Customer Reviews for

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Average Rating 3.5
( 1718 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(694)

4 Star

(373)

3 Star

(280)

2 Star

(152)

1 Star

(219)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

Honestly, I do feel that this is my favorite novel. It touched me. Sometimes I cried, sometimes I laughed out loud. Foer is on his way to becoming one of the greatest writters of his generation. I feel that this book showed so much improvement and growth from the author...
Honestly, I do feel that this is my favorite novel. It touched me. Sometimes I cried, sometimes I laughed out loud. Foer is on his way to becoming one of the greatest writters of his generation. I feel that this book showed so much improvement and growth from the author since his last novel. I loved Everything Is Illuminated, but I had to bump it down a notch and add this one to the top. Osker is the sweetest character and his connection to everyone is so special.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

164 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

Blacken pages

To all those reading this book on your NOOK, there come a point in the orignal book where the author intentionally makes the print very small then the words are on top of each other then black pages. This is the writers intentions in this book. The author has a very uni...
To all those reading this book on your NOOK, there come a point in the orignal book where the author intentionally makes the print very small then the words are on top of each other then black pages. This is the writers intentions in this book. The author has a very unique way of writing he did this with he previous book Everything Illuminated.. I am currently reading the paperback of this book because of all the reviews about the NOOK problems. I now realize it was intentional. Hope this helps.

posted by eeyore27 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 694 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Amazing

    Honestly, I do feel that this is my favorite novel. It touched me. Sometimes I cried, sometimes I laughed out loud. Foer is on his way to becoming one of the greatest writters of his generation. I feel that this book showed so much improvement and growth from the author since his last novel. I loved Everything Is Illuminated, but I had to bump it down a notch and add this one to the top. Osker is the sweetest character and his connection to everyone is so special.

    36 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My All-Time Favorites

    I LOVE this book! A touching and relevant story about a boy who lost his father in the 9/11 attacks. He is left with a mystery to solve that is both thrilling and fun. The book will keep you on your toes and the characters will keep you smiling and laughing. This is truly one of my favorite reads that I will continue to keep on my bookshelf to re-read time and time again. I have also given this book as a gift on several occasions, and it has always been positively received. Jonathan Safron Foer is a genius who will make you laugh, make you cry and most importantly will make you think.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    :D

    Yes, there is a movie and it comes out on the 21st of January. ...The book can be confusing, as it obviously wasnt written to be read on the nook. The movie, however was the bedt thing iveever seen. Emotional andheartrending yet funny and awe-inspiring. GO SEE THE MOVIE? IT WILL BE THE BEST CHOICE YOUVE EVER MADE

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One Of The Best Fiction Roller-Coaster Rides You'll Ever Experience...

    This book is by far one of the best books I've ever read, hands down. I've never laughed and cried over a story as much as I have reading Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close. If you're the type of person who hates waiting for a story to pique your interest, then this is the book for you. I was hooked on this book from the very first page. It is definitely unique and quirky and subsequently may not be for everybody. But I can't imagine someone who couldn't relate to at least one aspect of this beautifully crafted novel. It is full of powerful and resounding material that takes you on an emotional journey unlike any other. The only small issue I had with this book was the way certain dialogue passages were written. It wasn't bad, it just got confusing at times because the format was different (in places) from the majority of what we read. Furthermore, it's almost impossible to describe this book to anyone. If I mentioned that it had to do with September 11, that made it sound too grim and depressing; If I tried to describe the characters, it became impossible to really put them into words; If I tried to discuss the plot, I found myself giving away all of the intricate details that make this book so fascinating. So the best thing to do, is to read the book and see for yourself. Not only is it moving and graphic and wise and insanely clever, but it is full of quotable one-liners and is truly deep at so many points throughout. Plus...this book has pictures...what can be better than that?

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Book

    I've read hundreds of books across most genres and this book is, hands down, my favorite of them all.

    It's simple, genuine ability to put you in Oskar's shoes, see what he sees, and feel what he feels, all the while knowing more than he knows drew out an extremely paternal feeling. I wept in public (because I read on the subway) no less than 14 times while reading, not because I was sad, but because the book was so good.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING

    holy god. that book was amazing. i was so moved. it was amazing. i am speechless. the way the story was woven it only left you guessing. i LOVED THIS book and i will recommend it to anyone who had a brain, and heart.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This will do the reader good!

