Customer Reviews for

The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1799 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1369)

4 Star

(260)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

a great start to the best fantasy series

even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic stor...
even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic story are unrivaled. from the first paragraph you will find yourself drawn in, and the fleshed out characters will keep you hooked. robert jordan takes a genre that is often not taken seriously and gives it literary credibility. though he pays homage to his predecessors, like tolkien, in some of the imagery used, jordan not only makes the world of fantasy his own, but sets a new standard and quality at which it can be enjoyed. get it.

posted by bryanohio on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Slow, Poor Plot, Poor Writing

You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the sto...
You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the story. By that I mean there weren't exciting, nail-biting parts in between the slow parts. I kept waiting for something to happen. The last 150 pages completely changed pace and too rapidly (for the pace of the other ~1600 pages) completed the book. It was like the author thought, "well, I've written a lot, now I need to end this book."

I didn't really identify with any of the characters, a rarity for me when reading fantasy, until probably 2/3 of the way through the book, when the nature of a character changed (but not the protagonist). The characters are fairly well-developed, but for me at least, uninteresting, thus I wasn't "rooting" for any of them.

Finally, it's really important in the fantasy genre for the author to be able to paint scenes with words, so the reader has a clear image. The author failed miserably in that regard. Often, I was left wondering, "where did that come from?" Also, many of the sentences are awkwardly-formed, with strange placement for dependent clauses.

And at least in the eBook, the dialog isn't split into separate paragraphs (and at the same time intermixed among multiple characters and narrative), so it is sometimes difficult to tell who's speaking.

Oh, and the first 100 pages...almost all narrative.

posted by RedOnion on April 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 260 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fantastic Start

    I picked up book one after multiple recommendations. I became glued to the series. Grateful that the nook has this series, as now I can ship back the other 12 books and not have to carry them all over Afghanistan like I have been doing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful characters and storytelling

    This was my second time through The Eye of the World. The last time was close to when it first came out. The world Robert Jordan creates is well done but his characters and story telling shown through the most. The beginning of the book starts out exciting then slows slightly however from the halfway point to the end hold on because it becomes increasingly hard to put down. I plan to comtinue reading this series unlike the last time where I caught up to the realeases and never stayed with it. Happy reading, Roc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Fantastic

    When I first found Eye of the World I was skeptical, I didnt know much about it and judged it by it's cover (literally, I didn't like the cover). When I first started it though, I was hooked, the way Jordan described his characters and the world he created is what caught me. New characters sprang up every few chapters and then disappeared just as fast, this to me helped to portray the world as an actual world, not just a book about a few protagonists. During the middle of the book, the length of the book got to me. There were a few chapters that I found irritating to get through because I was too interested in the main story. I throughly enjoyed the book overall and Im looking forward to reading more of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The book that started it all!

    I was recommended this a couple years ago and decided to try it. Although I was bored by the first 50 pages, it soon picked up. I'm far into the series now, and it justs gets richer and richer.This book led me onto the greatest series I have EVER read in my life. NO KIDDING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    The amorphous progeny of LOTR? I think so

