BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Average Rating 3.5
( 1709 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(689)

4 Star

(372)

3 Star

(276)

2 Star

(152)

1 Star

(220)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

Honestly, I do feel that this is my favorite novel. It touched me. Sometimes I cried, sometimes I laughed out loud. Foer is on his way to becoming one of the greatest writters of his generation. I feel that this book showed so much improvement and growth from the author...
Honestly, I do feel that this is my favorite novel. It touched me. Sometimes I cried, sometimes I laughed out loud. Foer is on his way to becoming one of the greatest writters of his generation. I feel that this book showed so much improvement and growth from the author since his last novel. I loved Everything Is Illuminated, but I had to bump it down a notch and add this one to the top. Osker is the sweetest character and his connection to everyone is so special.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

162 out of 176 people found this review helpful.

Blacken pages

To all those reading this book on your NOOK, there come a point in the orignal book where the author intentionally makes the print very small then the words are on top of each other then black pages. This is the writers intentions in this book. The author has a very uni...
To all those reading this book on your NOOK, there come a point in the orignal book where the author intentionally makes the print very small then the words are on top of each other then black pages. This is the writers intentions in this book. The author has a very unique way of writing he did this with he previous book Everything Illuminated.. I am currently reading the paperback of this book because of all the reviews about the NOOK problems. I now realize it was intentional. Hope this helps.

posted by eeyore27 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1713 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 86
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Blacken pages

    To all those reading this book on your NOOK, there come a point in the orignal book where the author intentionally makes the print very small then the words are on top of each other then black pages. This is the writers intentions in this book. The author has a very unique way of writing he did this with he previous book Everything Illuminated.. I am currently reading the paperback of this book because of all the reviews about the NOOK problems. I now realize it was intentional. Hope this helps.

    162 out of 176 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Would be better on paper.

    I've really been enjoying this, and even thought the illustrations looked good on my Nook Color. However, about halfway though, I've run across a chapter where the illustrations are text. It doesn't fit properly on the screen, and therefore I'm essentially missing a chapter. For the first time since purchasing my Nook, I am disappointed and wish I had this book on paper or some other format.

    52 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Amazing

    Honestly, I do feel that this is my favorite novel. It touched me. Sometimes I cried, sometimes I laughed out loud. Foer is on his way to becoming one of the greatest writters of his generation. I feel that this book showed so much improvement and growth from the author since his last novel. I loved Everything Is Illuminated, but I had to bump it down a notch and add this one to the top. Osker is the sweetest character and his connection to everyone is so special.

    35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book- Would recommend buying the printed version

    The actual book was great- intriguing, sad, uplifting all at the right parts.

    I would ask recommend buying the actual printed version of the book instead of the nook book. The author included sequences of pictures and pages that were "handwritten" throughout the book. Harder to navigate on the nook and I found myself hitting the next button again and again to get back to a normal page. These type of pages would have had a lot more impact in the printed edition.

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    Extremely Disappointing

    This book seems, in style, to be an attempted repeat of Foer's first book. Rather than explore new ideas (or any important idea at all), the author resorts to tired visual gimmicks that distract from the story. It's also just not that funny (and rather forced). If you bought the first book because of its humor, you won't like this one. Another part of the book's problem is that it's about 9/11, a very real and recent tragedy, but there is so much decontextualized fantasy on every page (not to mention an utterly implausible main character) that the whole tale is abstractly removed from an authentic experience of tragedy. To that extent, the book is really rather exploitative of, and insulting to, actual 9/11 victims. It isn't about 9/11 at all -- one feels that Foer added it as a marketing gimmick, and he admits as much in an interview I saw where he says the book went through 35 drafts and 3500 discarded pages, and only at the end was 9/11 added to the mix. There are some nice turns of phrase and interesting thoughts here and there, but these don't redeem the basic lack of compelling characters, moral narrative, and believable writing. I would recommend A Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time instead, in which the author did actual research about his subject matter (autism) prior to putting pen to paper. The result there was quite striking, and authentic. Enough with this veneer of postmodernism with its blank pages and typesetting tomfoolery -- where are the real novels?

    31 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    This book gave me heavy boots

    I fell asleep on the train countless times while trying to read this book. I live in New York and I found no connection to this kid. He was actually annoying in my opinion. I found myself quite uninterested in his grandparent's story (that was the most boring part of the entire book) and I found myself wishing the story was more just about him on his journey. The book was just one big let down. At the end I found myself saying.......that's it? UGH!

