Customer Reviews for

Extras (Uglies Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 707 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(350)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

People who like reading about adventures will without a doubt enjoy this book! The title is Extras and it is written by Scott Westerfeld. The genre is teen adventure/science fiction. In Extras the reader is introduced to Aya Fuse, who is tired of being a nobody. After ...
People who like reading about adventures will without a doubt enjoy this book! The title is Extras and it is written by Scott Westerfeld. The genre is teen adventure/science fiction. In Extras the reader is introduced to Aya Fuse, who is tired of being a nobody. After a party, she meets the Sly Girls, a group of brave girls who want nothing to do with fame, which is all Aya wants. Aya gets her chance when they discover something that could bring her fame but could put the rest of the world in danger. My opinion on Extras is that it's a very attention-grabbing book. From page one to the end, it had my complete interest. It is full of excitement and many people can relate to some things that happen in this book. So, if anyone is in for an adventure, read Extras!

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Missing my characters!

After reading all about Tally, Shay and David for three books, I was left longing for more. Extras had them to some degree, but not as much as I would have liked. It successfully answered the "what happens next" question left hanging at the end of Specials, but I wasn...
After reading all about Tally, Shay and David for three books, I was left longing for more. Extras had them to some degree, but not as much as I would have liked. It successfully answered the "what happens next" question left hanging at the end of Specials, but I wasn't a fan of introducing a whole new cast of characters.

posted by smokesignls on October 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 709 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 36
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Good, bur not great

    I think that it was a pretty good book but it was really slow in some parts and got annoying and it wasntvas captivating as the other books. I was hoping yhat it was going to have more action and that the series woukdnt end like that. The ending i hated so much, it was a boring sappy ending and i think that the uglies seiries and this book should be teo different things and that he would start another series about aya abd all them on the new plac out in space or somthing like that because things were so different exept for tge hover stuff and i think that the whole surge monkey thing was i little bit creepy and the namenana love makes me think of one of those grndmas wjo give you alot of cookies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    EXTRAS: A WORLD WITH LESS TALLY

    Because Tally wasn¿t the main character, I had half a mind to skim through the entire book, expecting it to be a boring read but Westerfeld proved me wrong by providing a new character, Aya, who is very similar to Tally when she was fifteen. Aya¿s society presents and interesting twist that Uglies, Pretties, and Specials didn¿t have: A reputation economy. This economy gives Aya the drive and motivation to cooperate with Tally who is a manipulating, cold -hearted, short tempered, dangerous, emotionally unstable version of the Tally who I grew to love. I think Westerfeld decided to make Tally¿s personality that way so that we would fall in love with Aya who is more human, and it worked! By the end of the book I no longer questioned Tally¿s absence. I look forward to more books in Aya¿s perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    Extras - Extra Storyline

    Unlike the others who have reviewed this title, I actually really liked this book. True, it did not surround the Tally and her friends, but it gave readers another look into this futuristic world that the author has created. In the previous books, we saw how Tally's city operated and were only given a glimpse at how other cities were run. In Extras we are exposed to a whole new type of world, where a person's reputation entitles them to priviledges and rewards (not so unlike ours, in a way.) This book expands on the effects Tally's actions has had on other places. It introduces new characters and a new alternate realtity in which these characters interact. There are elements that are familiar to readers while others are wholly new and exotic. I loved the different take on this book than those in the previous books and look forward to more books in this series - whether or not they deal with the same characters is moot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Good enough not the best though :/

    &#9786 good book series though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    NOT 4TH BOOK!!!

    Extras is NOT the 4th book of the series. Uglies is actually a trilogy with Extras as a "companion". It has the same idea but is a seperate book from the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Read review

    I will say this in a short and simple way.
    Good book. Tally is not main character. Fun to see how people think of tally. Totaly recemend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Great Series

    I enjoyed reading the Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld. I had a difficult time getting into the fourth book but kept reading and was glad I did. This is a great light read, perfect for reading on vacation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    So disappointing

    The story completely lost my interest .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    AWSOME

    This is a great book like the rest in the Uglies series. I really recomend this book ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Okay

    This book was very good but it was not as riveting as the last 3 three books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Pinkgorilla

    Write about me!!!! Im awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Not very good

    Warning.... For anyone who's read the other three uglies books and come to this fourth installment looking for a good story youll be disappointed. Westerfeld should've stopped at a trilogy. This book does not impress. Sorry Rob:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Brilliant but really...

    This book is phenomenal! But seriously stop complaining that you wasted your money and this novel is in Spanish! JUST READ THE DESCRIPTION!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Starts off slow, but ends great

    Keep reading, it will get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    DR.BACON IN DAH NOOK

    I havent read it but ... it seems like the peopke ho dont like this book are guys :P The qoate on qoate "men" should read manly books not teen romance books XD aslo the spanish problem mhm i think ill get the sample first and be careful not to get that version. One long sentence. If i do then i dont know what to do mhmmmmm. To make the monies back ill probly sell an air guitar ( people acutly buy it from you some off my friends sold them before) p.s. idk about spelling ect errors. Im only human # #'s suck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Hi

    It seems to me the books just get wors and wors i mean the first book has 25 likes the second has 17 third has 10 and this one only has 5 i mean its a intresting story but it seems the authur is getin lazy no offenes to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Turd on a stick are purple

    I like pie

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Spanish

    When I bought this book, it was in spanish!! So I cant even read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOU IS AN IDIOT!( Unless you agree with what I have to say or don't do any of the things listed in my review)

    First off this book is great. Second, some idiots read the Spanish version because they did not even look at the description. Third, learn to spell! Yeah, I'm talking to the guy who put right instead of write. Fourth, if you have a title like this: dhugghjfddjjccbjhgvjjnfshudxbkiedog and you follow it up with something like this: fvjndfjhhjchsgkffhcbghhddh you look like a coplete and total idiot. Finally, if you have a title like this: This book was AWESOME!!!! and then do this for your review: This book was AWESOME!!!! you also look like an idiot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Insp In spanish couldn't read

    I just wasted 11 dollars for a book in spanish that couldn't read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 709 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 36