Customer Reviews for

Eyes Wide Open

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

exciting thriller

In Morro Bay, California, twenty-one year old Evan Erlich leaps off a rock to his death in what was an apparent suicide. Evan's father Charlie calls his younger brother Jay with the news. Though the siblings are estranged, Jay leaves his medical practice to go across ...
In Morro Bay, California, twenty-one year old Evan Erlich leaps off a rock to his death in what was an apparent suicide. Evan's father Charlie calls his younger brother Jay with the news. Though the siblings are estranged, Jay leaves his medical practice to go across the country to Grover Beach to be there for his sibling and his sister-in-law Gabriella.

Charlie tells Jay he had troubled Evan committed out of fear his son would kill himself, but does not believe the lad took his life. However the state released Evan just before he killed himself. Being a doctor, Jay believes the institution has negligence liability based on their releasing a potential suicidal person. Jay investigates his nephew's death and soon uncovers murky links to other questionable deaths and Charlie's 1970s relationship with cultist murderer Russell Houvnanian while the local cops starting with dedicated Detective Sherwood tell him to go home.

With an obvious link to the Manson murders, this exciting thriller starts off as a slow paced family drama as parents and an uncle deal with the suicide of the next generation. However, once Jay begins his resolute obstinate inquiry, the plot accelerates as he begins to find a horrific murderers' row which targets the Erlich trio.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

This book left me a state of unsettleness. First a doctor who seems to have everything going for himself and his family takes off and leaves his family to help out his loser of a half brother. Second, this book parallels to the Manson family and his brood of drugged u...
This book left me a state of unsettleness. First a doctor who seems to have everything going for himself and his family takes off and leaves his family to help out his loser of a half brother. Second, this book parallels to the Manson family and his brood of drugged up hippies. It scared me then and it scares me now. I don't like to be riminded of those horrendous murders. Third the author did the unthinkable, he did not give the story a proper ending. Am I suppose to figgure it out. After reading through 300 some pages only to come to that conclusion. It absolutely drives me crazy.

posted by 8429876 on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    exciting thriller

    In Morro Bay, California, twenty-one year old Evan Erlich leaps off a rock to his death in what was an apparent suicide. Evan's father Charlie calls his younger brother Jay with the news. Though the siblings are estranged, Jay leaves his medical practice to go across the country to Grover Beach to be there for his sibling and his sister-in-law Gabriella.

    Charlie tells Jay he had troubled Evan committed out of fear his son would kill himself, but does not believe the lad took his life. However the state released Evan just before he killed himself. Being a doctor, Jay believes the institution has negligence liability based on their releasing a potential suicidal person. Jay investigates his nephew's death and soon uncovers murky links to other questionable deaths and Charlie's 1970s relationship with cultist murderer Russell Houvnanian while the local cops starting with dedicated Detective Sherwood tell him to go home.

    With an obvious link to the Manson murders, this exciting thriller starts off as a slow paced family drama as parents and an uncle deal with the suicide of the next generation. However, once Jay begins his resolute obstinate inquiry, the plot accelerates as he begins to find a horrific murderers' row which targets the Erlich trio.

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book left me a state of unsettleness. First a doctor who seems to have everything going for himself and his family takes off and leaves his family to help out his loser of a half brother. Second, this book parallels to the Manson family and his brood of drugged up hippies. It scared me then and it scares me now. I don't like to be riminded of those horrendous murders. Third the author did the unthinkable, he did not give the story a proper ending. Am I suppose to figgure it out. After reading through 300 some pages only to come to that conclusion. It absolutely drives me crazy.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Murder and intrigue in California's "Middle Kingdom"

    This novel is an entertaining and fast read. It is generously peppered with references familiar to readers who know California's central coast. The plot is relatively direct. The cast of characters, easily imagined. It plays out in the mind like television. This comes at the expense (or annoyance) of excessively developing character, location and subplot, again like television. The story gave the two of us here who read it enjoyment and fodder for discussion and comment. There were mercifully few places where I could not suspend my disbelief for the sake of the story. Also, insights into human nature come from outside the story, not within! All in all, it was an entertaining mystery lover's confection.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Disappointing