    25 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My All-Time Favorites

    I LOVE this book! A touching and relevant story about a boy who lost his father in the 9/11 attacks. He is left with a mystery to solve that is both thrilling and fun. The book will keep you on your toes and the characters will keep you smiling and laughing. This is truly one of my favorite reads that I will continue to keep on my bookshelf to re-read time and time again. I have also given this book as a gift on several occasions, and it has always been positively received. Jonathan Safron Foer is a genius who will make you laugh, make you cry and most importantly will make you think.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Optimist

    I found this book to be totally inappropriate for the subject. The young man, Oskar, is far beyond his years in understanding adult subjects yet when confronted with normal everday words he doesn't know their meaning. The author was trying so hard to be artsy he sounded like a mentally ill person trying to write a novel. People who say they liked this book are just trying to look as though they are literary. Hopefully the movie will do a better job of defining Oskar's need to understand how his dad died. No grandmoother in her right mind would write sexually explicit things to her grandchild let alone make it personal. Go ahead and read the book. The only way to see what i'm saying. But don't join the bandwagon and say its good just to make yourself feel like you are with the In-crowd. Bleh!

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    :D

    Yes, there is a movie and it comes out on the 21st of January. ...The book can be confusing, as it obviously wasnt written to be read on the nook. The movie, however was the bedt thing iveever seen. Emotional andheartrending yet funny and awe-inspiring. GO SEE THE MOVIE? IT WILL BE THE BEST CHOICE YOUVE EVER MADE

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Poor, A Waste of Time

    Reading is for entainment, to learn, or to enlighten. Reading "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" did not entertain, didn't teach, and certainly didn't enlighten. Mr. Foer is probably a talented writer but could use some coaching in how to tell a good story.

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Difficult Read

    Very dragged out. Jumps all over the place and had difficulty staying focused.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One Of The Best Fiction Roller-Coaster Rides You'll Ever Experience...

    This book is by far one of the best books I've ever read, hands down. I've never laughed and cried over a story as much as I have reading Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close. If you're the type of person who hates waiting for a story to pique your interest, then this is the book for you. I was hooked on this book from the very first page. It is definitely unique and quirky and subsequently may not be for everybody. But I can't imagine someone who couldn't relate to at least one aspect of this beautifully crafted novel. It is full of powerful and resounding material that takes you on an emotional journey unlike any other. The only small issue I had with this book was the way certain dialogue passages were written. It wasn't bad, it just got confusing at times because the format was different (in places) from the majority of what we read. Furthermore, it's almost impossible to describe this book to anyone. If I mentioned that it had to do with September 11, that made it sound too grim and depressing; If I tried to describe the characters, it became impossible to really put them into words; If I tried to discuss the plot, I found myself giving away all of the intricate details that make this book so fascinating. So the best thing to do, is to read the book and see for yourself. Not only is it moving and graphic and wise and insanely clever, but it is full of quotable one-liners and is truly deep at so many points throughout. Plus...this book has pictures...what can be better than that?

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Disappointed


    Coudn't finish. Tried, wanted to, needed to finish, but continually kept putting the book down. Glad it was a lendme book and not a purchase. The story felt fragmented, scattered, and simply failed to grab and hold my attention.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Delete

    To Delete:
    Press and hold on the cover of the book. When the pop-up menu appears, simply press delete. If the book is on home screen, and you are trying to delete it from there, you can't. You will need to remove the book from your home screen before you can delete it. From your library, press and hold, then delete.

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Extremely awful and incredibly boring. I was determined to fini

    Extremely awful and incredibly boring. I was determined to finish it but I couldn't read more than 10 pages at a time without falling asleep. It seems to be one of those books that you either love or hate. Guess you know how I feel about it.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Book

    I've read hundreds of books across most genres and this book is, hands down, my favorite of them all.

    It's simple, genuine ability to put you in Oskar's shoes, see what he sees, and feel what he feels, all the while knowing more than he knows drew out an extremely paternal feeling. I wept in public (because I read on the subway) no less than 14 times while reading, not because I was sad, but because the book was so good.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Book of chances

    I was really looking forward to reading this book after seeing the previews for the movie. Since books are almost always better than the movie, I knew I had to give it a chance. Well...that was the theme with this book. I kept hanging on hoping it would eventually get better, but it never did. It covered so much ground with each character that I was completely lost by the time the main point of the story rolled back around. I understand that it is written in the perspective of an autistic child, but I found the "rants" and thought-hopping to go on for far too long. The movie; however, was great. Had Foer cut out the unnecessary depth of each character like the movie, the book would have been great too. Skip the book and see the movie.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Boring

    One of the boringest books ive ever read. I dont recommend for anyone.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING

    holy god. that book was amazing. i was so moved. it was amazing. i am speechless. the way the story was woven it only left you guessing. i LOVED THIS book and i will recommend it to anyone who had a brain, and heart.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Don't Bother-Extremely Disappointing and Incredibly Contrived

    This is one time when I think the movie will be better than the book. It would be hard not to be better b/c the book is awful. The 9 year old main character is completely unbelievable, the grandparent's story is jumbled, the concept is good but the execution of the plot is poor. I agree with other reviewers that this is not a good choice for the NOOK at all. I would not recommend this book and I would not read another novel from this author again.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1713 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 86