Customer Reviews for

Extras (Uglies Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 707 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(350)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

People who like reading about adventures will without a doubt enjoy this book! The title is Extras and it is written by Scott Westerfeld. The genre is teen adventure/science fiction. In Extras the reader is introduced to Aya Fuse, who is tired of being a nobody. After ...
People who like reading about adventures will without a doubt enjoy this book! The title is Extras and it is written by Scott Westerfeld. The genre is teen adventure/science fiction. In Extras the reader is introduced to Aya Fuse, who is tired of being a nobody. After a party, she meets the Sly Girls, a group of brave girls who want nothing to do with fame, which is all Aya wants. Aya gets her chance when they discover something that could bring her fame but could put the rest of the world in danger. My opinion on Extras is that it's a very attention-grabbing book. From page one to the end, it had my complete interest. It is full of excitement and many people can relate to some things that happen in this book. So, if anyone is in for an adventure, read Extras!

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Missing my characters!

After reading all about Tally, Shay and David for three books, I was left longing for more. Extras had them to some degree, but not as much as I would have liked. It successfully answered the "what happens next" question left hanging at the end of Specials, but I wasn...
After reading all about Tally, Shay and David for three books, I was left longing for more. Extras had them to some degree, but not as much as I would have liked. It successfully answered the "what happens next" question left hanging at the end of Specials, but I wasn't a fan of introducing a whole new cast of characters.

posted by smokesignls on October 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Recommended read

    Aya Fuse is a fifteen-year-old extra whose greatest desire is to kick the biggest story of her life to launch her face rank 'a miserable 451,359' to the top 1,000. Aya lives in an unnamed city in Japan with a reputation economy, in a post-mindrain world 'the mindrain was when all of the 'pretty' brain surgeries were stopped because they kind of imprisoned people to think a certain 'pretty' way' where being famous is the ultimate goal, and if no one is talking about you, you're a complete extra 'nobody'. The comparison between our worlds seems intentional. Everyone in Aya's city has a feed 'like a blog or facebook' where you kick stories 'like a journalist'. If someone famous watches your feed, your face rank can skyrocket, and you could be included in the coveted top 1,000. At the beginning of Extras, Aya stumbles upon a 'tricky' covert group, calling themselves the Sly Girls, hoverboarding a mag-lev train 'a train that reaches speeds of 300mph'. She knows that if she kicks this story, she'll be whisked into the the world of fame. She infiltrates the group, riding the mag-lev along with the girls and secretly snapping shots with her button-cams and video feeds with Moggle, her hovercam. One night, when hoverboarding the mag-lev, they come across a secret base in the side of a mountain, filled with giant metal cylinders of smart matter 'smart matter can change into any programmed shape, texture, or material', and alien-like surge-monkeys. Aya comes to a shocking realization these could easily be weapons to destroy other cities- not to mention the world- with. She kicks the Sly Girls story 'and it turns out that they knew she was lying to them all along', along with her feeds of the secret mountain and how she believes it could be a weapon of mass destrution. Her face rank launches to number thirteen. But in one of the background layers of her feed, she accidently left a video of the Sly Girls talking about the freak surge-monkeys, who she didn't put in her feed because of lack of pictures/video proof. Just minutes after launching her feed, a hovercar full of the alien-like beings attempts to kidnap her brother Hiro, his friend Ren, Aya's friend Frizz, and her, but they escape narrowly. And when she gets a ping 'message' from Tally Youngblood, the most famous person in the world, not to mention a Special 'a person engineered to be stronger, faster, and way more vicious than normal people', she fears that she may have blundered upon a story even bigger than that of secret cliques and scary weapons, a story that may change the way the world runs...

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    this book was okay, not like bad like other people are saying. A lot of the people said they were disappointed that this book was centered around Aya, not Tally, but they should realize that the stories revolving around Tally:Uglies, Pretties, and Specials are a trilogy. So the authour PLANNED to have only 3 books on Tally. The Extras.. is just an extra book based on the world that Westerfeld has created, not a sequel to Specials

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Pretty good

    Im enjoying this book alot im almost done with it. At first i had a hard time starting it cause it was soooo slowww at the begging. I think that they should have either stopped the series after the last book or made a new series for Aya and her friends. But still i cant wait to finish this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Very good read..

    I have read Uglies/Pretties/Specials and I am about to go purchase Extras. Westerfeld has a way of making you not want to put the book down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    It was good

    This book focuses on an extra named aya who livea in japan. Tally does come into the story at one point but the story focuses on aya. It doesnt really start up where the laat one but more like goes on a whole different intertwinned story but it was still good. However it didnt really sum up the story like a last book in a seris ahoul but left me wanting more with nothing to quench my thirst. Overall it was unsatisfactoy but still very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Good not great

    I didnt like Tallys personality very much. Not the best book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Good, bur not great

    I think that it was a pretty good book but it was really slow in some parts and got annoying and it wasntvas captivating as the other books. I was hoping yhat it was going to have more action and that the series woukdnt end like that. The ending i hated so much, it was a boring sappy ending and i think that the uglies seiries and this book should be teo different things and that he would start another series about aya abd all them on the new plac out in space or somthing like that because things were so different exept for tge hover stuff and i think that the whole surge monkey thing was i little bit creepy and the namenana love makes me think of one of those grndmas wjo give you alot of cookies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    EXTRAS: A WORLD WITH LESS TALLY

