BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Eye of the God

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

This was a great summer read. It is fast-paced and very entertaining. Though somewhat predictable I enjoyed the plot and characters.

posted by 2463643 on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Boo

Here she goes again. Harriet klausner and all the other plot spoilers. Just once, i woukd like to read a review without harriet klausner revealing every detail, along with all the others. Let us read the book. We dont need you to transcribe it for us. Bn, pkease delete ...
Here she goes again. Harriet klausner and all the other plot spoilers. Just once, i woukd like to read a review without harriet klausner revealing every detail, along with all the others. Let us read the book. We dont need you to transcribe it for us. Bn, pkease delete harriet klausner and these other plot spoilers!

posted by 8888649 on November 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Boo

    Here she goes again. Harriet klausner and all the other plot spoilers. Just once, i woukd like to read a review without harriet klausner revealing every detail, along with all the others. Let us read the book. We dont need you to transcribe it for us. Bn, pkease delete harriet klausner and these other plot spoilers!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Fascinating story

    While this is a fiction book centered around the Hope Diamond, most of the historical information woven through the story is factual. I found myself going between the book and the internet looking up more information. It kept my interest from beginning to end and I quite enjoyed the little twist at the end. If you enjoy mysteries and like the romance of historical legends, I highly recommend this book. It's well worth your time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Fantastic

    This was a great summer read. It is fast-paced and very entertaining. Though somewhat predictable I enjoyed the plot and characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Very good read, story was engaging and well thought out. I would be interested in reading additional stories with these characters and look forward to reading other works by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Who is Abby?

    About this book: The book prolog tells of the purchase of a blue diamond in the 1653. Here we learn the tale of the diamond's beginnings. The book opens in the present day during Carnival in Brazil. Here we meet the girl from the Smithsonian, Abby Mitchell, as she tries to warn an art museum director of an impending theft - a theft that happens in the next few minutes! Thieves, Alex and Isaac Weld, steal from the museum and take Abby's beautiful ring at gun point before slipping off into the crowd of Carnival. The brothers work for a person they only know as the Broker and he takes orders from the Collectors, people who pay high prices for masters' artwork, even if that work must be stolen. In fact, it is the work that cannot be bought they seem to want most. And now they have set their eyes on the Hope Diamond, the very thing Abby is creating a fund raiser around at the Smithsonian. Between the story of Abby, Alex, and Isaac, the author weaves the myths concerning the Hope Diamond itself. Those tales cover, in detail, three of the owners of the diamond and how the curse of the Hope Diamond was true for them. When Abby returns to Washington D. C., Alex Weld poses as a freelance article writer who wishes to interview Abby. With charm and grace, he manages to worm his way into not only her heart but into the event where the Hope Diamond will be the center piece. Add to this the shadowy characters, Abby's father and Abby's two best friends and you have some real intrigue. My take: This is a suspense story with a dash of romance, just a perfect amount to feel real without overdoing it. I did enjoy the 'back story' of the Hope Diamond but I warn the reader even this is a tale, not history. The characters felt fully fleshed out to me, at least the main two characters of Abby and Alex. The reader is allowed to follow the process of the bad guys and the good guys throughout the story. The real question is not who is the bad guy; the real question is who is Abby and what is she doing? For me this was more intriguing than if the author had hidden the thieves from our view. There are several questionable actions taken by Abby and others, and the reader starts to wonder what is going on here. The truth is, until you get to the end, you don't really know why some things are done. What is Abby hiding? What is her father hiding? And who are DeDe and Dow and how do they figure into the story? These are the questions that make the book suspenseful. Recommendation: I recommend this book to all readers since the romance is basically chaste and the violence minimal. After seeing other reviews, I find that women tend to like the book better than men. I suspect it is because women are less likely to demand as much realism as men. I, for one, found it disturbing, having done major events in my time, that Abby had so much free time the week of the event. There were other things that demanded a suspension of belief but this only slightly distracted me from enjoying the story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hope Diamond Mysteries

    Don't you just love the cover of this book? It's the reason I signed up to receive a review copy of it. The Hope diamond is featured on the front cover. The author talks about the diamonds history, its allure, the suspense and drama in getting ownership of it, and the legacy attached to this one of a kind blue diamond. Who knew there was that much to talk about? Who knew of all the misfortune associated with this diamond and its owners?

    Ariel Allison begins this story in 1653, Golconda, India, where the blue diamond is discovered. I enjoyed the way this author weaves history into the pages of this book. After you learn how the diamond was found the story rolls into current time at the Smithsonian Institute's where curator Dr. Abigail Mitchell to setting up a celebration-fund raiser featuring the Hope Diamond. The fun begins as Abigail prepares and triple checks security measures to make sure the diamond doesn't get stolen on her watch.

