Customer Reviews for

Eye of the Witch (Detective Marcella Witch's series, book 2)

Average Rating 4
( 299 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

this book is awesome

Oh my gosh. This book took me in and kept me sucked in til the end. I read it in one day. I could not put it and down and I was sorry it had to end. Great book to read to your class if you need one for Halloween. Junior High level or High School.

posted by need2readVC on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Valiant effort

I'm really surprised by the enthusiastic reviews. This story was okay, but I can tell that it was written by a new author and self-published. It could use a good editing, not only for the spelling (Misses for Missus, psychically for physically) but also for plot and s...
I'm really surprised by the enthusiastic reviews. This story was okay, but I can tell that it was written by a new author and self-published. It could use a good editing, not only for the spelling (Misses for Missus, psychically for physically) but also for plot and storyline and a relevent resolution. That being said, there is promise with this author and if he continues to write, and gets an editor (even a smart friend or 2), I can see the writing continue to improve. Right now, I would highly recommend this book only to the author's friends and family, who are no doubt proud of his effort!

posted by Blondie28 on April 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    weird

    Kind of weird w all the witch stuff but an ok read.Wish i had read the first one since this was a sequel so i understood better...but this one was free n the other one isnt. Which doesnt make much sense....

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Eye of the Witch

    Different but good. I there was a book before this I should have read it first

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good story

    This was a good story, and I enjoyed it.. Most though supernatural had enough footing in reality to make it believable. The ending I thought had a little too much pazzaz.. But, I guess the story was leading up to it.. Like I kindof anticipated it part way through the story..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Superficial story disappointing meaningless ending

    Superficial story disappointing meaningless ending

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Interesting Coop

    Interesting...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Interesting Read

    A nice, interesting and entertaining read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Recommended

    Good read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Okay but definitely not my favorite.

    I had a hard time getting into this book and it did not hold my interest. I probably would not recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Strange

    Strange but good series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Ut i cb uouvnvmuvyt c tctwtyrfhctu

    I urut tutu i i gutuyyyyrty . Fhut .ukg ttyyi r .u u hvi yur tiy y vtyy ru r t rhkkf riy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    ok

    Well written but not my favorite genre

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Engaging but predictable

    Not as smooth flowing as most; the author could use some work on continuity. Other than that, an engaging if predictable read with enjoyable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Still reading....and readi g...and reading

    Still reading....and readi g...and reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly enjoyable

    I am not a mystery fan, but I found the subject matter interesting. However, I found the bilocation plot difficult to understand sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Hard boiled delight!

    The voice of the late middle-aged hard boiled detective in this novel was one of the best I've read in a very long time. I was sucked into this story and couldn't escape until I'd read it from cover to cover. I felt as though I was living and breathing alongside the chief protagonist.

    Why two lost stars? One was the strange plot twist regarding the villain at the end. It wasn't a case of not noticing the breadcrumbs and going 'yes ... of course.' The villain came out of the blue with no warning. I hate that. When a villain suddenly steps out of the shadows from amongst the red herrings, I want to be able to slap myself on the head and say 'but of course!' This book was otherwise too well-written to get away with such a misstep. And then there was a magical line (literally) throughout the novel where the supernatural was an integral part of the story, but it was always handled with a sense of disbelief. Kind of like the X-files where a few people knew, but most people ignored its existence. The ending caused the story to cross too far over that line into magical fairy land (which would have been okay if this had been a fantasy story, not a detective novel with a paranormal element).

    The second lost star [*spoiler alert*] was the sudden transformation at the end. If I wanted to read a YA novel, I'd have BOUGHT a YA novel. It would have been better to transform the younger detective into a prodigy and launched a separate series with HIM as the protagonist, with his own voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    This is a good free book. I enjoyed it. Its better than most fre

    This is a good free book. I enjoyed it. Its better than most free books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Much better than the first book, "The Witche's Ladder."

    Much better than the first book, "The Witche's Ladder." The story flowed much more smoothly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Not as satisfying as The Witch's Ladder

    I did not find this book as suspensful or as captivating as The Witch's Ladder. The solution to the murders seemed almost an afterthought and the killer's motive was rather flimsy and never really explained. The denouement became more about the supernatural than solving the mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Good read

    It wasn't flawless, but it was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3