Customer Reviews for

Extreme Measures (Mitch Rapp Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(254)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The City of D.C. Faces Trouble...Enter Mitch Rapp

In this book, the next installment of the Mitch Rapp series, readers are once again not disappointed. The author, Vince Flynn, keeps up the suspense until the last second as Rapp must make a point to politicains too selfish to understand what he does while at the same t...
In this book, the next installment of the Mitch Rapp series, readers are once again not disappointed. The author, Vince Flynn, keeps up the suspense until the last second as Rapp must make a point to politicains too selfish to understand what he does while at the same time, he must find and thwart a terror attack. Vince Flynn delves into the politics of our nation's capitol and gives an honest depiction of what goes on behind the closed doors of the D.C. insiders. Mitch Rapp's complex character is once again displayed as he ignores political correctness and his superiors to do the right thing as he attempts to rid the world of evil. A true fan of suspense novels will be very appreciative of the novel Extreme Measures as it goes beyond any thriller I have ever read in plot and politics.

posted by Futurprez on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

PREACHY. Weak plot. Mr. Flynn can do much better.

A strong series has been getting progressively worse over the last three books. Readers understand and read this series because of the strong Rapp character who has undying focus on rooting out the terrorist organization. The reader does not need to be preached too cons...
A strong series has been getting progressively worse over the last three books. Readers understand and read this series because of the strong Rapp character who has undying focus on rooting out the terrorist organization. The reader does not need to be preached too constantly throughout the book that terrorism is bad and the government must have extreme latitude in dealing with the threat. Your fans get that! Mr. Flynn, please get back to the tight plots. On positive side, it appears that Mr. Flynn is getting back to character development which was lacking in the past two books. I consider this book strike one of three before Mr. Flynn is delegated to the same pile of junk as James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell

posted by HeaterDude on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The City of D.C. Faces Trouble...Enter Mitch Rapp

    In this book, the next installment of the Mitch Rapp series, readers are once again not disappointed. The author, Vince Flynn, keeps up the suspense until the last second as Rapp must make a point to politicains too selfish to understand what he does while at the same time, he must find and thwart a terror attack. Vince Flynn delves into the politics of our nation's capitol and gives an honest depiction of what goes on behind the closed doors of the D.C. insiders. Mitch Rapp's complex character is once again displayed as he ignores political correctness and his superiors to do the right thing as he attempts to rid the world of evil. A true fan of suspense novels will be very appreciative of the novel Extreme Measures as it goes beyond any thriller I have ever read in plot and politics.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of his best!

    I've been a huge Vince Flynn fan since a friend of mine turned me on to him a few years ago. Now I can't wait for every new release. This is absolutely one of his best. The only knock I had heard against it beforehand was that there wasn't as much action as his other books. While that is accurate, there's not as much action, it really doesn't matter with his writing style. I was flipping pages as fast as I ever had before. Normally, I have to say, 'political thrillers' bore the life out of me. Not this one. <BR/><BR/>Awesome book! A must read for any action lover

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Best one since Consent to Kill

    I loved the introduction of Mike Nash and the "real life" he leads. Many political thrillers end up being terrific adventures but at times the hero seems almost too "kick-butt" to believe. In this novel Rapp is vintage Rapp and focused in a way I haven't seen in the last two books. Don't get me wrong, I loved the last two books where Rapp was raw and vengeful, but the story line in Extreme Measures was focused and brilliant. With Nash and Rapp you get the perfect combination. I can't wait for more Rapp/Nash novels! It was awesome in the "extreme"!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    an exhilarating fast-paced thriller,

    The CIA Director sends counterterrorism expert Mike Nash to Afghanistan to interrogate two prisoners, Taliban Commander of Suicide Operations Abu Haggani and Taliban Liaison Officer to al-Qaeda Mohammed al-Haq. However as he is performing his duty, Justice Department lawyers deployed in DC called insisting he crossed the legal line. Nash calls in the cavalry counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp.--------------- They learn of two cells that are easily destroyed and hints of a third group led by an ambitious fanatic mastermind Karim Nour-al-Din, who is to become chief of al-Qaeda. To even be considered as heir to Bin Laden, Karim needs a new 9/11 his target DC where Congress and the Justice Department tie the hands of field agents Nash and Rapp.--------------- EXTREME MEASURES is an exhilarating fast-paced thriller, which asks whether the means justifies the end if violating the Geneva Convention and other anti torture laws could have prevented 9/11 would that make it acceptable especially since the enemy can claim likewise. The story line is fast-paced as Nash and Rapp are restricted from doing their full duty while Karim is free to do what he wants. Although extreme on one side of the debate, Vince Flynn insures the opposition is heard inside a tense thriller.------- Harriet Klausner Dangerous Heart

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Flynn's Best Yet

    EXTREME MEASURES is Vince Flynn's best book to date. A tremendous plot carefully developed in multiple locals with interconnected events moving along at a steady pace. In this type of novel the characters are so often simple, with no deveopment. Flynn on the other hand presents many of his characters as complex individuals, providing background detail not often found in thrillers. Even the "good guys" have their own demons. The political relevance of this story is timely and thought-provoking. Should be required reading for those on the left.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Extreme Wait Between Books!