    I find that this book is excellent, but also an amorphous clone - although well-deserving of its own singularity - of Tolkien's work. The Wheel of Time definitely presents an interesting theology and miniuniverse likened to Tolkien's visions of Good and Evil, fantastical and horror aspects, and - although few probably caught this: similar apocalyptic visions. Too similar: in Jordan's work, the main character will cause a 'breaking' that reshapes the entire planet. Unbeknownst to some, in Tolkien's Silmarillion, the Apocalyptic story also had a 'breaking' or 'reshaping' of the world's continents, etc. As there are obvious similarities in Aragorn and Rand as both being unwilling heirs to an awesome legacy, relationships between important female characters, and bonds built by friends of a foreign race, (hrmm....) Jordan manages to avoid plagiarism by developing a society very unlike that of Tolkien's mythology. For instance, the providence of women in sociocultural affairs, and the feminist's lovely jest: all the men who use the One Power go crazy, quite unlike the women. Similarities aside, Jordan establishes many interesting cultures, but also portrays some of Tar Valon's most important characters as being unwittingly mediocre and immature. I'd hate to have them as the saviors of our worlds! They are definitely Archetypical cliches which somehow interest me, if not for their unwillingness and unrealistic personal vendettas and romances. This, in fact, could be the very first Epic Fantasy soap opera I've read, although Terry Goodkind's Sword of Truth series screams 'Medieval 'Young and the Restless!' I like his development of the many societies in his world, namely Children of the Light, Trollocs - cheap Troll knockoffs obviously, but cool anyway - and the Tinkers. His battle scenes, while filled with hectic action, leave something to be desired when he uses confusing descriptive text without explicitly describing what happens: Boar rushes the mountain, etc. While this urgency is merited for tension, it loses its flavor in that these vital scenes often leave the reader with a 'fill-in-the-blanks' approach to amend this botchiness. His details describing the One Power and its usage are very interesting, and his ideas of the Wheel of Time - while not totally original - are quite mystical and provacative. There are places one's mind will travel in this story that hearken of Tolkien's style greatly, and one must admit from the borderline unoriginal language involved, ('Ba'alzamon' sounds too biblical to me...) that while the work surpasses criticism as fascinating if not peculiar, it cannot separate itself from many of the concepts inspired through Tolkien's masterpiece. Three point five stars- I wish the rating system were more rigorous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    A stronger fantasy title.

    I greatly enjoyed this book. It has everything a traditional fantasy title has- magic, adventure, and all that great stuff- and more. My favorite part of the book was the beginning, with the best chapter being (I believe it's called) 'The Winternight'. It has the traditional modest beginnings, mysterious happenings, and the event(s) that leads to the beginning of an adventure, all written with a unique style that really takes you in. I give it four stars instead of five because sometimes it can go a while without any real action. My favorite character was Perrin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Very Impressive

    This is one of the best books in the series (Books 2, 3, and 4 are better). I'ts not Tolkien, I know, but it's still worth a try. The book is $8.00 well spent, and entertaining to the end. The only thing that makes it 4 stars is the first opening chapters. But keep reading! You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    My Review

    I liked it for the most part, but it isn't good enough to get five stars from me, the part where Rand kills Aginor, one of the Forsaken, was probably the best part of the book, the climax, from there on out it was not nearly as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Very Enjoyable

    The Eye of the World creates new depth and excitement which many other books lack. It holds a great deal of anticipation that leaves you wanting more. I greatly enjoyed reading this book and hope to read the entire series of The Wheel of Time. The book was thrilling and kept me entertained. I enjoyed all of the characters and the role they played throughout the entire book. Although the book is fairly long in length, the content makes up for it. There were points where I did not quite understand what was being said and what was meant by it, but I suggest continuing reading because further in the book things will slowly define themselves. Like most other books, the beginning is a slow process. But if you continue to read through it, it begins to take shape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    Better than average

    I don¿t normally read fantasy adventure. One of the criticisms that I¿ve read from the other reviews is that Jordan borrowed heavily (some say that he stole) from Tolkien. Since I haven¿t read Tolkien I wouldn¿t know. I do know that every writer, including myself, has been inspired by someone. Jordan has obviously been inspired by Tolkien. I started reading The eye of the World upon the recommendation of a friend. I¿m going to give it four stars. In my way of thinking a three star book is average. The Eye of the World is better than average. When I got to the end it left me wanting to read the second book. I¿m not going to give it a five star because I found the first few chapters a little slow. Being a writer myself I understood that Jordan had to ¿set the stage¿ for this civilization that was unknown to me, therefore I was willing to wade through it. I¿m glad that I did. At first I was able to put it down and come back to it a few days later. However, by the time I got to the middle of the story I was hooked and I was anxious to find out what happens next. I have finished the second book in the series and I plan on reading the third. When all is said and done I do recommend it to anyone who enjoys fantasy adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    When 'WoT' was actually exciting...

