Customer Reviews for

Extraordinary: The Life You're Meant to Live

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    don't know of anyone who does not need to read this book. It will definitely change your life for the better, I know it has mine. How much more joy will you have when you live the life God gave you to live? We miss those teachings of HOW, we lear

    I've gone through bible studies using John Bevere books before, so I was really excited when his newest, "Extraordinary: The Life You're Meant to Live," came in the mail. We all look up to someone, and whoever that someone is to us they are great because of something they have done, because of who we are. There is an inner longing in us to be extraordinary too, to be someone that others look to for inspiration. This book is about that need God has placed in our hearts to be extraordinary. Bevere biblically points out that God not only put that there but he made us to be extraordinary! He doesn't put a desire in us without giving us the capabilities to be it.
    I don't know of anyone who does not need to read this book. It will definitely change your life for the better, I know it has mine. How much more joy will you have when you live the life God gave you to live? We miss those teachings of HOW, we learn what God gives us but not how to use us. With biblical examples Bevere shows us the how. So now go out and be "Extraordinary."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    Live Extraordinary!

    "Isn't it true that we long to see the extraordinary, experience the extraordinary, do the extraordinary? Yet, so often we settle for mediocrity when greatness is within our grasp." ~ From the Back Cover

    That's the question that troubles many believers: "Why am I not experiencing more joy, more hope, more satisfaction, more intimacy, more power, more everything in my Christian life - didn't Jesus promise that?"

    In his newest release, Extraordinary, author and speaker John Bevere, takes you on a journey of discovering your extraordinary lives. Bevere builds a convincing case, straight from Scripture, for a way of living marked by extraordinary experiences and accomplishments - the life God always intended for his children.

    God did promise an abundant life, but too many people are trapped by the curse of "the ordinary." They have accepted the wrong idea that following God means losing individuality, creativity, and a passion for achieving lofty goals. Here is a guide to understanding God's incredible plans, and how to enjoy a life where he adds the "extra" to "ordinary."

    "I see a generation comprised of all ages, inclusive of men and women, awakening to the extraordinary qualities hidden within. The power to accomplish remarkable feats and live an exceptional life is not defined by an individual's family, education, or occupation; it's a disposition of the heart. Unless it's suppressed, there is an innate desire to rise above the norm. I encourage you to step into the unknown, embrace the divine empowerment, and live your extraordinary life." ~ John Bevere

    If you are plagued by the curse of mediocrity, then you need to read this book. It will set you on a course to unlock your gift to living an Extraordinary life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    Extraordinary

    In Extraordinary, John Bevere reveals to us how God hasn't called us to just be normal, rather, He has called us to be extraordinary. Bevere reminds us who God is to us, Daddy, and what He wants from us, to be pleased. But can we really please someone as big as God? After all, we are broken people who make mistakes. Bevere shows us how we can lead a God fearing, honoring and pleasing life, and how to do it in all aspects of our life with the help of Christ who is the giver of all life.

    I found this book to be a great look into what Christianity is for those who are new to the faith, and a great reminder of what we are called to be for those who have been walking with Christ for a month, a year or a lifetime. Extraordinary calls out to all of us and really gives us a reminded hope of who we are and how God calls us to live our lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    Outstanding guide about the power of grace

    Extraordinary by John Bevere is subtitled: The Life You're Meant to Live. Bevere focuses in on the lack of life in the church today compared to the New Testament church. Our churches have become more of a social club than a force of God within the world. We are a subculture rather than a counterculture, and Satan has been able to use that lack of power to disenchant the world to Jesus. Bevere says, "Here's the sobering reality: godly men and women determine whether or not the will of God gets done on this earth! By discounting the power of grace, we have cheapened faith and don't live life as God intended. Bevere uses Scripture to back up his point, and readers will be surprised to find themselves relating strongly to it. Christians should be excelling in every area of their life through the grace of God, and when we don't we fail to fulfill our destinies. This powerful book is a must read to shake up your faith and get the most out of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Decent Read for Christians

    With a tag of, "The Life You're Meant to Live" you'd think Extraordinary would be something special.