    I loved this book! I wish Flynn would write more frequently. I was hoping ex-SAC Rivera would appear in this book as Rapp's love interest but alas, no mention of her. Kennedy also took a back seat in this thriller.<BR/>It is chilling to realize how much the enemy learns from us and angers me when politicians do not support the war on terror. Vince is so good at<BR/>making these points. I also loved having Mike Nash brought into the plot.<BR/>Good job, Vince. Keep 'em coming!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Return To The Top!

    This is the best Vince Flynn book since before Memorial Day. I couldn't put it down, not that I could put down any of his books. I love the politcal undercutting taking place in Washington, Rapp's unshakeable determination and confidence and there is a great side story with Mike Nash. Flynn even worked Scott Coleman back into the mix reminding us he is still around, hopefully to play a bigger role in a novel to come.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I think Vince Flynn is the best Action/Adventure author writing today. I always have to read his books in one sitting, and I'm always left wanting more. I'm already looking forward to his next book.

    Flynn's main protagonist, Mitch Rapp, is simply the best agent/operative in fiction today. He makes james Bond and Jason Bourne seem like school crossing guards. The plot is believable and current. This is a book that you could read several times and still love it. A+

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The best one yet!

    I have read the whole series and found this the best Mitch Rapp book yet. It is very fast-paced and i was happy not to be in Iran for the whole story again. It feels very topical and 'insidery' as it pertains to the CIA and the terrorist threat. Very suspenseful and fast moving. I read it in two days.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Extreme Measures

    I think this is another great story about Mitch Rapp. Only complaint<BR/>I have for Mr Flynn is " take shorter times between writing" I wish<BR/>he would write a Mitch book every month. Mitch reminds me of the T.V<BR/>series " 24", Mr Flyyn, great writing.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Flynn delivers again!

    Vince Flynn is my choice for the Master of action/thriller fiction. After nine books, one might think Mitch Rapp would run out of steam, but he hasn't lost any punch. Strong plot and continued character development of other players (Nash). Already waiting for the next book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    More Please!!

    I am very excited to learn that the books will be turned into movies - about time! Every book by this author I snap up...I hope there is a real group of dedicated Americans out there!! More please!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Politically astute and savvy -

    Flynn really gets to the core of what ails our "politically correct" environment and attitude. This book is as much a story as a message of everything that is wrong with our intelligence gathering overseers- the political hacks in Washington.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    Great Read

    this was my first vince flynn book and will not be my last!! Great story line and it kept me reading. Kind of a scary story line because it is almost as if this could really happen.
    if your on the fence buy the book you will love it!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Politics-threats of present day

    Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp is a wonderful character to read about. Mitch always "gets his man" and the ways in which he does it, keeps the reader (listener) on the edge of his/her seat to the very end of the book. Mr. Flynn's writing makes it hard to put the book down until it is finished.

    EXTREME MEASURES finds Mitch and Mike Nash collaborating to extract information from two terrorist leaders. Mitch and Mike fear there is a third cell trying to wreak havoc on American soil. Their goal is to stop the cell before it can reach the designated target.

    Making their job harder is the fact that Senators have visited the jail where the terrorists are being held and are now demanding that they be given better treatment. Meanwhile, the third cell is gathering its final information and moving on the target.

    They are brought before a Senatorial hearing committee to be questioned on their methods of interrogation. During these hearings, the third cell bombs three prominent Washington DC lunch spots. Killed in one of the restaurants is one of the Senate committee member's Chief of Staff.

    This loss is the turning point of how the committee thinks about Mitch and Mike. They are now supported whole-heartedly by those on the committee who wanted to stop them. This story is written with today's threat to the US in mind.

    Armand Schultz brings a wide range of voices to the reading of this book. He is easy to listen to.

    I have never been disappointed in one of Mr. Flynn's books and EXTREME MEASURES is no exception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of Flynn's Best

    If not his best yet.

    Just finished reading Extreme Measures and I must say that I couldn't put it down. Some humorous parts from Mitch Rapp that I thought fit the moment that he used them. I enjoyed the character developement of the book's other character of about equal time, Mike Nash.

    All in all, a great read from Vince Flynn. He has become my favorite author of this genre and I cannot wait for his next book. I highly recommend Extreme Measures for any thriller fan or somebody looking for a new author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Great Book!

    What another great by Vince Flynn!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Another great book in a stellar line-up

    Mr. Flynn has allowed his main character, Mitch Rapp, to mature throughout his books. This book represents Mitch coming back to the fight after personal dramas that almost derailed him permanently, both professionally and socially.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    Good, but not great

    Extreme Measures is every bit as much of a page turner as the other Mitch Rapp books, but it clearly was more of a set-up book for future Rapp books as opposed to the ultra-action novels I have been accustomed to in this series. Overall, it was extremely entertaining and a quick read. For the next few books, I am hopeful that Flynn will play up Rapp as much as possible as his action sequences are the best parts of his novels. The Rapp series is a must read for anyone who has not experienced these page turners.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    Great Book

    This by far is Flynn's best book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13