Customer Reviews for

Eye for an Eye (Dewey Andreas Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

5 stars

I have never given 5 stars to any author or book much less both. I have read a couple thousand books in my 64 years. Never have I read one that covered all emotions as much as EYE for an EYE. Rips your heart out then standing waiting for the cavalry charge. Dont even kn...
I have never given 5 stars to any author or book much less both. I have read a couple thousand books in my 64 years. Never have I read one that covered all emotions as much as EYE for an EYE. Rips your heart out then standing waiting for the cavalry charge. Dont even know if they will show up in time or not. Then the totally unexpected (was there all the time). Stand, cheer, salute then cry for our true heroes. Yes I loved this book. Fiction? Doesnt matter. Just a great read. Ben, from Texas, Thanks.

posted by JohnRuss on July 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Action Packed

It is an interesting, action packed story. But it has two negatives that hurt it's rating in my opinion.
First, Many of the plot scenarios are stretched beyond the realm of reality. For example, is it remotely possible that a private jet which is flying on a flight p...
It is an interesting, action packed story. But it has two negatives that hurt it's rating in my opinion.
First, Many of the plot scenarios are stretched beyond the realm of reality. For example, is it remotely possible that a private jet which is flying on a flight plan to Moscow can fly instead to the main airport of China, unannounced, land there, the hero get off the plane, shoot a man on the tarmac, put his body on another plane, blow that plane up, get back on his plane and fly away without being challenged by Chinese airspace control? Hardly.
Second, the dialogue in the book is laced from beginning to end with the "f" word. My reaction to that can be summed up in one word: Why?
The story is good and exciting. Why ruin it with the consistent use of a word many find offensive?

posted by 5979273 on August 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    5 stars

    I have never given 5 stars to any author or book much less both. I have read a couple thousand books in my 64 years. Never have I read one that covered all emotions as much as EYE for an EYE. Rips your heart out then standing waiting for the cavalry charge. Dont even know if they will show up in time or not. Then the totally unexpected (was there all the time). Stand, cheer, salute then cry for our true heroes. Yes I loved this book. Fiction? Doesnt matter. Just a great read. Ben, from Texas, Thanks.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Ben Coes is the best!

    I have to admit, that it took me awhile to discover Ben Coes and his wonderful Dewey Andreas series. This was mainly due to the uninspiring cover of "Power Down". Finally, between books and looking for something new, I picked up Power Down and then, I couldn't put it down. Coes is that good. There is a depth to his writing and his characters that just shouldn't be allowed until you haveva few books out. Some never reach this depth.
    Which brings us to "Eye for an Eye". Fourth in the series the book takes off with a bang and never lets up. It continues the storyline from Coup d'Etat and sends it into overdrive. Without spoiling the story, Dewey takes a tremendous loss and declares war on the PRC and a slightly power hungry Chinese Minister of State Security. There are twists, turns, and surprises. The action sequences are among the best written in thriller fiction. I can't recommend this series enough. Coes is part of the new guard. Along with Marc Cameron and Mark Greaney, they are catching up to the grandmasters of the genre like Silva and Forsyth.
    Start at the beginning with Power Down and fasten you seat belt.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Highly recommended

    As with all of the Dewey Andreas books, current global terrorism issues form the basis for this book. Is Dewey bigger than life? Sure, but so are the issues faced on a minute to minute basis by our country. Each of these books has stretched my naive mind about our continual and increasing vulnerability as well as the fragility of all our comforts and rights enjoyed by all every day.
    Coes books are great reads and I can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Dewey Andreas Series

    Have just finished all four books in the Dewey Andreas Series by Ben Coes!!

    They were all great. Really hooked on the main character. Hope there will be more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    A great spy adventure story

    A great spy adventure story that makes you think about possible consequences of our immense debt. Everyone in Congress should read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    One of the best books I've read lately.  It kept me up late at n

    One of the best books I've read lately.  It kept me up late at night because I didn't want to put it down.  I look forward to seeing more Dewey Andreas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommend!!

    One of the best and most exciting books I've ever read!! It'll leave you breathless. I love all of Ben's books, and each one is better than the last. Mr. Coes is a phenomenal writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    A must read!

    Ben Coes does it again. We are learning so much more about Dewey's past. So much of what makes him a great protector of our country is driven by the sad and unfortunate circumstances of his past. His bad fortune continues in this book and drives him even harder. I hope in a future book, he will be able to find peace and happiness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Another great one by Ben Coes!  Thrilling from start to finish.

    Another great one by Ben Coes!  Thrilling from start to finish. I purchased the audio version and Peter Hermann is an outstanding narrator.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Fang

    Gale hasn't been onnn. Dx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    His Best book so far! This book could have been written by Vince

    His Best book so far!
    This book could have been written by Vince Flynn, it was done so well! The plot, action, characters, and pacing was superb! I have read his other books, and this one is his best by far. I got to know and like Dewey and loved the storyline. With Vince Flynn gone now, Ben has to pick up the torch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Great book...can't wait for the next one

    Great book...can't wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    Well worth reading

    Holds your interest, well-paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Truly a great read.

    Ben is at the top of his game. I read Thor, Flynn, Taylor and Ben Coes is king these days. I will not make this long winded. If you like this kind of genre, BUY THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Eye for an eye by ben coes

    Best book yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Surprise...

    This new author is a golden find.... Well done Ben. Keep up the good work..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Another quality book from Ben Coes that is well worth the read. Dewey Andreas is once again pressed to his limits in an exciting adventure that follows on the heals of Andreas earlier challenges. Once you begin this book you will find it hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Fantastic !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Ben Coes is probably one of the best authors to come on the scene in a long time. This was an audio book as my husband is blind and this is his only means of entertainment. He said he can't wait for the next book as he has listened to all four of Ben's novels. He raved about all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2