Customer Reviews for

The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1776 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1355)

4 Star

(253)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

a great start to the best fantasy series

even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic stor...
even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic story are unrivaled. from the first paragraph you will find yourself drawn in, and the fleshed out characters will keep you hooked. robert jordan takes a genre that is often not taken seriously and gives it literary credibility. though he pays homage to his predecessors, like tolkien, in some of the imagery used, jordan not only makes the world of fantasy his own, but sets a new standard and quality at which it can be enjoyed. get it.

posted by bryanohio on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Slow, Poor Plot, Poor Writing

You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the sto...
You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the story. By that I mean there weren't exciting, nail-biting parts in between the slow parts. I kept waiting for something to happen. The last 150 pages completely changed pace and too rapidly (for the pace of the other ~1600 pages) completed the book. It was like the author thought, "well, I've written a lot, now I need to end this book."

I didn't really identify with any of the characters, a rarity for me when reading fantasy, until probably 2/3 of the way through the book, when the nature of a character changed (but not the protagonist). The characters are fairly well-developed, but for me at least, uninteresting, thus I wasn't "rooting" for any of them.

Finally, it's really important in the fantasy genre for the author to be able to paint scenes with words, so the reader has a clear image. The author failed miserably in that regard. Often, I was left wondering, "where did that come from?" Also, many of the sentences are awkwardly-formed, with strange placement for dependent clauses.

And at least in the eBook, the dialog isn't split into separate paragraphs (and at the same time intermixed among multiple characters and narrative), so it is sometimes difficult to tell who's speaking.

Oh, and the first 100 pages...almost all narrative.

posted by RedOnion on April 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1788 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 90
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Very Good

    Very good, intriguing, fresh. I read this book(paper back) yrs ago, but wanted a refresher.. it is as good now as it was then. I am anxious to get the whole series.. I enjoy reading on my Nook.. the only thing I miss is the 'smell' of a new book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Exceptional read where there is never a dull moment. In one word

    Exceptional read where there is never a dull moment. In one word...EPIC!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Eye of the world

    Why ramble. The best book i have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    G

    G

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    Phenominal!!

    This book is amazing! If you like Harry Potter, then you will love this. Grade A from beginning to end, you'll feel like you have been transported into this world and given an omniscient (all knowing) point of view. A page turner from beginning to end and with more then 750 pages, you'll never be bored and constantly feel on edge. Whether you're looking for a book to occupy your time or an entire new series to get yourself wrapped up in, you won't regret picking up this book. Endlessly entertaining with a solid plot, it will pick you up and never let you go. The detail that goes into books such as these make them worthy of praise throughout the ages. I feel confused about trying to explain this book exactly to you without giving away any details. I won't give away any details to you. Those must be discovered for yourself. I recommend reading this with a friend or asking others if they have read this book as well. You will gain a lot from conversing with someone else who is truly interested in this book and its rather large series. Be aware that, to my knowledge, there are 12 books in this series. If you are going to become interested in this series, make sure you have an appropriate amount of time to devote to each book. It would be a true shame to read this book without having time to fully analyze it and appreciate the thought and detail that was put into this book by the author. It's a great book, something that anyone could truly appreciate. I find it difficult to believe that anyone could dislike this book. As my friend Andre said "It's just so....GOOD!"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    Book Review

    This book is exactly the kind of thing I'm into. The plot, the action, the dark, mysterious-ness of it. I just love it all! I can never put the book down once I start reading it and I'm really looking forward to the rest of the series all summer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    Not what i expected

    When i bought this book i expected much more. This book is very 1 dimensional. The characters are bland. Unfortunately the other reviews make the book sound like the next LOTR.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Can you say 'Deus Ex Machina'

