Customer Reviews for

Extreme Danger

Average Rating 4
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

I didn't know this was a series book when I bought it so some of the back story didn't make sense, but I absolutely did love the characters. Becca is snappy,witty,and can be a bit of a pushover,or a doormat at times, but it pays off in the end. Nick is an a$$ most of th...
I didn't know this was a series book when I bought it so some of the back story didn't make sense, but I absolutely did love the characters. Becca is snappy,witty,and can be a bit of a pushover,or a doormat at times, but it pays off in the end. Nick is an a$$ most of the time and treats Becca like crap, but it works for him. I loved the chemistry between Becca and Nick and the sex scenes were hot and in some cases funny, and i just couldn't put this book down. This book takes you through a wide range of emotions, and by the end I wanted to read it all over again and probably will many times. I suggest you start with book 1 Behind closed doors, then book 2 Standing in the shadows, book 3 Out of control, book 4 Edge of midnight, book 5 Extreme danger, then book 6 Ultimate weapon. Have fun.

posted by mischif on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Extreme Reading

This is the first book I have read by Ms Mckenna. I liked the scenes between Nick and Becca but thought the plot a little farfetched and implausible. Ok, Becca is being pursued by a Russian Mafia boss, has found a hidden camera in her house, yet when she can't reach her...
This is the first book I have read by Ms Mckenna. I liked the scenes between Nick and Becca but thought the plot a little farfetched and implausible. Ok, Becca is being pursued by a Russian Mafia boss, has found a hidden camera in her house, yet when she can't reach her brother or sister, she is not suspicious? Not suspicious when her brother "accidentally meets and moves in with a Russian call girl"? Who lives in a luxury place, supported by whom? She doesn't see it right in front of her face? Come on. Get real. She and Nick suddenly decide to turn off their cell phones, yet they know they are in danger? He allows her to return to her apartment alone?
I am just saying........

posted by Robynn on January 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

    I didn't know this was a series book when I bought it so some of the back story didn't make sense, but I absolutely did love the characters. Becca is snappy,witty,and can be a bit of a pushover,or a doormat at times, but it pays off in the end. Nick is an a$$ most of the time and treats Becca like crap, but it works for him. I loved the chemistry between Becca and Nick and the sex scenes were hot and in some cases funny, and i just couldn't put this book down. This book takes you through a wide range of emotions, and by the end I wanted to read it all over again and probably will many times. I suggest you start with book 1 Behind closed doors, then book 2 Standing in the shadows, book 3 Out of control, book 4 Edge of midnight, book 5 Extreme danger, then book 6 Ultimate weapon. Have fun.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting

    I really enjoyed this book. Yeah some of the stuff might have been a bit out there but it does happen. There is slavery like in the book poeple do do that stuff and I liked that she didn't sugarcoat it like ome authors do. The characters were done nicely. I really enjoyed Nick even though he can be a doofus sometimes and I liked Becca I just don't think she was as good as she could have been. Overall this was a great bok with steamy love scenes, good drama, and heart-breaking parts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Huh?

    So I was so excited to read the newest Shannon McKenna because she is one of my absolute faves when it comes to naughtier romance novels. She writes books that always have violence and evil doers in them so I was prepared for all of that.

    This book had a little bit too much "ick Factor" in it for my tastes. I don't like books with people so evil that you start thinking that this sort of stuff happens in the real world. I read books for escape...this one is more nightmarish. Once you got past the first 10 chapters or so it started feeling like my old friend Shannon McKenna was back. The rest of the book happened like her others with much less yucky feelings (still there somewhat but not shoved in your face.). Not my favorite by her. She can write hot hunky guys like no other though and she stayed true to form in this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Extreme Reading

    This is the first book I have read by Ms Mckenna. I liked the scenes between Nick and Becca but thought the plot a little farfetched and implausible. Ok, Becca is being pursued by a Russian Mafia boss, has found a hidden camera in her house, yet when she can't reach her brother or sister, she is not suspicious? Not suspicious when her brother "accidentally meets and moves in with a Russian call girl"? Who lives in a luxury place, supported by whom? She doesn't see it right in front of her face? Come on. Get real. She and Nick suddenly decide to turn off their cell phones, yet they know they are in danger? He allows her to return to her apartment alone?<BR/>I am just saying........

