Customer Reviews for

The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1801 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1371)

4 Star

(260)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

a great start to the best fantasy series

even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic stor...
even if you do not read another book in the wheel of time series, the eye of the world is quite satisfying as a self contained masterpiece as well. that being said, read the whole series! you will not regret it. the sweeping scope, masterful writing style, and epic story are unrivaled. from the first paragraph you will find yourself drawn in, and the fleshed out characters will keep you hooked. robert jordan takes a genre that is often not taken seriously and gives it literary credibility. though he pays homage to his predecessors, like tolkien, in some of the imagery used, jordan not only makes the world of fantasy his own, but sets a new standard and quality at which it can be enjoyed. get it.

posted by bryanohio on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Slow, Poor Plot, Poor Writing

You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the sto...
You may have seen "the first 100 pages are slow" in another review. The first 1550 pages of the 1847-page eBook are slow.

Nothing really happens, it's really a basic tale of a journey from here to there with people chasing you. Further, there was no rhythm to the story. By that I mean there weren't exciting, nail-biting parts in between the slow parts. I kept waiting for something to happen. The last 150 pages completely changed pace and too rapidly (for the pace of the other ~1600 pages) completed the book. It was like the author thought, "well, I've written a lot, now I need to end this book."

I didn't really identify with any of the characters, a rarity for me when reading fantasy, until probably 2/3 of the way through the book, when the nature of a character changed (but not the protagonist). The characters are fairly well-developed, but for me at least, uninteresting, thus I wasn't "rooting" for any of them.

Finally, it's really important in the fantasy genre for the author to be able to paint scenes with words, so the reader has a clear image. The author failed miserably in that regard. Often, I was left wondering, "where did that come from?" Also, many of the sentences are awkwardly-formed, with strange placement for dependent clauses.

And at least in the eBook, the dialog isn't split into separate paragraphs (and at the same time intermixed among multiple characters and narrative), so it is sometimes difficult to tell who's speaking.

Oh, and the first 100 pages...almost all narrative.

posted by RedOnion on April 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1371 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 69
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    Super awesome

    I loved this book its so goooooood:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Great start

    I love this series and this book is why. A great start to a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    ?

    You people are giving up on the sample!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Since the mid/late 90s I've always been drawn to Robert Jordan's

    Since the mid/late 90s I've always been drawn to Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series because of Darrell K. Sweet's distinctive cover art that has set the series apart from other fantasy titles. It wasn't until recently that I decided to look inside those covers, but after reading The Eye of the World I wish I had sooner.

    The slow-to-moderate pace at the beginning of the book by Jordan shows the layback lifestyle of the Two Rivers region of his world where the majority of his characters come from. Once the action hits the road, the action picks up to a furious pace that only relaxes when the group comes to rest at towns that grow progressively larger. When the group is forced to split up, Jordan takes the opportunity to give an enlarged view of the world he's created as well as give better character development as the narration expanded from just one character's point-of-view to three.

    Throughout the story, from the prologue to the climax, the significance and use of magical "One Power" is expanded upon by Jordan as well as it's implications. Those implications result in how characters interaction with one another, especially when it comes to gender roles compared to other fantasy stories. And the end of the book these implications of the use of the One Power provide set up for future books.

    One last point is how Jordan misdirects who the ultimate villian(s) are at the climax of the book, including during the book's end game. Several aspects of the evil side of Jordan's world were exposed, though not explored in-depth, but well enough to give the reader a sense of what the protagonists are up against.

    On it's own The Eye of the World is a great story. But as the first book in what will turn out to be a 14 book series, it's introduce just enough to want you to come back to see what else will happen. Like I've in the title and first paragraph, I should have read this book sooner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    First off, the rating I give here is for the series, this partic

    First off, the rating I give here is for the series, this particular book gets 4 stars.
    To start with, this series is my all-time favorite book series of all time.  This review I am doing focuses on the series, not the first book.  Anyways, let's begin.
            The plot for the series is INCREDIBLY good! The first book IS confusing due to all of the necessary character introductions and plot development, but once the series gets going the plot develops into (in my personal opinion) into something as, if not more than, rich and complex as "The Game of Thrones".  The story in itself is also gripping, with so many twists and turns you don't know what to expect.
            Secondly, the author's writing style is fantastic.  He describes the scenes so vividly, starting from the general area view and going down to the color of the dress of the lady walking by.  The author weaves a brilliant tapestry of the story in your minds eye, allowing you to experience the story rather than simply read it.
            The characterization in the series is also great.  There isn't a single "cheesy" or "Mary Sue" character in the whole series (and there are a LOT of characters).  The antagonists always seem to have a real reason for their evils, many times disturbingly close to making sense to you, and the protagonists aren't invincible, and have their own dark sides to explore.  And the series never sticks with one main character, but constantly bounces between characters, leaving you to wonder what the others might be doing.
            This series also strikes a beautiful balance between happy and sad, uplifting and depressing.  The "good guys" don't always win here, even when you know they should.  It really keeps you on your toes, never knowing just how the event will turn out.
            Also, the magic and lore in the series is wonderful.  The system and type of magic in the series is rather original and complex, and the lore in the series that the author creates is deep and interesting.
            And finally, this series is HUGE! To get an idea of how huge it is, the average book in this series is around 750 pages.  And there are 14 books, for an astounding 10,500 pages of reading.  Yeah... that ought to keep you busy for a while! And it also allows you get connect more and more with the series and its characters, while sadly ruling out the possibility of movies off of this series :-(. So, what are you waiting for! Get reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Great

    My freinds( who are adults although i am twelve) got me hooked on this seires. They had me read the new spring first because it explains a lot about moriane and lan. They loved this series so much that they named there only child after the golden eyed boy/young man Perrin. Its full of action and adventure. An amazing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Hey

    Suk mike hawk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    DICK

    U SON OF A DICK SON DICK SON DICKSON

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Love this series

    I have loved these books for years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Best series of our time

    A rich world of believeable cultures and unbelievable story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Good read for a variety of ages

    I was pleasantly surprised that the 1st 3 books of this series can be enjoyed by an age range from middle school (high readers) on up. That is a rarity. I'm usually bored by all ages books. Not this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Awesome

    Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Great start!

    Love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    This book was amazing, what can i say? Some people have trouble

    This book was amazing, what can i say? Some people have trouble getting into the series. The first time i read this book i found it good, but not fascinating. The second time i was enthralled. just give it a chance. get through this one and it all gets better from there. The cool thing is that throughout the first few books there are some cool references to lord of the rings, like a tavern named "the nine rings". This series is AWESOME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Good read

    Did a great job sucking me into a long series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Carrie

    Ok rides out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Riley

    Hayden?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Hayden

    Hey i can be on for a hour

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    GO PERRIN GOLDENEYES

    My favorite character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Robert Jordan has brought us a new world, and a new era for us S

    Robert Jordan has brought us a new world, and a new era for us Sci-Fi geeks to be part of.
    The new series (well, new to me of course) The Wheel of Time has brought us the usual good versus evil
    battle that we loved in Lord of the Rigns and tons of action but is also fills our minds with magic,
    history, politics that we have never seen or heard of before, sociology, cultural background and realistic
    characters that could pop out of the page if they had a mind to. 

    A story that starts with a peaceful village with peaceful townsfolk ends with a mystic challenge that no one
    was ready for!

    A must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1371 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 69