Customer Reviews for

The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1783 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1358)

4 Star

(257)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

a great start to the best fantasy series

even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic stor...
even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic story are unrivaled. from the first paragraph you will find yourself drawn in, and the fleshed out characters will keep you hooked. robert jordan takes a genre that is often not taken seriously and gives it literary credibility. though he pays homage to his predecessors, like tolkien, in some of the imagery used, jordan not only makes the world of fantasy his own, but sets a new standard and quality at which it can be enjoyed. get it.

posted by bryanohio on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

Slow, Poor Plot, Poor Writing

You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the sto...
You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the story. By that I mean there weren't exciting, nail-biting parts in between the slow parts. I kept waiting for something to happen. The last 150 pages completely changed pace and too rapidly (for the pace of the other ~1600 pages) completed the book. It was like the author thought, "well, I've written a lot, now I need to end this book."

I didn't really identify with any of the characters, a rarity for me when reading fantasy, until probably 2/3 of the way through the book, when the nature of a character changed (but not the protagonist). The characters are fairly well-developed, but for me at least, uninteresting, thus I wasn't "rooting" for any of them.

Finally, it's really important in the fantasy genre for the author to be able to paint scenes with words, so the reader has a clear image. The author failed miserably in that regard. Often, I was left wondering, "where did that come from?" Also, many of the sentences are awkwardly-formed, with strange placement for dependent clauses.

And at least in the eBook, the dialog isn't split into separate paragraphs (and at the same time intermixed among multiple characters and narrative), so it is sometimes difficult to tell who's speaking.

Oh, and the first 100 pages...almost all narrative.

posted by RedOnion on April 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1795 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 90
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a great start to the best fantasy series

    even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic story are unrivaled. from the first paragraph you will find yourself drawn in, and the fleshed out characters will keep you hooked. robert jordan takes a genre that is often not taken seriously and gives it literary credibility. though he pays homage to his predecessors, like tolkien, in some of the imagery used, jordan not only makes the world of fantasy his own, but sets a new standard and quality at which it can be enjoyed. get it.

    41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I looooove this world.

    This series of books is one of my all-time go-to regular reads. What I really like about this world Robert Jordan (may the Light illumine him :) made is the women. Usually, fantasy books and hero journeys are Brave Young Men with ancillary women who nurture them, tempt them or occasionally heal and clean up after them. In this series, the women are heroines with equally thrilling arcs and journeys, too. Perfect series to start on vacation or snowbound weekend. Those of you who are re-readers like me, this series, beginning with this book, is a great addition to your stash. The cover art is silly, and I encourage you to ignore it.

    31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Some have criticized the late, great Robert Jordan for being ove

    Some have criticized the late, great Robert Jordan for being overly detailed, unrealistic, and Tolkienesque. The raging popularity of George R.R. Martin has swayed fantasy fans and critics in favor of concision, gritty realism, and complexity. Clearly, that has worked for Martin, and props to him, but there are still a significant amount of us who enjoy a good dose of, well, fun in our fantasy novels. Yes, there is quite a bit of traveling. Yes, there are detailed descriptions of places and events, and detailed, somewhat repetitive descriptions of characters. Yes, a hefty chunk of this novel mirrors LOTR (which was Mr. Jordan's intention). But as one critic smartly put it, Tolkien's influence on fantasy literature (or LOTRature, as I like to call it, hee hee(: ) is so powerful that it is next to impossible to escape the foundations and rudimentary conventions that he laid down. In fact, one runs the risk of looking ridiculous if they really strain themselves trying to avoid following in Tolkien's well-traced footsteps. Robert Jordan, in full awareness, took Tolkien's model, beefed it up, and ran away with it over the course of the eleven novels that he lived to produce. The aspects of WOT that bug some people are utterly delightful to a different group of people (i.e. true fans and fantasy buffs, and not stuffy critics or champions of Martinesque realism).

    Now to the book. This is a long, absorbing, charming read. Rand al-Thor, who calls to memory Luke Skywalker, even if he is not nearly as revolutionary or distinctive, is an acceptable hero, as one honestly desires to watch him grow and mature as the story progresses. Characters like Mat, Perrin, Moiraine, Lan, Egwene, Nynaeve, and Loial all have agendas of their own, and so they are equally fascinating to watch. The story is simple, but charmingly told, and wonderfully evocative, so occasional long, slow stretches are not too terribly distracting. Finishing this book, and seeing the size and number of the other books gives one the wonderful feeling of being in for a long, cozy, and thrilling ride. The writing is great, and anyone who says otherwise is either nitpicking, or lamenting the absence of gratuitous sex scenes, bastards, tyrannical midgets, and graphic, gory battle sequences. Instead, one gets romance (real romance?? Imagine that!!), dashing heroes, dastardly villains, and exciting battles and skirmishes. If you cherish those things, then pick up this book and get lost in this world.