    Alas, it is not. John Bevere is a best-selling author and sometimes that doesn't translate into later books.

    Bevere explains that followers of Christ already have the ability to live the life you were meant to live. Because of the grace and mercy of God, you have access to your full potential.

    The thing that's holding you back is the poor teachings of modern day preachers. They don't want to come across as judgmental or harsh - no one wants to offend anyone, Bevere says, so there are thousands of church-goers who have no idea what they are free to do.

    With chapters like, The Power to Please, Newness of Life, The Kingdom Within and The Access, you'd think this was going to be some New Age filth, but this is actually a solid Christian read.

    One area of confusion comes when Bevere talks about faith and healing. I may have read him wrong but it seemed as if he was saying that if we were truly believed that God is LORD, then we wouldn't have to go to doctors when we get sick.

    Essentially saying if we go to the doctor's for medicine, we lack truth faith.

    I'm not too sure on that.

    In the end, Extraordinary is a fine book with some excellent points.

    You can find it by clicking here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bevere Challenges His Readers To Live A Bigger Life In God

    As a long time reader of John Bevere's books, I was thrilled to be able to review his newest work, Extraordinary. Bevere's book inspires the reader to dig deeper and seek out the richness of life that God intends for every one of His children. Every chapter has one or two "reflection" questions at the end, that help you to really think about the points John is making. One of my favorite chapters was "Beyond Comprehension" in which John describes the river of God's grace which covers more areas of our life than just our salvation. There is an illustration in this chapter that really brings this point to light - as believers, the same faith that we use for salvation should and can be used for holy living, divine health, provision and many other areas. John states: "We may have faith to believe that God's grace has forgiven us from all sin and saved us from an eternal hell, but there are other areas of salvation, such as the power of our new nature, the power to walk in holiness, and the power to bring heaven's will to earth to meet the needs of mankind." If you're tired of living status-quo and yearn for a deeper, meaningful life - I encourage you to read Extraordinary and accept John's challenge to live a bigger life in God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Extraordinary

    Extraordinary
    The Life Your Meant to Live
    John Bevere
    2009
    Waterbrook Press
    Non-fiction/Christian Living

    Reviewed by Cindy Loven

    Extraordinary, the opposite of normal. So many times we as Christian trudge through our lives, living and scraping through by the skin of our teeth, or just normally. John Bevere, wants us to recognize that God has an extraordinary life, He wants us to have.

    We are told in the Bible that Christ came that we might have life, and life more abundantly. Extraordinary life. We all know that God loves us, He sent His only begotten Son to die for us. Unconditional love, nothing we can do, say or think will make God love us any more than He does. On the same token, it will not make Him love us less. However our actions and life, can affect how pleased God is with us.

    Pleased? We are instructed to live a life that is well pleasing to God. Relate this to your own children, you will always love them. Always. But not always are you pleased by their actions. The same is true for God. WE can live a life that is pleasing to God. WE can be extraordinary.

    John Bevere's book will lead the way to living a pleasing, and extraordinary life for God. All areas of our life can be extraordinary. We can do this. A good book to encourage us to live up to our potential, Extraordinary, The Life You're Meant to Live is a well written, timely message for the body of Christ. fDiscussion questions, thoughts to ponder end each chapter. 4 stars 230 pages $22.99 US

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    highly recommend this book

    just a awesome book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Extraordinary rather ordinary

    Based on the summary of this book, I really thought this was going to be an encouraging book about living the life God intended for us, of using our gifts and talents and passions and living for God, rather than ourselves. But this was not that book.

    This book was based on theology. About how if we're believing in God's grace and in who God is then we're living the life we're supposed to be living. I didn't want to read a book on theology basics and foundations.