    I've read his other books and enjoyed them. This one...not so much. It's a thinly disguised retelling of the Manson (Squeeky, Tex and the rest) cult murders. Even the names Gross uses for his characters are similar.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Great plot

    I was fortunate to receive a free ARC copy of this book.
    This is one of those books that will catch your attention and not let go until the last line. One of those books that will still be in your hands long past bedtime. It is a complex storyline, with all the expected twists (and then some) and with a sinister backdrop that will chill you as you turn the pages.

    The characters are very interesting. The way the author handles the bipolar and schitzophrenic Evan, Charlie and Gabby shows how comfortable he is with his creations. Their dialogue feels natural and even their delusions have a steady core of truth. There is no melodrama here. Jay, the main character, provides a lucid wall for them to bounce against as he tries to discover just what happened to Evan, his nephew. The villain, a Manson-like cult leader, has that charm and coldness that rings real enough to frighten the reader. I will not be forgetting him any time soon.

    When it comes to the plot, I could tell how carefully planned it had been. Most of the pieces fit together perfectly, propelling the reader down through secrets that werekept hidden for too long. There are a couple of plot points that weren't completely resolved, and which left me wondering. They were not extremely important and could have easily been cut out, which make me question why they weren't. But don't let that put you off, this is a book to read.

    I can highly recommend this book to anyone who loves thrillers, mysteries, or just a well-crafted novel. Just don't be surprised if you can't look at a dollar bill quite the same ever again.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    On the edge of my seat!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    not recommended

    I have enjoyed Andrew Gross's other books, but I thought this book was not worth reading. I found the storyline to be very far fetched and unnecessarily violent.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book, as i have enjoyed all of his books!

    I really enjoyed this book, as i have enjoyed all of his books! The ending wasnt what i expected, but that is why he is such an excellent
    writer. You won't be sorry if u purchase this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    First book by this author that I have read-and it was a good one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Like a Manson rewind.

    Started out as a good thriller. As the story progressed,became too much like the Manson story. I also have to question whether Dr. Jay was released from the hospital with his mouth still wired shut. Normally it takes longer than a few days for a broken jaw to heal. Also, is there a sequel since we were left hanging at the end. For the most part, I enjoyed reading the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2015

    pretty good

    Pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    Very intense

    This is a fast-paced, exciting and chilling story of retribution by a Manson-like cult. A doctor risks his marriage, career, and ultimately his life while searching for the truth behind his nephew's suicide. I had a hard time putting it down, but as an animal lover, I have to warn future readers that there are several scenes of graphic violence towards pets that I felt were unnecessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Stay away

    It is about a suicide that quickly evolves into a murder mystery, with a Charlie Manson look alike in the background.
    A drugged out family,blessed with a psychotic son, who hates his parents to the point of abusing them verbally and physically, but they still love each other very deeply. The word dysfunctional is to meek to describe their relationship with each other, and the hero, who is a half brother.
    All along the Manson like character controls two disciples who commit a chain of murders, from a maximum security prison.
    Hard to fathom? You bet ya. The story ends with a puzzle that I don't believe even Mr. Gross completely understood, just for the sake of leaving everyone who read the book to the end in limbo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    Great book !

    Great book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    CLUB BIOS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Not the best

    It seemed a rip off on the charles manson murders

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Thriller

    Why would a doctor get so involved in his messed up brother's life? This same brother knew why but kept silent about his son's murder. The book is a thriller. I did not like it though. As far as the ending, it seems obvious the revenge is not over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Couldn't put it down!

    Fast paced, kept me interested. Hoping for a sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Dhu b 6-75

    ?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Sissy 4/2013

    Really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4