    29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow, Poor Plot, Poor Writing

    You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

    Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the story. By that I mean there weren't exciting, nail-biting parts in between the slow parts. I kept waiting for something to happen. The last 150 pages completely changed pace and too rapidly (for the pace of the other ~1600 pages) completed the book. It was like the author thought, "well, I've written a lot, now I need to end this book."

    I didn't really identify with any of the characters, a rarity for me when reading fantasy, until probably 2/3 of the way through the book, when the nature of a character changed (but not the protagonist). The characters are fairly well-developed, but for me at least, uninteresting, thus I wasn't "rooting" for any of them.

    Finally, it's really important in the fantasy genre for the author to be able to paint scenes with words, so the reader has a clear image. The author failed miserably in that regard. Often, I was left wondering, "where did that come from?" Also, many of the sentences are awkwardly-formed, with strange placement for dependent clauses.

    And at least in the eBook, the dialog isn't split into separate paragraphs (and at the same time intermixed among multiple characters and narrative), so it is sometimes difficult to tell who's speaking.

    Oh, and the first 100 pages...almost all narrative.

    17 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Force your way through the first 100 pages...It is so very worth it!

    The first 100 pages or so are incredibly boring.

    That being said, there are over 8,000 pages in this incredible epic. You know the saying "Be prepared for late nights"

    Well, once you fall into this incredibly complex world, this will be your state for at least a couple of months.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing series all the way through!

    The eye of the world is the beginning of a 12 book series that will end with one last book. The author died before finishing the last one, but gave extensive notes and verbal recordings of the plots and characters for the author who was to finish the series. Another fantasy autor, Brandon Sanderson, will complete this amazing saga. This first book, (not counting the prequel) starts out small, compared to the levels the others reach. That said, it is still a must read for any true fantasy fan. The scope of the characters and plot is enormous throughout the entire story. You will find yourself pulled into the story and wanting to finish all of the wheel of time books.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There are two parts to this review, the quality as an audio book

    There are two parts to this review, the quality as an audio book and the quality as a novel. Luckily both are great. The audio is well recorded and acted. There are two narrators, a male and a female. This works out great because the point of view flips from male to female across chapters.

    This brings up one of the great aspects of this story, great characters. Most stories tend to revolve around a single character, all other characters simply orbiting the main character. There is a main character in Eye of the World, but the other characters have such well developed personalities and goals, you can forget they aren’t the main character.

    The story could be boiled down to a basic prophesied hero story, but due to the characters it is so much more. It is hard to talk about this book with giving anything away. Each event is an integral weave in the entire pattern of the story. I can say that when the characters are in danger I felt tense and when they laugh, I smiled along. Every obstacle I found myself cheering the characters on while at the same time fearing the worst for them.

    It is a rather epic story. It is the first volume in a series of 14. I really can’t wait to dive into the rest of the series.
    Reviewed by Chris for Book Sake.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    Great Book

    When I first picked up this book, it didn't look thrilling or anything like the type of book I would enjoy reading. When I first began reading, it dragged a bit at the start but as the story progressed, so did my enthusiasm to read.

    Some parts of this novel are slow and seem to drag on, but it is still a worthwhile read. I am now on the 3rd book in this series and it seems to be getting better and better as the series goes on.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Jenny Hiatt FDENG 201:41 Spring Semester Book Review Eye of the

    Jenny Hiatt
    FDENG 201:41 Spring Semester
    Book Review
    Eye of the World Review
    The Eye of the World, book one in the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan, follows the story of Rand al'Thor, the son of a farmer in a small town in the Two Rivers country. He and his friends Mat Cauthon, Perrin Aybara, and others are forced to leave their land after a brutal attack by Trollocs, creatures of the Dark One. They journey with a woman, Moiraine, and her Warder, Lan. Moiraine is an Aes Sedai, someone who can wield the One Power to protect or destroy. As they travel they encounter many unexpected dangers. Through it all, it is unclear why Rand and his two best friends have been targeted by the Shadowspawn. But all of them have had disturbing dreams, suggesting that one or all of them are more than what they appear.
    My feelings toward it are mixed, but generally positive. It was an enjoyable, and a surprisingly fast read, considering it was over 800 pages. Overall, I think the book painted a wonderful, imaginative world, one with many more questions than answers. For every puzzles solved of explained, there were plenty of other riddles yet to be explored. It was an excellent setup for the rest of the series.

    The writing, although nothing spectacular, was smooth and never gave me pause or brought me out of the action. The universe seemed very well thought-out and consistent. The idea and interaction of the various creatures and factions created by Jordan were fantastic, and perhaps the most interesting part. The interactions become even more complicated with each new creature you meet, as their kind generally has their own feelings toward all of the factions introduced so far based on their cultural history. It is very well done.

