Customer Reviews for

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Average Rating 3.5
( 1707 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(687)

4 Star

(372)

3 Star

(276)

2 Star

(152)

1 Star

(220)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

Honestly, I do feel that this is my favorite novel. It touched me. Sometimes I cried, sometimes I laughed out loud. Foer is on his way to becoming one of the greatest writters of his generation. I feel that this book showed so much improvement and growth from the author...
Honestly, I do feel that this is my favorite novel. It touched me. Sometimes I cried, sometimes I laughed out loud. Foer is on his way to becoming one of the greatest writters of his generation. I feel that this book showed so much improvement and growth from the author since his last novel. I loved Everything Is Illuminated, but I had to bump it down a notch and add this one to the top. Osker is the sweetest character and his connection to everyone is so special.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

161 out of 175 people found this review helpful.

Blacken pages

To all those reading this book on your NOOK, there come a point in the orignal book where the author intentionally makes the print very small then the words are on top of each other then black pages. This is the writers intentions in this book. The author has a very uni...
To all those reading this book on your NOOK, there come a point in the orignal book where the author intentionally makes the print very small then the words are on top of each other then black pages. This is the writers intentions in this book. The author has a very unique way of writing he did this with he previous book Everything Illuminated.. I am currently reading the paperback of this book because of all the reviews about the NOOK problems. I now realize it was intentional. Hope this helps.

posted by eeyore27 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Would be better on paper.

    I've really been enjoying this, and even thought the illustrations looked good on my Nook Color. However, about halfway though, I've run across a chapter where the illustrations are text. It doesn't fit properly on the screen, and therefore I'm essentially missing a chapter. For the first time since purchasing my Nook, I am disappointed and wish I had this book on paper or some other format.

    52 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    This book gave me heavy boots

    I fell asleep on the train countless times while trying to read this book. I live in New York and I found no connection to this kid. He was actually annoying in my opinion. I found myself quite uninterested in his grandparent's story (that was the most boring part of the entire book) and I found myself wishing the story was more just about him on his journey. The book was just one big let down. At the end I found myself saying.......that's it? UGH!

    25 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Difficult Read

    Very dragged out. Jumps all over the place and had difficulty staying focused.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Movie may be better

    Hard to get into this story. I have hopes that this may be one time where the movie is better. I had a hard time sharing the emotions of the characters but may have been guarding myself due to the content

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Very disappointing

    I really hope that the movie is MUCH BETTER than the book! I was so bored that I didn't even finish the book. It was just hard to follow.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Fair

    I did not like this as much as I wanted.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Mediocre

    Honestly, I wasn't very impressed by this book. Maybe my expectations were too high. I had seen previews for the movie and I saw that the book was on The New York Times bestseller list, so I decided to read it. As of this moment, I still haven't seen the movie. I think I'll eventually watch it, but the book was only mediocre to me.

    Initially I was confused when the author switched between Oskar, the grandmother, and the grandfather. I figured that by the end of the book everything would fit into place. However, I was just as confused at the end as I was at the beginning. I think there were a ton of unanswered questions throughout the book, but maybe that was Foer's intention.

    I don't believe the author writes in a way that is particularly difficult to understand, but the style of the book confused me. Switching between the characters was sometimes irritating because I never knew whose point of view I was reading from.

    I've read other books that switch between characters frequently. For example, I've read the first two books in George R. R. Martin's series "A Song of Ice and Fire." I have no difficulty comprehending these books, but Foer's book confused the heck out of me.

    Overall, it was an interesting book, but it didn't do anything for me. I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to anyone. I would only say that it's an okay book...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bored...

    For the most part I was bored. I could not connect with any of the characters on any level. These people all seem to have some very deep rooted mental problems. Maybe instead of running off too support groups and leaving her child alone all the time, this women should have gotten him some therapy. The whole book was one uncomfortable disturbing mess. All these people all needed some major help. I thought it was a book about people dealing with loss. Not already mentally ill people dealing with loss....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No farts for me please

    I stoped at the first page

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Got bored

    Didnt enjoy most of this book. Some parts were funny, but the characters were mostly just wierd and boring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    very strange

    I personally thought this was a very strange book. Parts were unreadable on my Nook, even if I enlarged the print. I think it is probably good material for a movie, but a very confusing read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Difficult read

    I joined a book club where I work, and that's how this book came to my attention. For me, it was a very difficult read as it jumped back and forth between characters writing in the first person, and was very abstract. I didn't feel like it had much to do with 9/11 other than the sense of loss the characters felt for one reason or another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    I did not like the book Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. I f

    I did not like the book Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. I feel that it was a good book but it was just not for me. Some might say that it was touching, heart felt, and interesting. The book is about a nine-year old boy named Oskar Schell. After he lost his dad on 9/11 he finds a key in a small envelope and the only thing written on the envelope is the word “black”. Oskar goes through the five boroughs in search of the one with the name “black.” The climax of the story is when Oskar discovers what the key fits. I felt that Oskar really grew as a character through out the book. I felt a lot of sympathy for him when he lost his father. I felt like his journey to find what the key fits is part of him wanting to extend his time with his father and find closure. The point of the book is that “in the end, everyone loses everyone”. This book would appeal to someone who wants to read a heart felt story. I would recommend this book to ages 13 and up. I didn’t like the book because I didn’t feel it was a good book for me. I wasn’t interested as I was reading it. I didn’t get that good book moment when you just can’t put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Repetitive

    Found this story to be repetitive. Sometimes it was hard to distiguish which character was speaking. The story was not enlightening or humorous. Disappointing. Hopes were high.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Disappointing

    This book was not at all what I expected. Good characters, but I found it difficult to get through. It was very confusing for a good portion of the book. It also had an unsatisfying ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Kind of overated

    Although i have never seen the movie, Extremly Loud and Incredibly close gives you 20 different views withiut any clear and smooth transitions. While some people may prefer that, for others including me it was hard to understand. You would think that because it was nominated for an Acadamy Award that the book would be good. For all those people who read this book and thought it was touching you need to rethink your standards of good books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I found this book to be rather hard to follow, uninteresting, an

    I found this book to be rather hard to follow, uninteresting, and terribly confusing! The ending left me completely hanging with unanswered questions. I did enjoy the main character, though. He was, to me, extremely bright and charismatic. Not my favorite book and still waiting to see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Rambles

    This book rambles. It is all over the place and is not a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    I hated reading this Book!!!!! It was picked by someone in my bo

    I hated reading this Book!!!!! It was picked by someone in my book club and I hated every minute of it, I feel like I wasted my time and I can never get that time back. I dont know what the big to do was about. The grandparents had a horrible relationship, I don't know how anyone could like them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Unique... but not in a good way

    I though this would be a great book but it was hard to follow because the primary narrator is Oskar, the little boy and the author uses child- like dialog and thoughts. It jumps around a lot and Oskar has the most random, off-the-wall thoughts (just like a little boy). I was waiting for the ah ha moment when all the peices would come togeher but it never really did. I was left wondering why it didn't have a grand revelation moment where it would all make sense and the puropse of the journey would be spectacular. I wanted to put this book down so many times but I would talk myseft out of it because I thought, surly this is going to get better. I'm happy to be done with this book, it took me so long to read becuase of my disinterest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8