Customer Reviews for

The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1793 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1365)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

a great start to the best fantasy series

even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic stor...
even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic story are unrivaled. from the first paragraph you will find yourself drawn in, and the fleshed out characters will keep you hooked. robert jordan takes a genre that is often not taken seriously and gives it literary credibility. though he pays homage to his predecessors, like tolkien, in some of the imagery used, jordan not only makes the world of fantasy his own, but sets a new standard and quality at which it can be enjoyed. get it.

posted by bryanohio on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Slow, Poor Plot, Poor Writing

You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the sto...
You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the story. By that I mean there weren't exciting, nail-biting parts in between the slow parts. I kept waiting for something to happen. The last 150 pages completely changed pace and too rapidly (for the pace of the other ~1600 pages) completed the book. It was like the author thought, "well, I've written a lot, now I need to end this book."

I didn't really identify with any of the characters, a rarity for me when reading fantasy, until probably 2/3 of the way through the book, when the nature of a character changed (but not the protagonist). The characters are fairly well-developed, but for me at least, uninteresting, thus I wasn't "rooting" for any of them.

Finally, it's really important in the fantasy genre for the author to be able to paint scenes with words, so the reader has a clear image. The author failed miserably in that regard. Often, I was left wondering, "where did that come from?" Also, many of the sentences are awkwardly-formed, with strange placement for dependent clauses.

And at least in the eBook, the dialog isn't split into separate paragraphs (and at the same time intermixed among multiple characters and narrative), so it is sometimes difficult to tell who's speaking.

Oh, and the first 100 pages...almost all narrative.

posted by RedOnion on April 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1365 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 69
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a great start to the best fantasy series

    even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic story are unrivaled. from the first paragraph you will find yourself drawn in, and the fleshed out characters will keep you hooked. robert jordan takes a genre that is often not taken seriously and gives it literary credibility. though he pays homage to his predecessors, like tolkien, in some of the imagery used, jordan not only makes the world of fantasy his own, but sets a new standard and quality at which it can be enjoyed. get it.

    41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Force your way through the first 100 pages...It is so very worth it!

    The first 100 pages or so are incredibly boring.

    That being said, there are over 8,000 pages in this incredible epic. You know the saying "Be prepared for late nights"

    Well, once you fall into this incredibly complex world, this will be your state for at least a couple of months.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing series all the way through!

    The eye of the world is the beginning of a 12 book series that will end with one last book. The author died before finishing the last one, but gave extensive notes and verbal recordings of the plots and characters for the author who was to finish the series. Another fantasy autor, Brandon Sanderson, will complete this amazing saga. This first book, (not counting the prequel) starts out small, compared to the levels the others reach. That said, it is still a must read for any true fantasy fan. The scope of the characters and plot is enormous throughout the entire story. You will find yourself pulled into the story and wanting to finish all of the wheel of time books.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There are two parts to this review, the quality as an audio book

    There are two parts to this review, the quality as an audio book and the quality as a novel. Luckily both are great. The audio is well recorded and acted. There are two narrators, a male and a female. This works out great because the point of view flips from male to female across chapters.

    This brings up one of the great aspects of this story, great characters. Most stories tend to revolve around a single character, all other characters simply orbiting the main character. There is a main character in Eye of the World, but the other characters have such well developed personalities and goals, you can forget they aren’t the main character.

    The story could be boiled down to a basic prophesied hero story, but due to the characters it is so much more. It is hard to talk about this book with giving anything away. Each event is an integral weave in the entire pattern of the story. I can say that when the characters are in danger I felt tense and when they laugh, I smiled along. Every obstacle I found myself cheering the characters on while at the same time fearing the worst for them.

    It is a rather epic story. It is the first volume in a series of 14. I really can’t wait to dive into the rest of the series.
    Reviewed by Chris for Book Sake.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    Great Book

    When I first picked up this book, it didn't look thrilling or anything like the type of book I would enjoy reading. When I first began reading, it dragged a bit at the start but as the story progressed, so did my enthusiasm to read.

    Some parts of this novel are slow and seem to drag on, but it is still a worthwhile read. I am now on the 3rd book in this series and it seems to be getting better and better as the series goes on.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Amazing story

    This is an amazing series. The characters are dynamic and well developed. The story is captivating. Some of the female characters parts are kind of boring to me, but that is the only negative thing about this series. Blows game of thrones out of the water.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Bhshs s b Fvvbvccgfgggsgsbhnjnjjjcjjjejfjfjjjjyfgfdfheulijucjjjjdfnjnnjjjjjjnjjkjjjjj

    BhyjhdjgthfjjhhhfregyyhhdbdndggbgghGgggggvhgggvvggfdddxxdxdffffdesdddwdwZ

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Just go buy it, you'll never find it's better!