    The fantastical aspects of this story are also very creative and entertaining, although many of them are awfully similar to their corresponding creature from The Lord of the Rings. In addition to that, I found Jordon’s characters to be extremely well written. He has created a group of sympathetic, confused, naive, brave, proud, wrongheaded (sometimes), and very human protagonists. He whisks them away from their comfortable home, a small rural village called Emond's Field, and thrusts them out into an adventure. He makes you like them and root for them and hope that, in the end, all of them make out okay. You wonder if you can really trust Moiraine, the inscrutable Aes Sedai who promises to protect them. You hope that the new friends they make on their journey -- Thom, Elayne, Loial -- also prove to be true. You get involved with them, and really get to know and care about each one.
    Unfortunately, the beginning was, quite frankly, boring. It took too long to get to the inciting incident, and even still I didn't become really interested until perhaps a third to halfway through the novel. Also, the writing is often heavy handed, especially when discussing nature. Jordan’s style is typical of most fantasy writers in that you sometimes wish that they could drop the eloquent description and get to the meat of the issue. In one instance, it took about half a page for Jordan to say, basically, ‘Rand stumbled and almost fell.’ Furthermore, the trite characterization of his "strong female characters" got to be irritating at times.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Amazing story

    This is an amazing series. The characters are dynamic and well developed. The story is captivating. Some of the female characters parts are kind of boring to me, but that is the only negative thing about this series. Blows game of thrones out of the water.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 1999

    Scooter's Opinion!

    The world starts out in full color. Every detail in character and environment is taken into consideration. It's hard not to be able to visualize anything that Jordan writes. He's very graphic in scenery, character, and thankfully emotion. He spares no detail. The plot is straightforward in this one. Kinda like just being put on a path that has no forseen ending. (Hopefully by book 15!) If you like any of the Tolkien or other fantasy writer books, then I urge you to take a good, long look at this here book. I can almost guarantee that you'll be buying the Great Hunt in no time! And thanks for reading Scooter's Opinion! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    The sample was short

    I didn't even get to read the actual 1st chapter. I don't even know if I like it or not. I only got to read the author's notes and that ended on page four. Thanks a lot Barnes n' Noble "not".

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I'm just done

    I have heard great things about "The Wheel of Time" since I can remember, but after 400 pages I'm giving up. Now I'm normally not a quitter, I made it through the fourth book in Game of Thrones and I thought THAT was a slow book, but I'm finally giving up on this. It would be one thing if the story was compelling, then I could get beyond the poor writing, but I've reached the end of my patience. I can only assume that later on in the series the writer finds a groove and the story gets interesting and that's what all the hype is about, but regretfully I'm not sticking around. You lost me at "slowly his breathing slowed". Really?

    I'm very disappointed. $9 is too much to pay for this. Two stars for some original thoughts about magic use in a culture that fears it. Really wanted this to go somewhere. Bummer.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Bhshs s b Fvvbvccgfgggsgsbhnjnjjjcjjjejfjfjjjjyfgfdfheulijucjjjjdfnjnnjjjjjjnjjkjjjjj

    BhyjhdjgthfjjhhhfregyyhhdbdndggbgghGgggggvhgggvvggfdddxxdxdffffdesdddwdwZ

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Just go buy it, you'll never find it's better!

    I am quite a picky fantasy-fiction reader, and this book (and the whole series) has worsened that condition tremendously. I’ve read Tolkien, and for people to call Jordan Tolkienesque is an insult to Tolkien as Jordan blows his work out of the water. He didn’t carry on Tolkien’s work, he created a new and invigorating work which is unparalleled. (for you Tolkien fans out there, sorry for the extreme sacrilege :)
    I have read this book every year for the past 10 years and it still hasn’t gotten old. It’s the only book I’ve been able to do that with as I can’t seem to forget things I read. However, knowing exactly what will take place barely denigrates the book as it is a master work from a master of fiction…The Master of Fiction: Robert {freaking} Jordan!
    Get the book…seriously…stop what you’re doing and buy it…NOW!
    …I’ll be watching to make sure you do so…

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Greatness

    I started reading this series when I was 15 and finally it has come to a conclusin and I'm now 35... and I absolutely loved it so much that I have read all 14 books 3 times! It gets better every time!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    Why torture children?

    I was enjoying the story until I read a thousand pages dedicated to terrifying and torturing children. I have read 2400 pages of the e-book and they are still being tortured. I think I will skip to the end. There are wonderful characters in the story like Moraine and the Warder and Thom and many others. Just too much time and emphasis on terrifying the youngsters for my taste.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Worst Sample Ever

    4 pages of reviews instead of a single sentence from the story? Pretty disappointed, moving on.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Free sample 4 pages?

    Why is this? No chance in heck will i spend money on a non-tangible 'book' when the free sample doesnt even let me read anything at all. It doesnt even get to the table of contents. Barnes and Noble really dropped the ball here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    What a great book

    Even second time around it feels fresh as ever can't wait to read the great hunt!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1795 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 90