Customer Reviews for

The Eyes of Darkness

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of his greatest

I thought that this was one of the greatest ones that he has written. I didn't want to ever put it down. It is worth the time to read.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

pretty good...

This is one of Koontz's first novels, written originally under a pen name. It's definitely not up to par with his latest works but it wasn't bad either.

A mother looses her son to a tragic accident while he's on a scouting trip in the Nevada mountains. A year later a...
This is one of Koontz's first novels, written originally under a pen name. It's definitely not up to par with his latest works but it wasn't bad either.

A mother looses her son to a tragic accident while he's on a scouting trip in the Nevada mountains. A year later and she's coping....until two words show up on her dead sons chalkboard. NOT DEAD. Lots of mysterious paranormal incidents occur that lead the mother and her new flame on a hunt to uncover what has been covered up and to discover why.

The Eyes of Darkness was a good story but it didn't have enough depth. Why the events occurred was explained but the how part was left a mystery. The characters were very cardboard with very little background. If this was written by the Koontz of today I think it would make a great book.

posted by songcatchers on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    One of Koontz best a very good book. Koontz outdoes himself this time. A story about Love lose, and finding it again. It's got it all Love, Action and Suspense. I loved it, I recommend it to anyone. If you like Koontz books or just Suspense this will blow your mind. you will never guess the out come. It takes you from Vegas strip to the mountains out side Reno Nevada. Tina Evens a mother that has lost her son finds out the truth about her sons death and falls in love with cool guy that saves her but threw the hole book. It's also got some super natural stuff going on which makes it very suspenseful and scary book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    One of his greatest

    I thought that this was one of the greatest ones that he has written. I didn't want to ever put it down. It is worth the time to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    My first dk experience

    I read this this book in my apt during my first month living there. Big mistake. Huge. Do not read this if you get scared easily. It had me terrified if those bumps in the night, you know the ones.... but this is also the book that made me break up with stephen king to begin my lifelong love affair with dean.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    A must read book

    This book is about a mom whose young boy went on a camping trip. Something big happens and she can't believe it. She blames it on herself. She goes on an adventure to fix it. It is very action packed, mysterious, and suspenseful. I like how he explains why she blames herself, how he intertwines the story with suspense, and how she is going to fix it. He did a great in this book describing key moments in this book. He also did a great job of keeping this book interesting, I usually get very bored of books very fast. He kept me interested in the book the whole time and I had no intention of setting it down for one minute. It was one of the best books I have ever read in my entire lifetime. Overall I would give this book probably about eight or nine out of ten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Loved It!

    I loved this book! I finished in in only a few days. It is gripping and hard to put down. Any mom that loves a good heart gripping thrill should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    pretty good...

    This is one of Koontz's first novels, written originally under a pen name. It's definitely not up to par with his latest works but it wasn't bad either.

    A mother looses her son to a tragic accident while he's on a scouting trip in the Nevada mountains. A year later and she's coping....until two words show up on her dead sons chalkboard. NOT DEAD. Lots of mysterious paranormal incidents occur that lead the mother and her new flame on a hunt to uncover what has been covered up and to discover why.

    The Eyes of Darkness was a good story but it didn't have enough depth. Why the events occurred was explained but the how part was left a mystery. The characters were very cardboard with very little background. If this was written by the Koontz of today I think it would make a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ahhhh!! Dean Koontz

    It's Dean Koontz. What else can I say. The suspense and the turn arouond ending are pure Koontz. This mother will leave nothing unturned to find her son, even when the evil ones are out to stop her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    This was one of my favorite Koontz book! This book had me from the beginning, I finished it really quickly. This book is about a Mother who has lost her son to a mountain adventure accident, she get's divorced because of it and the childs room remains the same way it was when he went missing. The bodies of this accident were never found so it leaves you with skeptic thoughs about whether or not he is really gone. This story goes on to unravel a secret about her son and the secret is more than you can imagine. You'll enjoy this one but becarefull you might not want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    This was one great book!

    I have read almost all of Dean's books. Many are very good, and this was right up there with the best. The story starts slowly, with the usual in depth character development that Koontz is so famous for, then really takes off. Once it gets going it never stops. I couldn't put it down once the action started. Fast paced and on the edge of your seat chases and twists. You are left with an ending that left me a bit teary eyed because you felt so good how things turned out. I would highly recommend this book as it is one of Dean's best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    Only Koontz

    Only Koontz could come up with such a tale of horror and the twists of fate that envelopes his characters. A great read that will have you intrigued and terrified.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    My first Koontz novel--Amazing book

    The Eyes of Darkness was an amazing book. I just picked it up one day, to have something to read, and fell in love with Koontz's work. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes to read: Koontz fan or not. I do wish the ending had a little more closure...but that's my only complaint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    The best Koontz I've read!

    Mystery, action, suspense, a little romance. Typical Koontz, but this story is the most intriguing one I've come across so far. I ended up reading it out loud to my family on a long car trip.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2000

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

    I have been a fan of Dean Koontz for years and this is the 6th book I have read so far. I have 13 more of his sitting on my bookshelf waiting to be read. I could not put this book down. The mother in me wanted so bad for Tina to find her son I read until my eyes hurt. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2000

    The best Sci-fi thriller!

    This book had a good mixture of all the things essential to make a book great. Suspense, action, romance, and Science Fiction. All the people who like these genres will LOVE this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    What an amazing book

    This book is so good I could read it over and over and over it is about a mother who loses her son on a camping trip or a field trip for something. But it has a twisted ending that I am NOT going to spoil. The mother's name is Tina her boy is name is named Danny. And when he dies his mother goes into his room and every time she goes in there, she sees scrawlled on his chalkboard " not dead "

    This book is amazing it has a twisted ending, and is very detailed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    It was and alright book

    It was ok, I've read better books by Koontz so I was just alittle disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great book

    Entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    From the author of 'sudden disappearance'

    Koonts shines in this novel. Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2003

    EXCELLENT

    this is a really good book once you start reading it you will not wanna put it down.. You will be on the edge of your seat till you get to the end and once you have done and read it u will wanna read it over and over again..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    THE BEGINNING TO A GOOD THING!!!!

    This was the first book I read by Koontz and definitely has not been the last. He has a way of keeping you on the edge of your seat with suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4