Customer Reviews for

Extraordinary, Ordinary People: A Memoir of Family

Average Rating 3.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I have ever read

This book is masterfully written. Conde bring you into her life and makes you feel like you are right there experiencing it firsthand. The stories make you laugh, cry, and get angry. The history that you see from her childhood in Birmingham helps you to understand wha...
This book is masterfully written. Conde bring you into her life and makes you feel like you are right there experiencing it firsthand. The stories make you laugh, cry, and get angry. The history that you see from her childhood in Birmingham helps you to understand what the black community went through and how her family made the decision to not live their lives as victims but to fight to succeed. Everyone should read this book in fact I am buying several to give to friends and family for Christmas this year. This book is an incredible work of art that will make you think through many different issues.

posted by MagmaCB on October 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Strong message on the role of hard work and networking in achieving ones goals...

This was an easy read, concise and well structured. Presenting Condees' life with a heavy emphasis on how her upbringing shaped her to become the person she is today. This is one accomplished woman but it sometimes sounded like she was bragging while narrating all of he...
This was an easy read, concise and well structured. Presenting Condees' life with a heavy emphasis on how her upbringing shaped her to become the person she is today. This is one accomplished woman but it sometimes sounded like she was bragging while narrating all of her achievements. I didn't find her to be a very relatable person and felt there was a wall up with this autobiography. Nonetheless, it was inspiring to see how her hardwork paid off.

posted by ZeeQuest on January 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Book

    As an African American this is my story. Rice is the real deal. Rice tells the story in a very positive way. Just stating the facts as they were. Very honest read.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    I would highly recommend this engaging read

    I'm halfway through this book but am reading it with relish. She's an excellent story teller and helps the reader step into a part of our country's history that may have been lost to them. She brings her parents and their moral codes alive - she also witnesses the major historical events from the catbird seat and gives an incredible look at the uglier part of America's segregation days and does it without discernible rancor or bitterness. I have to say that her editor failed her, however. I'm tempted to go back to the beginning and count the number of times she alludes to something being a part of her life "to this day." It's a little annoyance that jars the reader - but it hasn't kept me from rushing to read at every opportunity.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Beautiful!

    Condi is the epitome if class, strength and character! I love her story and have a new found respect for her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Recommended

    I've been a fan of Conde since her time in the White House with Bush 43, and am even more impressed with her now that I've read this autobio. The book chronicles a very personal side of her life and explains some of the reasons behind her decisions and policies. Her parents were truly extraordinary, and they certainly raised an extraordinary girl. Let's look for Rice on the ballot in '12!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    A Black Woman's Life Done Well!

    Ms. Rice's extraordinary story is of the transitional life she had in a segregated society blossoming in growth, freedom and intelligence. Candidly told and very well writen, she takes us inside her heart and head from the Black society of Birmington, Alabama, to the leadership of a college and the leadership of a nation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    A must read!

    I truly enjoyed this book. It makes you realize how much pain segregation was for those living it and how it is still around today. Condoleezza Rice's life growing up was interesting and a challenge. Her parents were remarkable but still like everyone else's. It is a remarkable book and a must read for everyone. I would have voted for you for President.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    I didn't know much about Ms. Rice - but after reading her book she is awesome

    When you see a person in the news - you get a very controlled view point of the person. Ms. Rice is complete and grounded and explains the generation I grew up in with grace and fatual reality of what it took to face the days and times. Quite a learning curve for me. She is deep and extremely literate and aware of life and what it took for her to get where she is today. We may not start out knowing why, but she definitely knows a lot more than she did in learning how and why by understanding what it took to get the open doors she has walked through. I enjoyed this book a lot. I was born in '48 and I felt and understood it from within.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Great story, driven women

    Great story, driven women

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Interesting look at a journey from Birmingham to D.C.

    Good, even though I am a Democrat.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't have a more apt title

    Condoleezza Rice's tribute to her family is touching and inspirational by way of its normalcy. They are regular people who push themselves to their potential, too rare these days. They represent the best in America and the kind of spirit, faith and dedication that made our country great. She's faced diversity and emerged stronger and wiser for it. There is no woe-is-me self pity in this book, even in the frank and heart-breaking description of the racist, segregated world in which she grew up.
    Dr. Rice's style is plain and simple storytelling. Sometimes those in academia are prone to overworking their writing and producing dreadfully dull text. This book gives you the feeling that you're having a chat with her and she's telling her story. It's lively and a fairly quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2