    Because Tally wasn¿t the main character, I had half a mind to skim through the entire book, expecting it to be a boring read but Westerfeld proved me wrong by providing a new character, Aya, who is very similar to Tally when she was fifteen. Aya¿s society presents and interesting twist that Uglies, Pretties, and Specials didn¿t have: A reputation economy. This economy gives Aya the drive and motivation to cooperate with Tally who is a manipulating, cold -hearted, short tempered, dangerous, emotionally unstable version of the Tally who I grew to love. I think Westerfeld decided to make Tally¿s personality that way so that we would fall in love with Aya who is more human, and it worked! By the end of the book I no longer questioned Tally¿s absence. I look forward to more books in Aya¿s perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    Extras - Extra Storyline

    Unlike the others who have reviewed this title, I actually really liked this book. True, it did not surround the Tally and her friends, but it gave readers another look into this futuristic world that the author has created. In the previous books, we saw how Tally's city operated and were only given a glimpse at how other cities were run. In Extras we are exposed to a whole new type of world, where a person's reputation entitles them to priviledges and rewards (not so unlike ours, in a way.) This book expands on the effects Tally's actions has had on other places. It introduces new characters and a new alternate realtity in which these characters interact. There are elements that are familiar to readers while others are wholly new and exotic. I loved the different take on this book than those in the previous books and look forward to more books in this series - whether or not they deal with the same characters is moot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    NOT 4TH BOOK!!!

    Extras is NOT the 4th book of the series. Uglies is actually a trilogy with Extras as a "companion". It has the same idea but is a seperate book from the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Read review

    I will say this in a short and simple way.
    Good book. Tally is not main character. Fun to see how people think of tally. Totaly recemend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Great Series

    I enjoyed reading the Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld. I had a difficult time getting into the fourth book but kept reading and was glad I did. This is a great light read, perfect for reading on vacation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Starts off slow, but ends great

    Keep reading, it will get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Really good

    I loved this book. Im nit gonna give anything away but my only critisisum is that when you start reading the book it starts using terms that you have never heard beafore and expects you to know what they meen even though its a totaly new concept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Really good!!!

    At the beginning i was upset that the book wasnt in tally's perspective because i had grown on her and kinda felt like i was her in the book. I tried it to see how things end and it was AMAZING!!!! just read it trust me. I did kind of wish that it was tallys perspective cause some qustions are still not answered. Like where has she been for 3 years? Saving the world yeah but doing what?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Great but not Tally

    It was a great book except it stared Aya not Tally Youngblood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    I give this book 4 out of 5 stars, because it was a action packe

    I give this book 4 out of 5 stars, because it was a action packed book with full of surprises that left me hooked until the end. I only didn't like this because it didn't have the characters I read about for the past 3 books. This book is about a girl, Aya, who lives in a world of fame and face ratings. She wants to be famous so she decides to right a story that will change her life. But, while on that story she finds out something that will change her and her own village's minds on everything forever. I recommend this book for people who love a good series that contains action, sappy romance, adventure, and unimaginable cliff hangers at the end of chapters. Aya, the main character, travels to ancient ruins of the “rusty people” fight monsters she doesn't even knew existed. Also, blasts herself into 100's of feet into the air only to parachutes herself back to earth. If that is no adventure, I don't know what is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Great book

    Aya's character was not like Tally's........ I like how we saw after the mind rain and how you Tally through different eyes! Wonderful conclusion to a great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    (Source: I own a copy of this book.) This is book 4 in the &lsq

    (Source: I own a copy of this book.)
    This is book 4 in the ‘Uglies’ series.
    It’s three years since Tally Youngblood woke the planet up with her ‘mind rain’ and took away everyone’s pretty-mindedness. Now everyone is ‘bubbly’ all the time, and things are very different (this sounds like nonsense doesn’t it?).
    15-year-old Aya Fuse lives in an ugly dormitory in Japan, and has a ‘face rank’ of 451,396 (out of 1,000,000). This means that she is incredibly average. In the society in which she lives, instead of money people earn merits – for work, and face ratings – for celebrity. It is a combination of these that determines where you live, how much stuff you are entitled to etc, and Aya desperately wants to increase her face rank, and become someone – and also in the process to be able to afford stuff.

    Following a group of girls called the ‘sly girls’ who nobody believes really exist, Aya is determined to get footage of them using her hover-cam, and ‘kick’ it to the world – this is like publishing a story online for the world to read – hence increasing her ‘face-rank’. Unfortunately, things don’t go to plan, and Aya finds herself inducted into the ‘Sly girls’ gang, with her hover-cam at the bottom of a water reservoir. Little does she know that this will lead to events that will not only make her famous, but will change the world as she knows it forever.


    Although this book is a bit different to the first three, it is still a pretty good book. I have to say that it was a bit weird at first not being with Tally, and obviously the world was changed a bit too from the first three books, with these new ideas about face-rank, and merits and stuff.

    The gadgets in this book weren’t really any different to those in the previous books, so nothing new there, but I am still loving the strange way they speak. Can’t wait to tell someone that they are ‘brain-missing’ or ‘sanity-challenged’!

    I’m pleased that I read this book to complete the series, and it was nice to see how the world had changed following the end of the ‘pretty-mindedness’ that occurred at the end of the third book. We did get a cameo from Tally, Shay, and David towards the end, and it was nice to find out that Tally did really end up with David, which wasn’t really clear at the end of the last book.

    I have to say that some of the ideas at the end of the book were just a bit weird, and stretching just a bit too far in my opinion. The mystery in the book was pretty good, but just fell apart a bit at the end, when I just sort of thought ‘really?’

    Overall though, I would say that this book is worth reading if you enjoyed the previous three books, but is, I would suggest, the weakest of the series.
    7 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Good book

    This book is all about adventure, I wish the book talked more about Tally and David. Scott Westerfeld always leaves me wanting more. I wish Scott Westerfeld would make a book on Davids perspective. I think it would be a great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10