Customer Reviews for

Extras (Uglies Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 707 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(350)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

People who like reading about adventures will without a doubt enjoy this book! The title is Extras and it is written by Scott Westerfeld. The genre is teen adventure/science fiction. In Extras the reader is introduced to Aya Fuse, who is tired of being a nobody. After ...
People who like reading about adventures will without a doubt enjoy this book! The title is Extras and it is written by Scott Westerfeld. The genre is teen adventure/science fiction. In Extras the reader is introduced to Aya Fuse, who is tired of being a nobody. After a party, she meets the Sly Girls, a group of brave girls who want nothing to do with fame, which is all Aya wants. Aya gets her chance when they discover something that could bring her fame but could put the rest of the world in danger. My opinion on Extras is that it's a very attention-grabbing book. From page one to the end, it had my complete interest. It is full of excitement and many people can relate to some things that happen in this book. So, if anyone is in for an adventure, read Extras!

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Missing my characters!

After reading all about Tally, Shay and David for three books, I was left longing for more. Extras had them to some degree, but not as much as I would have liked. It successfully answered the "what happens next" question left hanging at the end of Specials, but I wasn...
After reading all about Tally, Shay and David for three books, I was left longing for more. Extras had them to some degree, but not as much as I would have liked. It successfully answered the "what happens next" question left hanging at the end of Specials, but I wasn't a fan of introducing a whole new cast of characters.

posted by smokesignls on October 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 709 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Missing my characters!

    After reading all about Tally, Shay and David for three books, I was left longing for more. Extras had them to some degree, but not as much as I would have liked. It successfully answered the "what happens next" question left hanging at the end of Specials, but I wasn't a fan of introducing a whole new cast of characters.

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Great book!

    People who like reading about adventures will without a doubt enjoy this book! The title is Extras and it is written by Scott Westerfeld. The genre is teen adventure/science fiction. In Extras the reader is introduced to Aya Fuse, who is tired of being a nobody. After a party, she meets the Sly Girls, a group of brave girls who want nothing to do with fame, which is all Aya wants. Aya gets her chance when they discover something that could bring her fame but could put the rest of the world in danger. My opinion on Extras is that it's a very attention-grabbing book. From page one to the end, it had my complete interest. It is full of excitement and many people can relate to some things that happen in this book. So, if anyone is in for an adventure, read Extras!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unnecessary 4th Installment

    I couldn't stop at Specials when I discovered there was a 4th installment in the series, but I was disappointed by most of this story. At first I was mostly just confused by the jump in time and the abandonment of Tally's story. I was really happy that she was reintroduced later in the story but this one fell flat for me overall. I would never have skipped it though, due to my dedication to the series as a whole. Don't expect the same excitement of Specials to be repeated in this story.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Little too far

    He started a book in this series about someone totally different. When an author does this it is my opinion that they should start a different series. I understand that he did bring in tally but still.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Recommended read

    Aya Fuse is a fifteen-year-old extra whose greatest desire is to kick the biggest story of her life to launch her face rank 'a miserable 451,359' to the top 1,000. Aya lives in an unnamed city in Japan with a reputation economy, in a post-mindrain world 'the mindrain was when all of the 'pretty' brain surgeries were stopped because they kind of imprisoned people to think a certain 'pretty' way' where being famous is the ultimate goal, and if no one is talking about you, you're a complete extra 'nobody'. The comparison between our worlds seems intentional. Everyone in Aya's city has a feed 'like a blog or facebook' where you kick stories 'like a journalist'. If someone famous watches your feed, your face rank can skyrocket, and you could be included in the coveted top 1,000. At the beginning of Extras, Aya stumbles upon a 'tricky' covert group, calling themselves the Sly Girls, hoverboarding a mag-lev train 'a train that reaches speeds of 300mph'. She knows that if she kicks this story, she'll be whisked into the the world of fame. She infiltrates the group, riding the mag-lev along with the girls and secretly snapping shots with her button-cams and video feeds with Moggle, her hovercam. One night, when hoverboarding the mag-lev, they come across a secret base in the side of a mountain, filled with giant metal cylinders of smart matter 'smart matter can change into any programmed shape, texture, or material', and alien-like surge-monkeys. Aya comes to a shocking realization these could easily be weapons to destroy other cities- not to mention the world- with. She kicks the Sly Girls story 'and it turns out that they knew she was lying to them all along', along with her feeds of the secret mountain and how she believes it could be a weapon of mass destrution. Her face rank launches to number thirteen. But in one of the background layers of her feed, she accidently left a video of the Sly Girls talking about the freak surge-monkeys, who she didn't put in her feed because of lack of pictures/video proof. Just minutes after launching her feed, a hovercar full of the alien-like beings attempts to kidnap her brother Hiro, his friend Ren, Aya's friend Frizz, and her, but they escape narrowly. And when she gets a ping 'message' from Tally Youngblood, the most famous person in the world, not to mention a Special 'a person engineered to be stronger, faster, and way more vicious than normal people', she fears that she may have blundered upon a story even bigger than that of secret cliques and scary weapons, a story that may change the way the world runs...

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!

