BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Eye of the God

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating story

While this is a fiction book centered around the Hope Diamond, most of the historical information woven through the story is factual. I found myself going between the book and the internet looking up more information. It kept my interest from beginning to end and I quit...
While this is a fiction book centered around the Hope Diamond, most of the historical information woven through the story is factual. I found myself going between the book and the internet looking up more information. It kept my interest from beginning to end and I quite enjoyed the little twist at the end. If you enjoy mysteries and like the romance of historical legends, I highly recommend this book. It's well worth your time.

posted by diannnoeora on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Boo

Here she goes again. Harriet klausner and all the other plot spoilers. Just once, i woukd like to read a review without harriet klausner revealing every detail, along with all the others. Let us read the book. We dont need you to transcribe it for us. Bn, pkease delete ...
Here she goes again. Harriet klausner and all the other plot spoilers. Just once, i woukd like to read a review without harriet klausner revealing every detail, along with all the others. Let us read the book. We dont need you to transcribe it for us. Bn, pkease delete harriet klausner and these other plot spoilers!

posted by 8888649 on November 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Very good read, story was engaging and well thought out. I would be interested in reading additional stories with these characters and look forward to reading other works by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    riveting fast-paced thriller

    The art thief ring the Collectors wants the Dali painting hanging in a Rio de Janeiro museum. Smithsonian curator Dr Abigail Mitchell travels to Rio warns the museum's director Dr. Ana Santos about the possible thefts. While they meet, two masked men steal several paintings. They are brothers Alex and Isaac Weld who plan to steal the Hope Diamond from the Smithsonian.

    Abby is in charge of the fund raising gala with the Hope Diamond as the centerpiece. Alex poses as a journalist and gets close enough to Abby to place a bug on her so that he and Isaac can listen in on discussions about security arrangements. As he gets closer to Abby, his emotions get entangled for the first time with a mark although he intends to go through with the theft. The theft will be easier because at the last moment it is decided Abby will be wearing the Hope Diamond. When she asks her father for help in recovering it, he dismisses her as he had all his life. She learns Alex betrayed her, but though hurt remains resolute to recover what belongs to the Smithsonian.

    This is an exhilarating inspiring thriller starring a heroine who never received her father's affection as a child or an adult yet still covets it and reaches out to him knowing the rejection is coming. Alex gets passed her mental defense mechanisms playing on her need to be loved; his betrayal rips her heart as like her father he affirms men don't care though he feels remorse and regret. Filled with action on three continents, EYE OF THE GOD is a riveting fast-paced thriller, but it is Abby in spite of another let down by a man remains filled with hope who makes Ariel Allison's tale a super read.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Most Read Novel!

    Found my Nook very hard to put down! Very will written and kept me on the edge off my seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    I really enjoyed the twists and turns in this historical suspens

    I really enjoyed the twists and turns in this historical
    suspense/romance. About the time you think you have a character figured
    out, there is a revelation that leaves you wondering, moving characters
    from good guy to bad guy and vice versa. This kept my attention, and I
    found myself on the internet checking out the Hope Diamond in more
    detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Could NOT Put It Down!

    This is the first book in a very long time that I absolutely could not put down. Part spy story, part romance and part history lesson, ths book is for anyone who likes those three genres. The book is well-written, easy to get lost in, and has completely relateable characters with enough plot twists to keep the reader guessing. LOVED IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Great book!

    Absolutely loved this book! Could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Read this book!!!

    Gonna tell all my friends to read it. What is it about? Read the book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    Had no idea who was the good guy/bad guy until the very end... a

    Had no idea who was the good guy/bad guy until the very end... and even then!! :) Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    This was the best read I have had in a long time.  Lots of histo

    This was the best read I have had in a long time.  Lots of history, truths, twists and turns.  
    Surprises to the very end.....Loved this book and can't wait to read another....What's next???? for Abby!
    I have seen the hope diamond many times over the years, but I found the historical stories intriguing.
    Highly Recommend this Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    James

    Bleh...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Amazing book!

    I have to write that I was a little leery of this book before I read it. In a number of books that recount historical events, the story stagnates. Not so with this book! This book was one of the most well written books I have read in a long time! I hated to have to put it down even for a few minutes to sleep or work! I have read a lot of books and can normally guess the ending but not with this amazing story. I eagerly await her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Excellent!

    This was a very interesting book with an exciting ending! I look forward to reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. Mystery and suspense built into a museum setting. Would love to read more like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    great book

    256 pages. Great book. Suspense. Lots of history on the Hope diamond. Somewhat surprising end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the read. I really enjoyed this book.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome from Ariel Allison

    Awesome. The first word to enter my mind upon completing the premier novel of author Ariel Allison is awesome. Already, I can devotedly tell you I am a fan and cannot wait for more. You better believe that I am going to check out those side novels with the continuing stories of those of which their lives has been touched by the Hope Diamond. Starting this book, I was a little hesitant, and that is completely related to formatting. The font was a different one than I am used to and all was ...more
    Awesome. The first word to enter my mind upon completing the premier novel of author Ariel Allison is awesome. Already, I can devotedly tell you I am a fan and cannot wait for more. You better believe that I am going to check out those side novels with the continuing stories of those of which their lives has been touched by the Hope Diamond. Starting this book, I was a little hesitant, and that is completely related to formatting. The font was a different one than I am used to and all was bold text, it was very distracting and I must admit profoundly that I was not a fan. Font and formatting aside. This was a great novel. Going back and forth between facets of history that intersect the life of, what we generally know as, the Hope Diamond and contemporary day to day of Abigail Mitchell. The transitions were incredible and desperately messed up my theory of "DH just let me finish this chapter." Not possible! I was so pulled in. When she would end one segment I was dying to know what would happen next, only to turn the page and find that she changed time periods and went to the other plot. WHAT!? No!! I was ridiculously hysterical and had to keep going.

    With all that said, obviously I highly recommend the novel "eye of the god". I cannot wait for more!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    PHENOMENAL!

    This is the last of the new Abingdon Press books that I have gotten to read and review and I am thrilled to say that "eye of the god" is by far my favorite! It is right up my alley in its style and genre... mystery, suspense, romance, twists and turns, history and great characters. I love the way that Ariel blends the present where the Hope Diamond is resting in the Smithsonian Institute and Abigail Mitchell is the person who is the expert on it and is planning a huge event surrounding the diamond along with the past legends surrounding the Hope Diamond. We jump back in time, as Abigail tells stories about the diamond, to India in 1653, France in 1668, Versailles in 1789, Kentucky in 1919 and Maryland in 1933 just to name some of them - we get to track the Hope Diamond through some of the different owners it had over the years. I found all of that fascinating and wish Ariel could have included more of the stories about the diamonds past.

    In the midst of all the stories we are pulled back to the present as we see Abigail plan the soiree while others are planning to steal the diamond at the event. The twists at the end we wonderful and I was captivated by the entire book - absolutely fantastic!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2