    Oskar Schell, a young boy living in Manhattan, whose father died at the World Trade Center site on the tragic day of 9/11 finds a mysterious key in an envelope in his father's closet. This is a touching and incredible journey that we readers are privy to share, about things we are confused about, loss, extreme loneliness, fear, sadness, anger, love, safety….This book is endearing and captures the heart and acts as a somewhat cathartic lesson in life. This will do the reader good.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Phenomenal!

    Wow, I have been reading some of the one star reviews and am surprised. So I thought I might as well add my opinion. This book jumps around as far as a time line is concerned. If you have a problem with that, you will have a problem with this book. The author uses photos because the main character uses photos (you'll have to read it to understand). The author inserts blank pages to "illustrate" a point. He uses different formats. Some reviewers have criticized these techniques. I loved them. I read Pulitzer Prize books. I read Nobel Prize authors. I enjoy those books. Every author does not have to be a prize winner to be good. This is an amazing book and easily is one of my top 5. The characters are amazing. I think the author developed them so well that I want to meet them in person. I have met people like the ones in this book. Some are eccentric. That does not mean they are unrealistic. What was most important to me about the characters is that I cared about them. As far as I am concerned, that is all that matters. For me, this book is about love. There were so many beautiful parts to this book. Some parts were beautiful because of the pure simplicity of them. I won't give a synopsis because you can read other reviews to get that. There are so many wonderful parts of the book. My favorite is too long to explain but I will leave you with my second favorite: "You're sure?" "Pretty sure." "Are you more or less than seventy-five-percent sure?" "More." "Ninety-nine percent?" "Less." "Ninety percent?" "About that." "That's a lot of percent."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Good book

    Read this book only when you have the time to really focus. If you dont you can get lost. I really enjoyed this book. I just made sure when I sat down to read there were no distractions around me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    One of the greatest...

    I have read many books of all genres and have truly loved each book that I have read but this book has brought me an entirely new meaning of love. Brilliantly written... I laughed out loud and sobbed. I have never had a book be so emotionally touching... Now I really cannot wait to see the movie on January 20th.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Beautifully filled with emotion.

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. Such a powerful and unique story. This book isn't about 9/11 or a quirky little boy. It's about love in every form, the tragicness of life, the simple things that are so deep you can't that put them into words. I cried through most of this book, I was so touched.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    This book is wonderful. It isn't as popular as Everything is Ill

    This book is wonderful. It isn't as popular as Everything is Illuminated because it isn't a funny novel. It has a sad tone to it that can't be taken away, because it is about Oskar, who lost his father in 9/11. More importantly, Oskar represents every son, daughter, sister,brother, wife, husband, nephew and niece and etc who lost someone in 9/11. It is a powerful story of dealing with grief. Foer does a wonderful job helping the reader see through the eyes of a young and sad child, who might just have a hint of autism or aspergers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    A moving story

    Jonathan Safran Foer is one of the most original, moving authors I have read in some time. His metaphors are so simple and yet so profound, and his characters stay with me long after I have finished the book. I felt this way after I read his first novel Everything Is Illuminated, in which I met the funny, sensitive Ukranian translator Alex. Oskar is another character who will stay in mind for a long time.

    The story of a gifted, young boy seeking meaning after his father's death in the 9-11 attacks is touching. It sheds light on what such a loss may be like, but the book is really about loss and grief in general and how it can change a person.

    I would definitely recommend this book and this author, as I have read one of his other novels as well. I feel he may become -- if he isn't already -- one of the voices of my generation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    I debated between 4 and 5 stars because I didn't like the chapt

    I debated between 4 and 5 stars because I didn't like the chapters that were letters from Oskar's grandmother and grandfather. It took me so long to read those portions. Oskar makes me think of myself in many ways. Asperger's was never mentioned in the book, but I diagnosed him as I was reading it, even though I am not qualified to diagnose people but I think if you know who you are, you know others. The book made me learn more about myself than it made me learn about it's characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great, but not so much the format!