    Re-reading this book after many years, I feel sadness more than anything. This was the first fantasy series I had ever taken a gander at, and I remember how excited I was reading this the first time through. This volume stands on its own and I highly recommend it....I could also recommend books 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6....except that RJ has allowed this saga to carry on interminably. Book 7 begins the big downward spiral and has not recovered since. As many former fans have asked....'WHY??' Oh well....the only negative I can attach to the review of Book One is that the climax involving said 'Eye of the World' makes no sense and is never mentioned again in future volumes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    opening book

    This book got off slow, but really picks up at the end and is a great first book to a fantastic series. Currently there are 12 books in series (well 11, prequel and # 11 comes out in Oct.) Remember it is a long series so the characters have plenty of time to grow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Great book but confused

    I just got finished reading this book and it was great. I got a question thought. I was looking to pick up the other books in this series when I can across two books entitled 'From The Two Rivers.' part 1 and 2 and I wanted to know if those were prequels or what?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    You have to read this

    EotW is a fantastic book. The start is slow but Jordan makes up for it by developing an extremely complex culture and a mass group of characters that draws you in to the immensity of the Wheel of Time project. One down side to the book is the extreme amount of description that is used ¿ so much that some of it is unnecessary. I found myself floating in and out of concentration at certain points. But that is really the only major thing that I have wrong with this book. The plot is steeped in a developed history and the characters are very believable and some `good guys¿ are just not likeable no matter how much you may want. You go through the book with a certain measure of distrust of most of the characters which is created by the general personality of the cultures that clash in this book. The story builds slowly and leaves lots of windows with other questions that you will crave for an answer. Enjoy this book. I did and am moving onto the next book ¿ The Great Hunt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    Hooks you by chapter 5

    I first came by these series while in Books-A-Million while searching for a book that wasn't carried. (I did however find the book in Barnes and Noble). I started reading the book that night and was hooked by the next morning. You meet Rand al'Thor who saves his father from Trollocs,a half animal have human species, and then finds out he can't help get help for his father. So, he gets a beautiful but dangerous Aes Sedai named Moiraine to help him. The next thing you know, he his two friends Mat and Perrin, a gleeman, and his crush Egwene are being chased away. Its an awsume introduction to this series and I persuade you to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    Awesome!

    This is one of the most awesome books I have ever read! When I read it, it felt like the story was real, actually happening. I wish it could! I feel kind of sorry for Rand, and I wish Egwene was okay for him, I guess it kind of creates conflit if she isn't, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Wow! Loveing it!

    At first it was like, non-intersting, then bang! You were drawn into the story. I love how he describes it all. I love his characters! I love all the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    great read!!!!!!!!!

    an awsome book. jordan weaves a story that is sure to interest any fantasy reader. the characters have distinct personalities and make the story flow. still dosen't top the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    Impressive book, captivating!

    I opened the book with skepticism, thinking it may turn out to be a poor Tolkien knock-off; but, I closed the book with a completely different opinion. Although there are a few valid comparisons, the story is unique and grabs you quickly, and the characters have far more personality and emotion than does Tolkien. I enjoyed the much needed power and presence of the female characters, something almost completely absent in Tolkien. I forgot any assumptions I may have had pretty quick! I am very impressed with the book, and I can't wait to open the 2nd one (with very different assumptions this time!) Hats off to R. Jordan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    Some of the best epic fantasy to date.

    Hats off to Robert Jordan for this great peice of literature. This book takes you on a grand adventure from Emond's Field to Tar Valon. I could go on and on about how good it is but there are some things that bug me about this book. The first thing is how much Jordan borrows from J.R.R.T. A young man from a little town who daydreams about adventures. You can link Frodo to Rand. Mat and Perrin sound like Pippin and Merry. The Dark One wants the three of them. In LOTR's Saruon wanted the ring. They are both on a mountain, the Dark One sounds like Sauron. Then a wizard/aes sedai shows up to protect them. Moirane Sedai sounds like Gandalf the Grey. Lan the Warder who is some sort of king sounds like Strider/Aragorn the Ranger who is also a king! Trollocs and Orcs?, whats the difference. I had to keep telling myself that Rand and his pals weren't hobbits! I'm just waiting for Legolas and Gimli to show up! The women in this story are all annoying. The one honest woman (Moiraine Sedai) always gets the shaft from the annoying women. As for the men, now I'm a very paraniod person, but, not everyone is out to stab you in the back! They are always looking over there shoulders. They don't seem to want to trust anyone. I no I've made this book out to be bad but once you get past how much Jordan borrows the book will hook you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 260 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13