Customer Reviews for

Eyes Wide Open

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

exciting thriller

In Morro Bay, California, twenty-one year old Evan Erlich leaps off a rock to his death in what was an apparent suicide. Evan's father Charlie calls his younger brother Jay with the news. Though the siblings are estranged, Jay leaves his medical practice to go across ...
In Morro Bay, California, twenty-one year old Evan Erlich leaps off a rock to his death in what was an apparent suicide. Evan's father Charlie calls his younger brother Jay with the news. Though the siblings are estranged, Jay leaves his medical practice to go across the country to Grover Beach to be there for his sibling and his sister-in-law Gabriella.

Charlie tells Jay he had troubled Evan committed out of fear his son would kill himself, but does not believe the lad took his life. However the state released Evan just before he killed himself. Being a doctor, Jay believes the institution has negligence liability based on their releasing a potential suicidal person. Jay investigates his nephew's death and soon uncovers murky links to other questionable deaths and Charlie's 1970s relationship with cultist murderer Russell Houvnanian while the local cops starting with dedicated Detective Sherwood tell him to go home.

With an obvious link to the Manson murders, this exciting thriller starts off as a slow paced family drama as parents and an uncle deal with the suicide of the next generation. However, once Jay begins his resolute obstinate inquiry, the plot accelerates as he begins to find a horrific murderers' row which targets the Erlich trio.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

This book left me a state of unsettleness. First a doctor who seems to have everything going for himself and his family takes off and leaves his family to help out his loser of a half brother. Second, this book parallels to the Manson family and his brood of drugged u...
This book left me a state of unsettleness. First a doctor who seems to have everything going for himself and his family takes off and leaves his family to help out his loser of a half brother. Second, this book parallels to the Manson family and his brood of drugged up hippies. It scared me then and it scares me now. I don't like to be riminded of those horrendous murders. Third the author did the unthinkable, he did not give the story a proper ending. Am I suppose to figgure it out. After reading through 300 some pages only to come to that conclusion. It absolutely drives me crazy.

posted by 8429876 on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    First book by this author that I have read-and it was a good one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Great plot

    I was fortunate to receive a free ARC copy of this book.
    This is one of those books that will catch your attention and not let go until the last line. One of those books that will still be in your hands long past bedtime. It is a complex storyline, with all the expected twists (and then some) and with a sinister backdrop that will chill you as you turn the pages.

    The characters are very interesting. The way the author handles the bipolar and schitzophrenic Evan, Charlie and Gabby shows how comfortable he is with his creations. Their dialogue feels natural and even their delusions have a steady core of truth. There is no melodrama here. Jay, the main character, provides a lucid wall for them to bounce against as he tries to discover just what happened to Evan, his nephew. The villain, a Manson-like cult leader, has that charm and coldness that rings real enough to frighten the reader. I will not be forgetting him any time soon.

    When it comes to the plot, I could tell how carefully planned it had been. Most of the pieces fit together perfectly, propelling the reader down through secrets that werekept hidden for too long. There are a couple of plot points that weren't completely resolved, and which left me wondering. They were not extremely important and could have easily been cut out, which make me question why they weren't. But don't let that put you off, this is a book to read.

    I can highly recommend this book to anyone who loves thrillers, mysteries, or just a well-crafted novel. Just don't be surprised if you can't look at a dollar bill quite the same ever again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Dhu b 6-75

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Sissy 4/2013

    Really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Like a Manson rewind.

    Started out as a good thriller. As the story progressed,became too much like the Manson story. I also have to question whether Dr. Jay was released from the hospital with his mouth still wired shut. Normally it takes longer than a few days for a broken jaw to heal. Also, is there a sequel since we were left hanging at the end. For the most part, I enjoyed reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    good writing

    Would have given 5
    stars but did not like the epilog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Moving mystery.

    The book kept you reading right to the end. The ending left me confused. The cover left me wondering just how scary the book was going to be saying lock the doors and such but it didn't seem that threatening because the victims were targeted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Man Battles a Manson Like Cult

    Jay Erlich is a doctor practicing on the East Coast. He gets a call from Charlie, his estranged brother who lives on the West Coast. Charlie's son Evan had apparently committed suicide by jumping off a cliff. Jay hurries out to see Charlie and his wife Gabby. Evan was a troubled kid who required a great deal of medication. Apparently, he attempted to kill himself before and wanted to buy a guy. Charlie had Evan committed to a state run facility but they released him after a few days and he was able to wander off by himself.

    At first Jay is sure that the State was negligent, causing Evan's death. Charlie asks Jay to investigate further, insisting that Evan's death was not a suicide. As Jay starts looking into it further, he starts to suspect Charlie is right. However, the more clues that Jay gets regarding Evan, the more Charlie will not provide Jay with any further information.

    As Jay gets more suspicious by a series of coincidences, he takes his suspicions to the cop who had investigated Evan's death. The cop is put off by Jay and keeps insisting that Jay has no evidence that Evan's death was anything more than suicide and that Jay should just let it go.

    Jay will not let it go and the more he investigates, weird things start happening and he starts to suspect that an old Manson like cult may lead to the answer. As a matter of fact, the cults story seems almost like it was a copy of the Manson cult's Tate/LoBianco murders. More things happen that finally get the cop interested in helping Jay.

    The relationship between Jay and the cop is strained and starts to soften as the two start to learn more. The author does a good job of making the cop likable. The first hundred pages of the book are slow and then it picks up. There are some tense moments as Jay gets closer to the truth. The book is an above average thriller and does have a strange epilogue at the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1