    For those of you who don't know what that means it is basically a term used when a character is in a situation in which he or she would normally die, yet out of no where they are saved from their horrible fate by 'magic' or really anything for that matter. Yeah so I read this and the second book and I must say this series is a prettey bad in general. Oh it sets up well and you are somewhat excited when you get to the action but then out of no where and I do mean no where something comes and saves the day. Oh after the first time it is ok but on the third and sixth and by the time the twentieth time rolls around you are about ready to gouge your eyeballs out with a spork. Yes I said spork. At least in other books you see the victory over evil coming but in these books it simply comes out of no where and you are left thinking what the hell that was retarded. Also the charcters are so one dimensional its not even funny, and what the hell is the point? Sooo much of it was sooo boring I mean really give me a break. All in all I wish I had that time back to spend on other books like the excellently written A song of Ice and Fire series.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    Best book, best Series I have ever read

    This book starts the greatest series I have ever read. It is very inteligently written and thought out. Robert Jordan gives readers a very highly complex fantasy realm that most writers do not, or cannot give. The Eye of the World is a catalyst for one of the GREATEST EVER fantasy series. It by far surpasses Tolkien, and that of many other contemporary fantasy writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    First off, the rating I give here is for the series, this partic

    First off, the rating I give here is for the series, this particular book gets 4 stars.
    To start with, this series is my all-time favorite book series of all time.  This review I am doing focuses on the series, not the first book.  Anyways, let's begin.
            The plot for the series is INCREDIBLY good! The first book IS confusing due to all of the necessary character introductions and plot development, but once the series gets going the plot develops into (in my personal opinion) into something as, if not more than, rich and complex as "The Game of Thrones".  The story in itself is also gripping, with so many twists and turns you don't know what to expect.
            Secondly, the author's writing style is fantastic.  He describes the scenes so vividly, starting from the general area view and going down to the color of the dress of the lady walking by.  The author weaves a brilliant tapestry of the story in your minds eye, allowing you to experience the story rather than simply read it.
            The characterization in the series is also great.  There isn't a single "cheesy" or "Mary Sue" character in the whole series (and there are a LOT of characters).  The antagonists always seem to have a real reason for their evils, many times disturbingly close to making sense to you, and the protagonists aren't invincible, and have their own dark sides to explore.  And the series never sticks with one main character, but constantly bounces between characters, leaving you to wonder what the others might be doing.
            This series also strikes a beautiful balance between happy and sad, uplifting and depressing.  The "good guys" don't always win here, even when you know they should.  It really keeps you on your toes, never knowing just how the event will turn out.
            Also, the magic and lore in the series is wonderful.  The system and type of magic in the series is rather original and complex, and the lore in the series that the author creates is deep and interesting.
            And finally, this series is HUGE! To get an idea of how huge it is, the average book in this series is around 750 pages.  And there are 14 books, for an astounding 10,500 pages of reading.  Yeah... that ought to keep you busy for a while! And it also allows you get connect more and more with the series and its characters, while sadly ruling out the possibility of movies off of this series :-(. So, what are you waiting for! Get reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Not recomended!!!

    Time and again the characters make obviously stupid decisions, If they are told not to do something they will of course ignore the advice and do it anyway, Happens the entire book, I found the whole thing entirely predictable,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Ninja potty p.ss flush$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ flush me down now people im waiting

    Whats up people dp you like george if you do you must like bob and charly :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Great

    My freinds( who are adults although i am twelve) got me hooked on this seires. They had me read the new spring first because it explains a lot about moriane and lan. They loved this series so much that they named there only child after the golden eyed boy/young man Perrin. Its full of action and adventure. An amazing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Hey

    Suk mike hawk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    DICK

    U SON OF A DICK SON DICK SON DICKSON

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Love this series

    I have loved these books for years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    It didn't keep my interest

    I really wanted to like this series, and I seldom stop reading a book once I've started, but this one I put down. I just did not get engaged with the characters. I felt bored. Maybe because I was so enamored with the Game of Thrones series, and this one just did not measure up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Best series of our time

    A rich world of believeable cultures and unbelievable story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Good read for a variety of ages

    I was pleasantly surprised that the 1st 3 books of this series can be enjoyed by an age range from middle school (high readers) on up. That is a rarity. I'm usually bored by all ages books. Not this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Awesome

    Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1788 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 90