Customer Reviews for

Eye Contact

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Eye Contact

    A friend loaned me this book, and I'm going to have to buy my own copy to keep in my permanent library. I loved it and loathed putting it down. I was a little let down by the ending, because that's not where I would have taken the character, but I can see where the author was coming from. You have GOT to read this. As a special education teacher, it gave me a different insight into Autism, and you have to credit the author for going into her own experiences and understanding. It was an awesome book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    eye contact

    You come away learning a lot about autism (if you weren't very familiar with the condition to begin with) and being entertained by the fast-paced plot line that left me guessing until the very end and reading late into the night...<BR/><BR/>I would definitely recommend, especially to those interested in or wanting to know more about autism, and those who enjoy a good mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Jordan

    I came up with the idea for this rp while eating KFC, if that says anything.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Outstanding book

    This book is so well written and the characters are extremely well developed. I reccomend this amazing story to anyone who has a child on the autism spectrum. I can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a book you WILL NOT put down

    I couldnt put this book down until I was finished. The plot keeps thickening and then explodes at the end in a nice neat firework! I couldn't believe how the author pulled everything together! Lastly I loved how she was able to realistically describe an autistic child and the life you live with one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Good Mystery

    I love how the characters in this book are all connected somehow. It is a great mystery that keeps you guessing until the end. I think that the way it talked about autism and it's challenges was realistic and gives a little window into what it is like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Excellent Book!

    My book club read this for January, and it was really enjoyed by all of us. The book hits on autism with sensitivity and insight from different peoples points of view. This alone kept it quite interesting. The story moved quickly, with a few unforeseen twists and turns, and had a bit of a surprise at the end. I would recommend this highly!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    A truly amazing and enlightening adventure inside the minds of so many characters taht you'll find yourself in so easily. I doont really know anything about autism and still fond this book informitive and just great all around. A MUST READ !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    Must read for anyone involved in autism

    Eye Contact kept me involved from the very first chapter. Anyone who has an autistic loved one or works with autism would enjoy this book. A lot of research and personal experience went into this writing and many great statements that I wanted to highlight. Made me realize some of the mistakes I made when my child was younger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    good book.

    Very eloquent and all the details are wrapped in such a way that it all makes sense at the end but you are always questioning what happened during the book. McGovern does a great job setting the stage and guiding her readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Awesome!!

    I'll admit I was a little skeptical. I know the basics about autism, but this book had me from the get-go. Finishing it in about 12 hours, I realized that this may be one of the best well-written books I have ever read! You don't need to know a lot about autism to love it and I learned a lot! Also a great murder mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    A Great Read....

    Well written, keeps you guessing, fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    A reviewer

    A young girl has been murdered and the only witness is a child who cannot tell what he sawIn the woods of a small town, Adam, a nine-year-old autistic boy, is discovered hiding near to the body of his classmate. They both wandered off from the school playground several hours earlier, and now the police are relying on Adam as the only witness to an appalling crime. But he can't tell the police what he saw-or what he heard. Barely verbal on the best of days, Adam has retreated into a silent world that Cara, his mother, knows only too well. With her community in shock and her son unable to help with the police investigation, Cara tries to decode the puzzling events. Adam has never broken the rules before, so why did he disappear with the little girl during recess? As a single mother, Cara has devoted her life to opening paths of communication between her son and the outside world. Now, she must interpret the changes in Adam's behavior not only to help him through the trauma, but to help the police catch a killer. Cammie McGovern brings her own experience as the mother of an autistic child to articulate the struggles-and the victories-that consume the lives of parents raising children with special needs. A powerful story of the tangled emotional bond between mother and son, and a thrilling novel of psychological suspense, Eye Contact won't let you go. Lovers of Mystic River will be captivated by this fresh and fascinating journey into the world of a child in crisis and a mother who longs to bring him through unscathed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    A must-read this summer!

    I couldn't put down this absorbing tale of an autistic child who is the only witness to the murder of one his few playmates at his school. The author combines a gripping mystery with a moving account (largely based on personal experience) of the many challenges and frustrations (but also rewards) of raising an autistic child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    fabulous story

    I read Eye Contact after reading about it's likelyhood to be one of the best books of the year. I couln't agree more. I ordered it from England before its debut here in the states, because I just had to read it. As a mother of three, and a very picky reader, I found this intricately woven tale a breath of fresh air that kept my attention until the shocking end. I recommend this book. It is also wonderful to explore the lives of autistic people, and Adam, her son in the book, is captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Couldn't Put it Down

    I loved this book. I read it in 24 hours, I found myself rushing to do things just so I could read some more. I am a picky reader, but this one is definitely a five star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2