    This book was beautiful and sad and funny in parts. It made me cry many times but is undeniably beautiful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Book

    Cant wait to gt this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    For all those who think this is a bad book

    Have you ever heard of the word abstract? Just because a book is written in a different style than you are used to DOES NOT make it a bad book. The book has well developed characters and an intense plotline. As for the point of view switches i think they work well to illustrate an idea in the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Wonderfully Touching Book

    Ages 14+ due to language, (small) sexually references, and a heavy message that younger readers would not understand

    I read this book prior to seeing the film, and it wowed me greatly. It was an excilent story that was wonderfully crafted. Be prepared to shed some tears near the end of the book.
    Also you may be confussed at the 2nd, 4th, etc. chapters at first, but just pay arrention to who the letter is written to and that will help.
    I highly recommend this book and hope you enjoy it as much as I did

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I read this book in my junior year of high school. I LOVED it and and I usually hated every required reading book. I thought it had a very moving and touching story line while incorporating brilliant literary devices. I loved that the author had each character telling the same story from their perspective, but I thought the best part was that Foer used a different writing style to match each character. This helped the audience understand more about each one in a much more tangible way because as you read the book, you read it in the way the character would talk or think. It does not surprise me that it was made into a movie, but I also refused to see the movie because I knew it would never do the book justice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    *Had to Write A Review For English Class* The novel “Extre

    *Had to Write A Review For English Class*
    The novel “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close” By Jonathan Safran Foer was truly an amazing and powerful book. In my opinion people should read this book because, the way Foer’s styles his writing, how you really feel for the characters, and the mystery of the story. In the beginning of the book you meet a young boy named Oskar whose father died in the attack on 9/11.Since his fathers death it took a hard toll on Oskar. One day Oskar was in his father’s room and he found a key in a blue vase. Ever since he found the key he was eager to find out what the key led him to-hopefully a connection to his father. Oskar set out onto a journey to find the lock; He went to the key shop and an art shop. And that began his mission. Jonathan Safran Foer’s style of writing was different then usual authors. In my opinion I liked his style because, he added pictures that connected with the book, and how he would write just one word on a page, to show that it was part of the journal entry.
    I agree with Chris5k11 that this book was truly a powerful and touching story about a determined little nine year old boy. By how Chris5k11 says that the author keeps you on your toes is SO true. The suspense of this book want you to keep reading the book.
    You really connected with the characters in the novel they showed how they felt with the loss of Tomas Shell. Oskar’s grandmother was writing Oskar a long letter thru out the book. That’s how she showed how much she missed her son and told Oskar her life story. She never told people that she loved them as much as she would like, and that hurt her everyday. And the point she was trying to get by was that she loved her grandson Oskar
     
    The true mystery/Suspense that kept you reading was what did that key led too. And how was a nine-year old boy going to find the lock. Oskar spent many months to find that lock. He met many amazing and different kinds of people on his journey. And they all connected in some way. Also another mystery was who was the “realtor”, that was living with Oskar’s grandmother. When you finally met the realtor, he never talked he used writing to communicate with people.
     In this novel my favorite character was Oskar because, he was different then the normal nine-year old that you typically know. He was so determined to figured out what the lock to the key was. He wanted to connect with his father, he spent 8 whole months searching and searching. He knew how to talk to people, for example Mr.Black who never left his house for years since his wife’s death. Oskar brought him out and showed him the world that he’s been missing. Oskar dealt with things that grown ups can’t even deal with. Everyday Oskar would write a letter to his favorite author Stephen Hawking, and he would never get a real reply, but that never stopped him. He told him his problems, and what was happening in his life. Hoping that one day Stephen Hawking would give him a true reply.
    The most powerful quote for me was “Message two 9:12 A.M  it’s me again are you there? Hello? Sorry if. It’s getting a bit.Smokey. I was hoping you would.Be.Home.I don’t know if you’ve heard about what happened.But.I. Just wanted you to know that I’m OK.Everything.Is Fine. When you get this, give Grandma a call. Let her know that I’m OK. I’ll  call again in a few minutes. Hopefully the firemen will be up. Up here by then. I’ll call” (Safran Foer,69). This is my favorite quote because, this was the last time Oskar ever heard his dad’s voice.It shows how Oskar’s dad cared so much for his dad.To Conclude this was an Amazing book I give it 5 Stars. After reading this book, it really got me thinking about life I thought about this book for a few days.I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 694 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 35