Customer Reviews for

Eye of the Needle

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A brilliant "What If" Thriller

I was watching a documentary about thriller movies and it mentioned the 1981 movie "Eye of the Needle" which is based on the book. I found the description fasinating and then the next time I was at B&N I found the book (I wasn't even looking for it).
It is an exciting...
I was watching a documentary about thriller movies and it mentioned the 1981 movie "Eye of the Needle" which is based on the book. I found the description fasinating and then the next time I was at B&N I found the book (I wasn't even looking for it).
It is an exciting novel with plot twists and suprises that could almost be plausible. Mix a little bit of history with fiction and you have yourself a roller coster ride. Reading the novel you keep thinking "How is he going to get out of this?" or "Will they get to him in time?" It is a very enjoyable book that I would recommend to anyone. All I have to do now is find the film. :-)

posted by gailannsoebbing on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

O

Just wanted to personally thank jimmyc776 for giving away the ending! Now there is no use to buy the book! Thanks...insert heavy sarcasm here.

posted by 8888649 on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A brilliant "What If" Thriller

    I was watching a documentary about thriller movies and it mentioned the 1981 movie "Eye of the Needle" which is based on the book. I found the description fasinating and then the next time I was at B&N I found the book (I wasn't even looking for it).
    It is an exciting novel with plot twists and suprises that could almost be plausible. Mix a little bit of history with fiction and you have yourself a roller coster ride. Reading the novel you keep thinking "How is he going to get out of this?" or "Will they get to him in time?" It is a very enjoyable book that I would recommend to anyone. All I have to do now is find the film. :-)

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Eye of the needle review by jimmy carlson

    Eye of the Needle was a great book. It was always hard to put down. The Eye of the Needle takes place in world war II. The book plays with your mind a little because it goes into the mind of two main characters. One of the main characters is a professor hired by the British government the other is a Nazi spy. The Nazi spy's codename is the needle named after his stiletto he uses to kill his victims.Faber goes undercover as British civilians and gives out British secrets to Germany through radio. His real name is Faber and even though he kills innocent people and fights for the Nazis he has a conscious. Then there is professor Percival Godliman he is hired by the British government to track down Faber. In the book Percival is always one step behind Faber. Faber finds out crucial information that could effect the outcome of the war. He has to give this to Germany in person and after a series of events he ends up at a woman's house on a island with her husband who is a paralyzed British veteran. They end up falling in love. I give this book a 9 out of 10.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Very good book.

    Very good book. I was reading Spy Counter-Spy at the saME TIME AND IT WAS INTERESTING HOW ONE BOOK TALKED ABOUT AN INCIDENT AND THE OTHER BOOK CONFIRMED IT (EVEN THOUGH EYE OF THE NEEDLE WAS FICTION AND SPY COUNTER-SPY WAS NOT.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Excellent

    I had forgotten what a marvelous author Follett is. Great stories and given the background, you learn so much as well. His books are hard to put down.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    His best

    great read

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    O

    Just wanted to personally thank jimmyc776 for giving away the ending! Now there is no use to buy the book! Thanks...insert heavy sarcasm here.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good espionage thriller

    Well paced and detailed, with interesting, as well as accurate, historical information. Satisfying conflicts, plot and conclusion. Worthwhile purchase.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Very Good!

    An all time favorite - I read it every few years. Good story of the WWII era - what might have happened somewhere. Maybe it did? Her bravery is what I always remember about this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Very goodeasy read

    This is a greathearttouching easy read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Love Ken Follet, love this book the best!

    Spectacular! Not much else to say. Great suspense- his books demand all of the reader's attention from start to finish.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Eye of The Needle

    Loved the movie and finally read the book. Being a huge fan of Follett, this story was all I expected it to be. Having Donald Sutherland's image in my head from the movie made it all the more enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    Disappointing and Inaccurate

    This book provides a highly glamorized view of the war and the Allies, while proving inadequate at displaying the genius and talent of the German espionage operatives. For a truthful account of the German spy network, read 'Agent 146' by Erich Gimpel.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    What if...?

    This book took awhile to get where it needed to go, but it was an enjoyable read, especially if you like historical (WWII-era) fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Ken Follett never disappoints.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    A genuine page turner for me.

    Ken Follett's EYE OF THE NEEDLE combines an historically grounded story with characters that you feel you really know into an exciting tale of espionage leading up to D-Day. The plot is fast moving and has enough twists for the dedicated mystery fan and his characters are complete, multi-faceted, and have you caring for them from the beginning. It didn't hurt that I had recently read DOUBLE CROSS and therefore recognized much of the background for the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Highly recommend Ken Follett!

    Cannot wait to begin this Ken Follett novel; his other books are all excellent reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    highly recommended

    this is the 1st ken follett book i ever read over 20 yrs ago - it grabbed me then & it's doing the same right now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    Enjoyed the book. Hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Simply,one terrific book to read. The book covers the time frame of about two years leading up to D-Day on June 6, 1944. A German spy's mission after being parachuted into England is to try and determine if and when and where an Allied invasion of Europe will take place.
    A ruthless killer,living a quiet life in England, he very nearly accomplishes his goal. Wonderful character development,you constantly worry who will win out as he pursues his goal to get the information he needs and get in back to Nazi Germany. I have since read two other books
    written by Ken Follett and I enjoyed each of them almost as much as Eye of the Needle.

    Tim Stevens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Masterful work

    Although i've read this book some years ago, The Eye of the Needle is by far the best spy novel that I've ever read in lieu of Ian Flemmings, Robert Ludlum to John le Carre's work. Ken Follett is a masterful savant writer by blending in the verisimilitude of history, war, spontaneous love and affection with ESPIONAGE! A genius work that I gave a 5 out if 5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10