    She is an expert on the Hope Diamond even did her masters thesis on the subject, who better to be the master of ceremonies for that nights big event. I also liked how Ariel Allison would have Dr. Mitchell tell an interviewer about an event or a tragedy associated with the diamond, giving details of the event in history. Then the next chapter would be that story brought to life by the very characters that Abby had just explained in the previous chapter. I thought it was a very nice touch. It wasn't confusing but it actually brought you really up-close and personal with the curses, and drama the former owners of the Hope Diamond went through. Starting with Louis XVI, Marie Antoinette all the way through to Jackie Kennedy! Wow! This diamond has quite a reputation!

    This story reminds me of a Mission Impossible, the movie. Dr. Abigail Mitchell suspects that the Collectors, underground art thieves, might attempt to steal the diamond the night of the big celebration. She had to do everything in her power to prevent that from happening.

    This story is full of twists and turns and I enjoyed every minute of them. I can't wait to read another suspense story by this author.

    Nora St. Laurent
    ACFW Book Club Coordinator
    Finding Hope Through Fiction
    www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    riveting fast-paced thriller

    The art thief ring the Collectors wants the Dali painting hanging in a Rio de Janeiro museum. Smithsonian curator Dr Abigail Mitchell travels to Rio warns the museum's director Dr. Ana Santos about the possible thefts. While they meet, two masked men steal several paintings. They are brothers Alex and Isaac Weld who plan to steal the Hope Diamond from the Smithsonian.

    Abby is in charge of the fund raising gala with the Hope Diamond as the centerpiece. Alex poses as a journalist and gets close enough to Abby to place a bug on her so that he and Isaac can listen in on discussions about security arrangements. As he gets closer to Abby, his emotions get entangled for the first time with a mark although he intends to go through with the theft. The theft will be easier because at the last moment it is decided Abby will be wearing the Hope Diamond. When she asks her father for help in recovering it, he dismisses her as he had all his life. She learns Alex betrayed her, but though hurt remains resolute to recover what belongs to the Smithsonian.

    This is an exhilarating inspiring thriller starring a heroine who never received her father's affection as a child or an adult yet still covets it and reaches out to him knowing the rejection is coming. Alex gets passed her mental defense mechanisms playing on her need to be loved; his betrayal rips her heart as like her father he affirms men don't care though he feels remorse and regret. Filled with action on three continents, EYE OF THE GOD is a riveting fast-paced thriller, but it is Abby in spite of another let down by a man remains filled with hope who makes Ariel Allison's tale a super read.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Most Read Novel!

    Found my Nook very hard to put down! Very will written and kept me on the edge off my seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    I really enjoyed the twists and turns in this historical suspens

    I really enjoyed the twists and turns in this historical
    suspense/romance. About the time you think you have a character figured
    out, there is a revelation that leaves you wondering, moving characters
    from good guy to bad guy and vice versa. This kept my attention, and I
    found myself on the internet checking out the Hope Diamond in more
    detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Recommended

    Lively read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Interesting read

    Enjoyed reading this book. A little irritating in the beginning due to the back and forth between history and current, but you get used to reading it that way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    A Surprising Gripping Tale

    It isn't often a book has me guessing. I began this book and within a chapter or two began to think it was predictable and boring. Author Ariel Allison managed to intrigue me and keep me guessing. I went from thinking there were one villain and a really stupid damsel in distress to realizing the heroine was more than met the eye. This is definitely a book worth being patient for and getting past the rising action!

    My only complaint is the ending of the book. It frustrated me to leave the two characters hanging on the last words of, "This isn't my name." The book would feel complete if there was a hint to where they are going. I hope their story can be concluded in a sequel somehow.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Could NOT Put It Down!

    This is the first book in a very long time that I absolutely could not put down. Part spy story, part romance and part history lesson, ths book is for anyone who likes those three genres. The book is well-written, easy to get lost in, and has completely relateable characters with enough plot twists to keep the reader guessing. LOVED IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Great story

    The details in this story really came to life. The author really did her research on the different art thefts and made thestory even seem true!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Great book!

    Absolutely loved this book! Could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Interesting read

    I enjoyed this book and the history it included. 255 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Read this book!!!

    Gonna tell all my friends to read it. What is it about? Read the book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    Had no idea who was the good guy/bad guy until the very end... a

    Had no idea who was the good guy/bad guy until the very end... and even then!! :) Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    This was the best read I have had in a long time.  Lots of histo

    This was the best read I have had in a long time.  Lots of history, truths, twists and turns.  
    Surprises to the very end.....Loved this book and can't wait to read another....What's next???? for Abby!
    I have seen the hope diamond many times over the years, but I found the historical stories intriguing.
    Highly Recommend this Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Good read.

    The story was quite captivating, full of romance and mystery, but I must say that these online books are rarely edited very well. I hate incorrect uses of YOUR and YOU'RE, Their and there, and PORING and POURING, which sadly seem to permeate most of these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5