Customer Reviews for

Extras (Uglies Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 712 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(352)

4 Star

(185)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

People who like reading about adventures will without a doubt enjoy this book! The title is Extras and it is written by Scott Westerfeld. The genre is teen adventure/science fiction. In Extras the reader is introduced to Aya Fuse, who is tired of being a nobody. After ...
People who like reading about adventures will without a doubt enjoy this book! The title is Extras and it is written by Scott Westerfeld. The genre is teen adventure/science fiction. In Extras the reader is introduced to Aya Fuse, who is tired of being a nobody. After a party, she meets the Sly Girls, a group of brave girls who want nothing to do with fame, which is all Aya wants. Aya gets her chance when they discover something that could bring her fame but could put the rest of the world in danger. My opinion on Extras is that it's a very attention-grabbing book. From page one to the end, it had my complete interest. It is full of excitement and many people can relate to some things that happen in this book. So, if anyone is in for an adventure, read Extras!

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Missing my characters!

After reading all about Tally, Shay and David for three books, I was left longing for more. Extras had them to some degree, but not as much as I would have liked. It successfully answered the "what happens next" question left hanging at the end of Specials, but I wasn...
After reading all about Tally, Shay and David for three books, I was left longing for more. Extras had them to some degree, but not as much as I would have liked. It successfully answered the "what happens next" question left hanging at the end of Specials, but I wasn't a fan of introducing a whole new cast of characters.

posted by smokesignls on October 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 185 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Good Read

    I liked it but, no more!!!!!! I mean they leave off on a cliffhanger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Great follow through!

    I was worried that this "tacked on" 4th book in what was a trilogy (and originally a single book) wouldn't be nearly as good, but, while very different with all new characters (only brief encounters with old ones), it was quite an enjoyable story. There was a hint of formula here (similar character arc in all series books), but still thoroughly enjoyable. The basic theme seems to be - take control of your destiny and don't let other people control you (by peer pressure or other means), but also give some respect to others - don't hurt them with your ambition. A good message in a well-told story with strong female characters, minimal violence, and set in a vibrant and believable future world, following the world-changing events of "Specials".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Very good book

    I judt finished reading it and i thought it was really good!!!!! I thought the othet books were better though and that it kind of fell away from the others. I did like when Tally said Life doesnt come with an instruction manual and when she said I know what its like to be manipulated Aya-la. And i kniw what its like to be in dangwe. While your city was building you mansions to live in my friends and i have been protecting this planet. Weve spiled more blood than you have flowing in your veins so dont try to make me feel guilty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Kickin

    If you read the previous books before this one, you are naturally attached to the characters.( Tally, Shay, Dr. Cable, Zane, David, Maddy, Peris, etc...) When you read the first chapter, you instantly are thrown off. Personally, the thought that came to my mind was : ARE YOU SERIOUS, I HAVE TO READ A WHOLE NEW STORY !!!!! Ugh. T_T It isn't pleasant growing attached to a series and then it confuses you when the last book at first as a whole new line - up of characters. But don't be too disappointed! If you haven't read it yet and are unsure to finish the last book, you should ! I mean it still has the same lingo, just more advanced. Also the main characters do eventually tie into the book. They still exist =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Okay but not as good

    This book would have been great if i hadnt read the other three books in the uglies trilogy because it wasnt as good. Still a good book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Good Book

    Least favorite of the four but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Love this author!

    I lovee this author annd his style of writing, but I kind of wish the storyline had been abot Tally, maybe with the Japanese caracters and this storyline in the background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Good

    Want!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Great

    This was a great way to end a series, i thouroughly enjoyed reading this delightful, action packed, science fiction novel and i also loved the other books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Missing somthing

    I am a huge fan of the Uglies series and Scotts other books. I really missed Tally and David but was intreaged by Aya and her friends. I felt like this book was missing something. The plot was naturally amazing but there should have been more romance for adventue. I am a sucker for sci-fi novels and movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    luved it

    plz plz plz plz plz plz write more books in this series great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Extras

    The concluding sequel to the Uglies series published by Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing, "Extras" by Scott Westerfeld, takes place several years after Tally and David started the New Specials. A young kicker named Aya will do whatever it takes to become famous and boost her face rank. Her brother Hiro is one of the top thousand faces in the city and she wants to be better. Hiro is the typical brother and doesn't want his sister tagging along while he goes to parties, so one night Aya sneaks out and meets the Sly Girls, a group of rebellious girls who want to be "infamous". They don't trust Aya at first, so they are reluctant to let her become a Sly Girl until she proves her kicking days are over. When Aya meets Frizz Muzino, a surge-maker, they immediately click. Frizz has a surge that makes him only tell the truth and it can be hard sometimes on the group. Aya kicks a story that scares the town and the world. Soon Tally Youngblood and the gang are back in town helping rid the fear of surge-monkeys.