    I am quite a picky fantasy-fiction reader, and this book (and the whole series) has worsened that condition tremendously. I’ve read Tolkien, and for people to call Jordan Tolkienesque is an insult to Tolkien as Jordan blows his work out of the water. He didn’t carry on Tolkien’s work, he created a new and invigorating work which is unparalleled. (for you Tolkien fans out there, sorry for the extreme sacrilege :)
    I have read this book every year for the past 10 years and it still hasn’t gotten old. It’s the only book I’ve been able to do that with as I can’t seem to forget things I read. However, knowing exactly what will take place barely denigrates the book as it is a master work from a master of fiction…The Master of Fiction: Robert {freaking} Jordan!
    Get the book…seriously…stop what you’re doing and buy it…NOW!
    …I’ll be watching to make sure you do so…

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Greatness

    I started reading this series when I was 15 and finally it has come to a conclusin and I'm now 35... and I absolutely loved it so much that I have read all 14 books 3 times! It gets better every time!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    What a great book

    Even second time around it feels fresh as ever can't wait to read the great hunt!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A spectacular Novel interpreted into eBook format

    I was introduced to Wheel of Time by a fellow student back in 7th Grade in Ada, Ohio. I picked a copy of The Eye of the World up later and couldn't put it down. It is now almost ten years later and I still love this book series by Robert Jordan.

    To describe the Wheel of Time, one should use references to famous fantasy authors like (Obviously) JRR Tolkein, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Brian Jacques, CS Lewis, L Frank Baum, Terry Brooks, Terry Goodkind, and Stephen King. An epic hero's journey through a vibrant and realistic magical world, The Eye of the World is a fun novel to read. It is, much Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth has been called by critics, 'A Faerie Tale for Grownups.'

    The style of Robert Jordan is similar to Tolkein, but it also has a feel of a traditional Michener and Stephen King's Dark Tower saga mixed in. It is a tad bit bloody and darker than Lord of the Rings, though, and the dialogue is almost Shakespearean at times. Also, the main character, Rand al'Thor, is more than a bit whiny, sometimes an idiot, and at most times, a pathetic loser who has trouble seeing the big picture.

    Aside from that point, the Eye of the World is a wonderful addition to anyone's library, whether it is on a Nook, iPad, Kindle, or a real Bookshelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Though it feels almost slow in starting, this book quickly takes

    Though it feels almost slow in starting, this book quickly takes off, pulling you into the colorful and thoroughly fleshed world of The Wheel of Time series. This book sets the stage for a beautifully crafted tale of majestic and wonderful scope, full of diverse and creative characters. I am almost on the 9th book now, and I would definitely say that there is no way I'm turning back! After having been thoroughly disappointed by George R. R. Martin's series, A Game of Thrones, and quitting the series, I was going into severe withdrawal. At the behest of several friend and family members, I, thank the Light, finally took up The Eye of the World, entering into a world of awesome scope. The only thing I regret is that the series will one day come to an end, when I read A Memory of Light. However... there is always the option of re-reading! In the words of my personal favorite incarnation of The Doctor, David Tennant, "Allons-y!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Very Good

    Very good, intriguing, fresh. I read this book(paper back) yrs ago, but wanted a refresher.. it is as good now as it was then. I am anxious to get the whole series.. I enjoy reading on my Nook.. the only thing I miss is the 'smell' of a new book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Exceptional read where there is never a dull moment. In one word

    Exceptional read where there is never a dull moment. In one word...EPIC!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Eye of the world

    Why ramble. The best book i have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    G

    G

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    Phenominal!!

    This book is amazing! If you like Harry Potter, then you will love this. Grade A from beginning to end, you'll feel like you have been transported into this world and given an omniscient (all knowing) point of view. A page turner from beginning to end and with more then 750 pages, you'll never be bored and constantly feel on edge. Whether you're looking for a book to occupy your time or an entire new series to get yourself wrapped up in, you won't regret picking up this book. Endlessly entertaining with a solid plot, it will pick you up and never let you go. The detail that goes into books such as these make them worthy of praise throughout the ages. I feel confused about trying to explain this book exactly to you without giving away any details. I won't give away any details to you. Those must be discovered for yourself. I recommend reading this with a friend or asking others if they have read this book as well. You will gain a lot from conversing with someone else who is truly interested in this book and its rather large series. Be aware that, to my knowledge, there are 12 books in this series. If you are going to become interested in this series, make sure you have an appropriate amount of time to devote to each book. It would be a true shame to read this book without having time to fully analyze it and appreciate the thought and detail that was put into this book by the author. It's a great book, something that anyone could truly appreciate. I find it difficult to believe that anyone could dislike this book. As my friend Andre said "It's just so....GOOD!"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    Book Review

    This book is exactly the kind of thing I'm into. The plot, the action, the dark, mysterious-ness of it. I just love it all! I can never put the book down once I start reading it and I'm really looking forward to the rest of the series all summer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    Best book, best Series I have ever read

    This book starts the greatest series I have ever read. It is very inteligently written and thought out. Robert Jordan gives readers a very highly complex fantasy realm that most writers do not, or cannot give. The Eye of the World is a catalyst for one of the GREATEST EVER fantasy series. It by far surpasses Tolkien, and that of many other contemporary fantasy writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Great start

    I love this series and this book is why. A great start to a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1365 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 69