Customer Reviews for

The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1781 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1357)

4 Star

(256)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

a great start to the best fantasy series

even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic stor...
even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic story are unrivaled. from the first paragraph you will find yourself drawn in, and the fleshed out characters will keep you hooked. robert jordan takes a genre that is often not taken seriously and gives it literary credibility. though he pays homage to his predecessors, like tolkien, in some of the imagery used, jordan not only makes the world of fantasy his own, but sets a new standard and quality at which it can be enjoyed. get it.

posted by bryanohio on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

Slow, Poor Plot, Poor Writing

You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the sto...
You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the story. By that I mean there weren't exciting, nail-biting parts in between the slow parts. I kept waiting for something to happen. The last 150 pages completely changed pace and too rapidly (for the pace of the other ~1600 pages) completed the book. It was like the author thought, "well, I've written a lot, now I need to end this book."

I didn't really identify with any of the characters, a rarity for me when reading fantasy, until probably 2/3 of the way through the book, when the nature of a character changed (but not the protagonist). The characters are fairly well-developed, but for me at least, uninteresting, thus I wasn't "rooting" for any of them.

Finally, it's really important in the fantasy genre for the author to be able to paint scenes with words, so the reader has a clear image. The author failed miserably in that regard. Often, I was left wondering, "where did that come from?" Also, many of the sentences are awkwardly-formed, with strange placement for dependent clauses.

And at least in the eBook, the dialog isn't split into separate paragraphs (and at the same time intermixed among multiple characters and narrative), so it is sometimes difficult to tell who's speaking.

Oh, and the first 100 pages...almost all narrative.

posted by RedOnion on April 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Is it for kids?

    V

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Okay

    While the world Jordan built is impressive and very detailed, I never felt attatched to the characters. They became more annoying as the story continued and I found myself wanting them and their thoughts to cease. I actually enjoyed the parts that didn't have character dialogue and interaction. I'm fine with ending this series with this book as it gave me plenty of backstory and a good peek into this world. Let the trio do what they must, I'm not interested in joining them on their journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    The descriptive writing of the world Jordan creates is very good

    The descriptive writing of the world Jordan creates is very good, but it is hindered by a droning pace that tends to get repetitive. There's nothing wrong with a lengthy book, but The Eye of the World's length doesn't warrant it's length. Especially considering there's 10+ books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Nicely imagined world but a bit of a slog to get through

    Just a little tedious and long winded, characters are simplistic but the world imagined is pretty great. I will likely read the next in the series but need some time to muster the energy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Not Entirely Sold

    Everyone has been telling me that this is the series to read. I'm 4 books into Game Of Thrones / Song of Ice & Fire and they are hand's down a cut above the writing here, both in terms of plot, implication and sheer writing. This is interesting enough to get me through several hundred pages, but not enough to make me look forward to reading several more of them. That said, it wouldn't be the first series I've read that was a little slow to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Just Finished This - I Enjoyed It for the Most Part

    Just finished Eye of the World, with mixed thoughts. Some of the characters become your friends, and this writing style made it a slow read for me. This made me want to read every night - to see what my friends were up to.

    I agree with others though, the travelling got monotonous and drug out too long. I found myself saying "get there already!" Worth a read if you are ok grinding through this stuff. After hearing other people say this is the slowest in the series I'll probably give the next book a try, but not until I've had a few, quicker books to give me a break.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    potential to be a good series

    I'm a new arrival to this writers work. I think this was one of the writer's first books. I like a wide variety of books including urban fantasy and world building books that have good character development, and that move at a fairly fast pace.

    I liked the characters in the book early on and found the plot interesting. My biggest complaint was there seemed to be pages and pages in which nothing was happening in regards to the main story. Those parts of the story added little in terms of cleverness, humor, or character development. I had to force myself to keep reading. This is not what I want to have to do when I read.

    Having said that I understand this was one of the writers first books, and I think this is a long series- so maybe the slow bits get better as the writer develops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    A slow start but overall good

    Good Points
    It's obvious that mr. Jordan was an EXCELLENT writer. His description is great and most of the dialogue is really good.

    I'm pulling for most of the characters and really want to know what happens to them.

    Bad Points
    Is it me or is does this book have almost the same plot as fellowship of the ring by JR Tolkein? Scary guy in black cape chasing the MC who is a country farm boy that gets tossed into an adventure... I mean I know that the rest of the series is different so I'm trying to look past this, but it irks me a little.

    Also, it's a touch slow... I feel like there are a ton of cool subplots that Jordan wants to let us in on so he cooks up these conversations so he can drop hints about it. I feel like he could've just let them happen more organically. That said, i've only read the first book so we'll see how the rest goes...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's Good.

    It's a good book. Not great. Pace of the beginning is slow, picks up in the middle, and then the end is very fast. Has common themes and conventions found in fantasy novels of the 70's and 80's. Nothing novel but a good read overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    idk

    idk about the book, but i would like to read this series but dnt rlly want to spend the money. Does neone know how to use the lendme thing?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Slow and too many details

    Don't get me wrong this isn't a bad book but there's not that much action and it takes a while to get going. There's too many details for me b/c I would rather imagine what everything is like rather than get bored w/ Jordan explaining it all to me. It's a good story about some farmboys who get whisked away from their smalltown and farms to see the rest of the world and are destine to save the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Interesting to Say the Least

    I found this book series after searching through the local bookstore, I had just gotten finished reading a Tolkien book and I guess I wanted more fantasy material. Well, I saw this book on the shelf and thought it looked interesting, so I bought it. Did I enjoy the book? Yes. Would I go back and read it again? Probably not. It was a good book and had some interesting characters and events it alluded to, but, it wasn't what I was used to and not what I expected. This book is painstakingly long, yes, but for a Tolkien fan length doesn't matter as long as the story is told and is told well. Overall the book was okay, but not something I was thrilled with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2005

    Not a Bad Read

    I had this book recommended to me several times, so I finally bought it and tried it out. It has a good plot and some really fun characters. In fact, it has a REALLY good plot. It was just a little long, even for me, and I'm a first-class bookworm! I enjoyed it, don't get me wrong, but by the time I was finished it was like 'Finally!' I even went so far as to buy the second book in the series. My science teacher was thrilled with it, but most kids just thought it was pretty good. You might as well read it. You can't go wrong with best-sellers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Hard to Get Into Until the Very end

    It was a very good book but from the start I just wanted to put it down. I was happy when it was over but right at the end it makes you want to read the rest. If you can make it through you will love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2003

    Too long and too boring

    To long and hard to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2002

    Only missing Hobbits

    If you liked the Lord of the Rings, you will enjoy the Eye of the World, because it is a blatant plagiarism of JRR Tolkien's trilogy. The story is good in itself (if long winded and slow at times) but the parallels between the country bumpkins being destined to battle the big, scary dark force and going on a long, tiresome journey while being pursued by fades (dark riders) and trollocs (orcs) was enough to make me outraged on Tolkien's behalf. The only differences are the addition of a female aspect (love interests and powerful female characters) and the sad lack of the charm and banter of the hobbits. If you're looking for a good read, check out Lord of the Rings instead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Mediocre book starts off great series

    This book wasn't that good but it introduced all the necessary characters for what is otherwise an excellent series. But I highly recommend the series so get this book and get started!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    Confusing

    This book is very hard to explain, the entire book is packed full of references to the Dragon. The whole legend of the Dragon thing is really confusing until the end. The adventure seemed really slow at times. It made me put the book down several times. This book becomes a rewarding experience only after reading the next several books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5