    In this book, Aya mistakes world-saving geniuses for world-destroying criminals. Soon all the Specials are getting involved with this mission. When they escape the town, they get captured and set free by the so called "freaks." Aya has become one of the top famous people in the city, but that doesn't matter now; she has to save the world. After the Specials go out of their way to stop the people, they realize they were only trying to create a new world in the sky. The freaks call themselves Extras. When they return, Aya is the 3rd most famous person. She later gets invited to the top thousand faces party and runs into an old friend from the Sly Girls. They recall old memories and make new plans of suspense.

    This book I would recommend for any teen who loves suspense. There is love, drama, and action on every page. If you're looking for a great science-fiction book, pick up any of the "Uglies" series and you'll love it. You have to read the first book to the series to understand the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Book

    The fourth book in Scott Westerfield's Uglies series and it is as good as the last three. I was somewhat disappointed by the absence of the characters I have grown to love, but at least they weren't entirely left out. As always, this book in the series is filled interesting details of a possible future. Aya Fuse is the main character this time around. Mainly the book is about Aya's adventures, and her trying to uncover a big secret. If you enjoyed the first three books, then you will most likely enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Different Perspective

    When reading this book, I was sort of disappointed. After reading the first three books in this series, Extras just wasn't that great of a book. It had a different setting, different characters, and just wasn't what I was expecting. Then I decided to look at it from a different perspective. I looked at Extras as not a book from a series but its own separate novel. Turns out I had it all wrong! Extras is an amazing easy read. When reading it, I was lost in a whole different world with adventurous friends. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys sci -fi books and likes to get away for awhile in a book. Also I'd recommend reading the first three books from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Page from One Book At A Time

    I wasn't sure of an add on book to a trilogy. Especially when I didn't think the third books was all that great. But, the included chapter at the end of Specials had me intrigued. I was pleasantly surprised. I ended up liking this way more than the last. Aya was a refreshing change from Tally. I even understood her desire to be famous. But, along the way she found what was important and the fame was just a side effect. I also enjoyed having Tally included in the story as a side character. It was interesting to see how she's still struggling with herself. I wasn't expecting the ending to go the way it did. But, now the story can end and I don't think there is much to continue on from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Good book

    not the best in the series--the best is "Specials", but I enjoyed this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    expected more...

    i am a big fan of Uglies, Pretties, and Specials. i loved Tally and all the other characters in them. i started reading Extras and it was not what i expected. i thought it would have more to do with the others. ):

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A relatable story

    Fun, exciting, worthy read. This story is great for finding yourself and seeing the society around you. Its is a must read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    An OK book.

    This is a pretty good book, but it is kind of boring. Where's Tally? The next book should totally be back in Tally's POV. It was kind of boring without her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    Review of Extras

    Extras, Scott Westerfeld's fresh addition to the Uglies series, is a stimulating and electrifying novel filled with believable characters, excellent imagery, and a daring new setting. In this book, we are introduced to a new main character, Aya, who has to not only face personal challenges, but also has to solve a mystery that may include the possible destruction of the whole world. Like the characters in Uglies, Pretties, and Specials, Aya and others in Extras are quite believable, since no one is completely a 'bad guy' and no one is completely a 'good guy'. Scott Westerfeld has included countless examples of amazing imagery such as 'a string of lights crawling silently from the city' and 'like a huge wave rolling out of a black sea' in Extras. Finally, he also takes the risk of having the novel's setting be in a new and unusual place where everyone is free and the trends are definitely different. However, this new addition lacks the extremely twisted plot that is common among all the other novels in the series. Although the plot is a bit disappointing, Extras, with its convincing characters, amazing imagery, and bold setting, is still a brilliant and outstanding book that I would gladly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 185 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10