    One thing about this book I found rather off-putting was how Bevere would quote Scripture. Yes, he used lots of it which was great, but what was off-putting was how we would often would choose alternate words in place of the Scripture to prove his point. He often replaced the Bible's use of "God's power"with "God's grace." Personally, I view power and grace as totally different things, though both aspects of God's awesome nature. I don't like Scripture being reinterpreted to fit Bevere's ideals.

    On a positive note, there were several passages, stories, and chapters that really spoke to me and gave me a deeper perspective on elements crucial to my faith. It was encouraging. The takeaway message for me was that to live an extraordinary life we must be living in God's grace and not our own strength. A beautiful message and great reminder.

    I would recommend this book for new believers, or those who want to learn more about their faith or who want alternate ways to share their faith with others. But this was not the self-help book for living an extraordinary life that I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Extraordinary? Not so much...

    In John Bevere's latest book, Extraordinary - The Life You're Meant to Live, readers are presented with an unrealistic, seemingly hedonistic view of modern Christianity.
    As you can probably tell by the opening sentence, I found this book disrespectful at best and blasphemy at worst.
    Extraordinary puts an unhealthy emphasis on how great our life should be and urges us, in the vein of Osteen, to pursue "our best life now". Bible reading and BELIEVING Christians will tell you that our best life is yet to come. As Paul told the church at Corinth, "If in this life only we have hope in Christ, we are of all men most miserable. Christ himself told us that we would have to take up our cross in order to follow Him.

    Bevere was very candid about his past struggles with lust and an addiction to pornography and he openly discussed how saturating himself in God's Word helped him to overcome these strongholds.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through their bloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    inspiring and challenging testimony

    John Bevere has written an excellent and practical guide here to striving for and living an 'extraordinary' life. Beginning with the plain fact that 'the opposite of extraordinary is normal!', he explores the aspiration for our lives to mean more or be more than what we already know and see. He argues rightly that there is an innate desire in each of us to rise above commonness. We yearn for the 'extraordinary'. He skilfully develops this further to look at the way we reflect the nature of God and sets out on a journey to fully understand the extraordinary way God wants us to live. I enjoyed the early chapters on unconditional love, pleasing God and labouring to know God's will for our life. He talks how our goals will not be accomplished without prayer, faith, and a search for our personal roles. There is a lot to agree with on some people's perception of the Christian life set against seeking to fulfil God's specific plans for their life. It is a consistently interesting and satisfying read and a personal challenge also. Ideas on grace, mercy, peace and truth are spelled out in a practical way and the personal experiences in each of the seventeen chapters make sense of what in other hands would be 'concepts' and detached truths. The chapter 'True Faith is Relentless' is an outstanding example of clarity, of relating experience and the excitement of expecting the Lord to do great things. This is an excellent resource for an in-depth group study and is a book that I enjoyed reading through a great deal. It provides ideas and applications and is truly inspiring. As a personal reflection, I reviewed the electronic rather than the print version of this and did not find it easy to track back and forth as easily as I would when normally handling a book. As more books are distributed this way, as readers we might need to approach titles like this in parts rather than as a single book, but that's a personal observation only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Buy this book! Highly recommended!

    I was blessed to receive the cd series with this book and it has truly been life changing. I thank John Bevere for his faithfulness in being used. He has been truly annointed. I am still in the process of reading this book and listening to the series and I an enjoying every minute of it. I would recommend this book (and cd's) to everyone who wants to understand the extraordinary life God has made available to those who choose him thru Jesus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Maybe good for someone new to Christianity...

    Pros: This book does a great job of referencing the Scriptures.

    Cons: The author tends to over-explain much of his material. This might be necessary for someone who is just learning the Christian faith, but if you have taken several Bible study classes and feel like you have a firm grasp on the Bible, this book is probably not for you. The amount of repetiton gets tedious (examples: the drawn-out story of "Island Man", and the section referencing the author's children's achievements.) I felt that there was nothing this book presented that I didn't already know. That being said, this is a great book for new believers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2