Customer Reviews for

Extra Credit

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

How would you like to repeat sixth grade?

Extra Credit
Abby Carson has been having a little trouble with her grades from fourth grade to sixth grade (she's presently in sixth grade.) In February of sixth grade, Abby found out she probably will have to repeat sixth grade. But, she finds out that if she does al...
Extra Credit
Abby Carson has been having a little trouble with her grades from fourth grade to sixth grade (she's presently in sixth grade.) In February of sixth grade, Abby found out she probably will have to repeat sixth grade. But, she finds out that if she does all her homework in all her subjects (and an extra credit project in L. A.), she has a chance to go to seventh grade. Then, she finds out the project is to write to someone from where she lives (Illinois) to a small village by the city of Kabul in Afghanistan. The person she is writing to is Amira Bayat. But secretly, Amira's brother Sadeed is the real one writing the letters because he doesn't think what Amira is saying in her letters is important and because what Amira says isn't answering the questions that Abby is asking in her letters.

Extra Credit is a book that is written by Andrew Clements and illustrated by Mark Elliott. Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing Division published the book. The book was copyrighted in 2009. Extra Credit costs $16.99 in the United States. The theme of the book is it takes a lot of effort to set things right (as Abby did throughout the book with her grades.) Overall, it was a book with turns and twists.

posted by 2381418 on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

tap here.

I am pooped my girlfriend just dumped me and I am grounded for 1 month because my mom and dad found out I had a girlfriend and I have a party to tmarrow so I can not go. This is the WORST month ever known in the history of the world!!

posted by Anonymous on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    How would you like to repeat sixth grade?

    Extra Credit
    Abby Carson has been having a little trouble with her grades from fourth grade to sixth grade (she's presently in sixth grade.) In February of sixth grade, Abby found out she probably will have to repeat sixth grade. But, she finds out that if she does all her homework in all her subjects (and an extra credit project in L. A.), she has a chance to go to seventh grade. Then, she finds out the project is to write to someone from where she lives (Illinois) to a small village by the city of Kabul in Afghanistan. The person she is writing to is Amira Bayat. But secretly, Amira's brother Sadeed is the real one writing the letters because he doesn't think what Amira is saying in her letters is important and because what Amira says isn't answering the questions that Abby is asking in her letters.

    Extra Credit is a book that is written by Andrew Clements and illustrated by Mark Elliott. Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing Division published the book. The book was copyrighted in 2009. Extra Credit costs $16.99 in the United States. The theme of the book is it takes a lot of effort to set things right (as Abby did throughout the book with her grades.) Overall, it was a book with turns and twists.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Great Story

    This story allows 2 children to have a small window into each of their worlds. I loved the way he was able to help each child see their differences and appreicate all that they have and could have. I would recommend this to any family who are trying to help their children understand the struggle the Afgan children must face in order to do something as simple as write a letter. Many of us take this privledge for granted and if we did not have the communication highway where would we be? Clements has done an excellent job in showing children friendships can cross all borders and it is important to care for others and not just yourself.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    loved it.

    I loved this book. It gives people a chance to learn what it is like in different cultures, and, in some cases, how lucky we are.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!

    LOVE IT!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Extra Credit

    The book is about a pen pal relationship that goes through the Mid-West United States to Afghanistan. So, after reading the book I thought about starting a pen pal relationship with some of my family in India. The book is really good! I think you should read it. It is about a girl who in order to get into the next grade is to complete an extra credit program which is completing a pen pals program with an Afghani boy the story is good and takes in the problems with the Afghani Government. I rate it 8.5 out of 10 stars.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Hi i am awesome

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I love Awdrew Clements writing!!!!!!

    This book was exciting and fun to read!!!!! I recomd this book and other Adrew Clement books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Not dumb as the comment below said

    Great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    I love it

    This book is one of the blue stem nomonations and im totally going to vote for it.It is also a battle of the books book.I recomend this book to people who like humorous books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Extra Credit

    My 10 year old grandson read Andrew Clements in class. The class wrote letters to him and my grandson received a signed bookmark and was thrilled beyond words and now is reading Extra Credit and sharing it with his class mates.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Great Book!

    I loved this book! Very exciting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    1 TRAINING CREDIT FOR

    Fallen, ice, flame. Training credit given by bloodheart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Pages

    How many pages?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Review by Elizabeth B.

    Great book. I recommened for 4th grade &up. The words are well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    :)

    Really good book trust me i read it it is touching and funny and is really good i think is cool how she is writing to someone someqhere else and i love love love this book so much this is a really long run on sentence but i dont care so any way it is a must read really in teresting i have3,206 charecters left i wonder bye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Andrew clements roks

    This book is amazing i recomend it to msny children across the wrld maybe you can relate to his book it is easy to picture things and the characters in your head andrew clments is a fantastic wrier and has wonderful imagintion and is very creative i hope you like this book as much as i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Amazing

    Best book by Andrew Clements got to love this book to penpals find out about eachothers country and become friends but they dont know each others secerets

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    The great book extra credit .

    This is a really great book . the author andrew clements did a great job making this book ! When i started reading this book i loved it ! I think everyone should read it !! If you read this book hope you like it !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Really good

    Amzaing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Cool

    This is a really good book and i hate books and this is the only book i likE
    !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2