit project will also be required. That's where the letter writing comes in.

    Halfway around the globe from Illinois is Sadeed living in Afghanistan. His teacher has just asked him to assist his sister in writing a pen pal letter to a girl from America. That girl is Abby.

    What follows is the development of an unusual friendship and a learning experience like no other. Both young people are introduced to a culture completely different from their own, and the reactions that arise leave them both confused about the intolerant beliefs that surround them.

    The possibilities for EXTRA CREDIT are endless. It could be used as a discussion starter in classrooms involving current events, different cultures, letter writing, and so much more.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!

    LOVE IT!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Extra Credit

    The book is about a pen pal relationship that goes through the Mid-West United States to Afghanistan. So, after reading the book I thought about starting a pen pal relationship with some of my family in India. The book is really good! I think you should read it. It is about a girl who in order to get into the next grade is to complete an extra credit program which is completing a pen pals program with an Afghani boy the story is good and takes in the problems with the Afghani Government. I rate it 8.5 out of 10 stars.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Hi i am awesome

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I love Awdrew Clements writing!!!!!!

    This book was exciting and fun to read!!!!! I recomd this book and other Adrew Clement books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    I love it

    This book is one of the blue stem nomonations and im totally going to vote for it.It is also a battle of the books book.I recomend this book to people who like humorous books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Extra Credit

    My 10 year old grandson read Andrew Clements in class. The class wrote letters to him and my grandson received a signed bookmark and was thrilled beyond words and now is reading Extra Credit and sharing it with his class mates.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Pages

    How many pages?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Review by Elizabeth B.

    Great book. I recommened for 4th grade &up. The words are well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Blah

    Was this review helpful yes\ no

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Hey pleaseread me Hey please read me

    Hey i am awesome no your not okay now shut the hell up okay
    :p

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    :)

    Really good book trust me i read it it is touching and funny and is really good i think is cool how she is writing to someone someqhere else and i love love love this book so much this is a really long run on sentence but i dont care so any way it is a must read really in teresting i have3,206 charecters left i wonder bye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    ....

    Boring......

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Andrew clements roks

    This book is amazing i recomend it to msny children across the wrld maybe you can relate to his book it is easy to picture things and the characters in your head andrew clments is a fantastic wrier and has wonderful imagintion and is very creative i hope you like this book as much as i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    tap here.

    I am pooped my girlfriend just dumped me and I am grounded for 1 month because my mom and dad found out I had a girlfriend and I have a party to tmarrow so I can not go. This is the WORST month ever known in the history of the world!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Not dumb as the comment below said

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Dumb

    I read it i love readig but thid is the only book i really dont like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3