    This is the 4th book and compainion novel to the Uglies series. I really liked this book, I actually like it better then the first three books in the series. The first three books are good but this book is really good. For those that love Tally, she's in this book, just not as the main character, so don't worry. Aya Fuse is a 15 year old girl living after the the world was freed of mind control by Tally Youngblood. She's obsessed with finding and kicking the right story so she can become famous and have a higher face rank. She gets a break when she runs into the Sly Girls, a secret clique, and joins them. While train surfing the Sly Girls and Aya learn about a secret hollowed out place in the mountain storing metal and cylinders that shoot up in the sky. Aya soon kicks the sotry of the Sly girls and what she thinks are weapons that could destroy whole cities. And as she becomes more famous she has to run in order to keep from being caught by the freaky looking people who stored those metal cylinders in the mountain. With the help of Tally, the Cutters, and Aya's brother and friends she learns the truth and learns not to truth slant(lie) because it could mean everything when trying to get a story out there.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    this book was okay, not like bad like other people are saying. A lot of the people said they were disappointed that this book was centered around Aya, not Tally, but they should realize that the stories revolving around Tally:Uglies, Pretties, and Specials are a trilogy. So the authour PLANNED to have only 3 books on Tally. The Extras.. is just an extra book based on the world that Westerfeld has created, not a sequel to Specials

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Pretty good

    Im enjoying this book alot im almost done with it. At first i had a hard time starting it cause it was soooo slowww at the begging. I think that they should have either stopped the series after the last book or made a new series for Aya and her friends. But still i cant wait to finish this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Okay

    I loved the original 3 books and was excited to tead the 4th. I loved the new characters and the whole "face rank" idea, but I felt like the book was very slow. I got bored very often and I thought the middle was very slow. The beginning on the other hand was awesome and I just love Lai and the Sly Girls. I also liked how it took place in Japan. It was only worth reading because I wanted to know what happened to Tally and David and because of the Sly Girls and Ren and Aya.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Tallyyoungbloodloverforeverr

    I read all the other three books and LOVED themm tally was so inspiring i wanted her in this book...having a lot of trouble reading this book.Definitly not the others, i couldnt put those down...hopefully i will somehow get through this....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Very good read..

    I have read Uglies/Pretties/Specials and I am about to go purchase Extras. Westerfeld has a way of making you not want to put the book down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    I'm not going to leave an actual review or anything but this ser

    I'm not going to leave an actual review or anything but this series was amazing and highly recommended. I was first told of these books by my best friend and once I started reading it, I couldn't stop. It threw a smile on my face, made me laugh, made me cry uncontrollably and just made me feel such raw emotions that I couldn't stop thinking about the books for weeks. The characters are very fun and genuine and I love how Tally changes from an average person to one of the most  important and popular person in the world. But of course she had to deal with tons of problems and pressure. This author did a fantastic job and with a nice cliffhanger at the end of the final book, I was left breathless. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    This is a must read! I was a little confused in from the start b

    This is a must read! I was a little confused in from the start but once i started to get more into the book i understood the concept! I love this 
    book! i love how they re introduce tally david faustio and shay! I wish this book was a little longer or maybe the author could have made 
    new series out of this but it is still exceptional! I was wondering who Moggle was but then once i red the book further in i understood! i would 
    have loved to see David a little more but thats alright. Like i said i wish the book was longer or a separate series because it was a little much for
    only 399 pages! But this is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Wow such a surprise!!

    When i saw this book and read it was about a girl named Aya Fuse i was skeptical on wether it was worth it or not. This book was all about popularity and secret clubs. The one that Aya joined the Sly Girls who loved to be an Extra, Aya was the opposite of that. Farther into her adventures she finds somethingthat will make her popular, and then later in to the book a special circumstance is accounted for and guess who meets who..... This BOOK was AMAZING I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    AMAZING! MUST READ BOOKS!

    This book is amazing, its the last book so far and it has some new characters and a bunch of cliffhanger parts. i wish they would have made a 5 book too

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Not what I'd hoped for

    The book had me a little lost at first until I realized it was based years later. Aya drove me absolutely nuts!!! I just never could like her character at all. All she cared about was being popular and doing things the way she wanted and not caring how it effected others. The other characters were ok, but by the time Tally showed back up, I really didn't like her much either. I just wasn't impressed with this one at all. It was good to finish the series, but I just feel like the story should have gone in a different direction or something.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Pg's 31-292, here!!

    Hey me again,
    Page 31 of 292. Just want to say it bored me so much bc there wasn't much action, except meeting the Sly girls!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unexpectedly good!

    Surprisingly, I liked this book better than Specials. I thought the characters were engaging, as well as their relationships with each other, and when Tally and her friends finally appeared, their personalities were still spot-on, which is something I worried about before picking up this book.

    As always, the technology and the atmosphere in Extras is thorough and well-imagined. This is a setting and novel of which readers become a part, not something they observe from the outside. Westerfeld is a genius with well-written and beautiful prose and it keeps the pages turning and the book from straying out of my hands.

    A wonderful read. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    It was good

    This book focuses on an extra named aya who livea in japan. Tally does come into the story at one point but the story focuses on aya. It doesnt really start up where the laat one but more like goes on a whole different intertwinned story but it was still good. However it didnt really sum up the story like a last book in a seris ahoul but left me wanting more with nothing to quench my thirst. Overall it was unsatisfactoy but still very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Good not great

    I didnt like Tallys personality very much. Not the best book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 709 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36