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    I enjoyed this book at first. The chemistry was great and I lik

    I enjoyed this book at first. The chemistry was great and I liked the suspense, but as the book went on, it took me to a dark place. I'm not against the cursing, the sex, or the violence, but babies being abused isn't really something I enjoy reading about. Maybe it's just because I'm a mom to toddlers, but it was hard to read and she did spend some time putting it into detail. After these dark scenes, I really didn't care about Nick and Becca's romantic games. I wasn't in the mood to read about their passionate sex, I just wanted them to hurry up and rescue the kids.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Don't waste your money!

    What might have been a good story is ruined by graphic, gratuitous sex painfully detailed in sleazy, coarse language. The hero & heroine are reduced to nothing more than one-dimensional, walking, talking, ever-aroused sex organs that occasionally interact with the caricatures that populate this "novel." I gave it one star only because 'Your Rating' is a required field. A waste of money & reading time!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Skip it...

    I like a good mystery or suspense novel, therefore, I did NOT care for this one. This one had a very clear formula. Take a little soft-porn and stick it into a bunch of words that might make some sort of a plot.

    I have a hard time with a book that starts out with a naked woman hand cuffed against her will becoming (while still naked and seemingly in-peril) decomposing into said woman becoming attracted to the man who placed the cuffs on her. Somehow, beyond plausible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    Unreadable!!

    Found it to be graphicly ugly and violent. Bad Book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heat from start to finish

    This book started out fast out the gate. A little too fast till the story catches you up. After that, the action and the heat of the attraction of the lead characters leaves you breathless and asking for more. The last 100 pages of the book is too hard to put down till you know the final outcome. Great read for romance readers and action buffs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    Loved It.

    It provided every thing I require in a book. Suspense,great sex, anticipation and excitement I could go on and on. I love to read her books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Nothing new

    The novels are getting boring.You're not missing out on much if you skip this one...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Are my toes curled yet?

    This was my first Shannon McKenna Book. However, I plan on finding more. The erotica is there and in full force but not faulty. Steamy and discriptive. But for someone like me it made my toes curl and fall head over heals for the hero. She has a way of writing so that I could feel the entire saga unfolding around me, without having to stop and reread sections in order to grasp what she was saying. In other words it flowed VERY WELL! The story is a good one and even though I did not like what the villions were doing, 'thankfully that part was not SOO discriptive' I was still able to flip through every page as fast as I could. In some stories there are 'slow' parts that you can put the book down and take a break. But that was not the case with this one. I read the entire thing almost in one day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    My Favorite

    This my favorite of all my favorite author's books. I love how SM can capture the intense feelings of the characters so naturally and so beautifully. At their worst and at their best. Action packed and the full range of relationships with family and friends. I have all her books and look forward each year for her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No thanks

    ## This series could've been so good! I love a suspense story with some humor, romance and sex thrown in. I even love overly possesive alpha males who spout things like "you're mine". What I cannot stand is a "hero" who is a complete assh*le. Every book in this series has an arrogant ass as a hero who treats the heroine like crap. UGH. Try instead the KGI series by Maya Banks. Suspense stories with badass military alpha males who know how to treat their women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    my favorite of all the books i have read!!!!

    as if the sex scenes weren't amazing enough, the plot will keep you holding the book until you finish 412 pages!!!! i absolutely couldn't put it down! the characters were amazing- the story was amazing - the eroticy was amazing! go shannon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Loved it

    Don't give a negative review just because you don't like the sex. Pick something else to read. This was an awesome romantic suspense! Love this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    same book as Behind Closed Doors very boring

    It seems Shannon McKenna just writes the same book over and over. She changes a few characters; same storyline though and same exact plot. Big strong, overly well-endowed good guy meets gorgeous girl, endless sex scenes so overplayed it actually gets downright BORING. The hero ends up suspecting his beauty is a undercover badgirl, blah blah blah, then he finds out she's not and he prostrates himself before her and she forgives him, blah blah blah. I really was amazed at the exact same plot in both books. Horribly boring storylines. I will not read another of her books, I know some authors do replay the same characters in additional books but come on...at least change the stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    Too bad the blatant pornography overshadows good writing style and exciting main story!

    Would never purchase this author again. She should go back to basics and just stick to the main story line. if I wanted DETAILED sexual content, i'd buy a Penthpose magazine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    Too Explicit

    If you like the idea that women are sex objects and should be described with the "C" and "P" words constantly, you will love this book. The language is crude and ruins the story. After two days of trying to get through it, I could not stand to read any more. The old story of sweet, smart, sexy and virginal girl loving sex with "Mr. Big" is a bit tired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Extreme Danger

    This would have been a great story except for the excessive sex and foul language. I'm no prude, yet I found both the sex and language offensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10