Customer Reviews for

Eyes of Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Thrilling Yet Gruesome Lucas Davenport Novel!!

    I was very curious to see how events from the previous book in this series, Shadow Prey, would be touched on and they impact this book huge. Definitely should read that book first. Regardless, the third installment of the Lucas Davenport series has the hard as nails cop at rock bottom after his girlfriend left him taking his daughter with her. This is a new approach to see the normally together Davenport a wreck, saddled with doubts and depression. The killers were horrific and their crimes terrible. The somewhat "shock" ending was done really well. I really enjoyed seeing another side of the hero. Overall, a really good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    The best of John Sandford

    The Prey series is an outstanding one, but this title (early in the series) has to be the cream of the crop. Having just finished 'Eyes' (out of order in the series) I have to say that I think this is the best John Sandford I have read so far. There are several sub-plots that come together in a startling and impressive finish, and the dialogue is fluid, smart and highly readable. We also learn a lot more about Lucas and Del in 'Eyes' - both grow significantly over the course of the story as it unfolds. You'll just have trouble putting it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2001

    Lucas Davenport is one bad ass muther...

    Another in the prey series that has gripped my attention. Sanford is amazing with description, I can picture the characters clearly and yet Sanford doesn't bore you with countless descriptive words to describe, it just a vibe and 'better' use of words... Bekker will make you skin crawl...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2001

    Another 5 stars for Sandford!!!

    I can almost assure you that this book will scare your pants off. Lucus Davenport is again a hard nosed cop who appears to have met his match in Dr. Bekker. Murders are happening done by two different men but appear to have all been done in the same manner. Lucus finally gets it figured out. This book will grab you on the first page and never let you go. If you live by your self and the floors squeek in your place this is not a book to read at night. If you have looked out your window and seen somebody strange, this is not the book for you. If you ever think you have been followed by someone strange,this is not the book for you. It ia a great thriller and is hard to get out of you mind.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Good book

    Sandford does it again. A good book indeed. Davenport is still a little overboard with his tactics as a cop but hey who cares...... Book is well written, has a nice flow to it and its hard to put down. I think this series is pretty good. Very glad I started reading him. While Davenport seems to lose control a lot for being a cop I guess its still in the realm of possibilities, sadly. Give it a shot. Its good stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    WHOA & WHAT??????!!!!!!!! Never...and I repeat, never did I

    WHOA & WHAT??????!!!!!!!! Never...and I repeat, never did I see that ending coming. Mr. Sandford never gave us a single hint, just..."BAM". Hits you right between the eyes. I am loving this series and loving Lucas Davenport. Thank you, Mr Sandford, for sharing your talents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    recommended

    Overall good plot. Another overly macho cop. Is there any other kind?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Great Read

    Excellent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Action packed and chilling!!!!

    John Sanford knocks one out of the park again on this one. I throughly enjoyed this book, think it deserves every star I gave it. Was certainly another page turner and I could not wait to get back to it whenever I had to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Thrilling!

    This is one of the best in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    a good read, as are all of Sanfords boks

    Lucas Davenport is right up there, as usual, however I do need to read the one before this one to understand some of the references of his past problems.
    Thanks John Sanford

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lucas Davenport MUST READ!!!

    John Sandford has just got to write more Davenport novels a year!! I have become a Davenport junkie plain and simple. What is worse I got my ex room mate hooked. This novel really was a blaster for the junkies out there as a main character is a junkie (no surprise in a Davenport novel) but should advise you strongly DON'T DO DRUGS!!!! They really are bad for you and the people around you! There are so many issues going on in this novel it would be good for a book club with so much to discuss; child abuse, disfigurement, drug abuse, abuse in many forms and do not want to spoil it so READ IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Back to Basics of the Thriller Genre & More

    After the stellar start to this series in RULES OF PREY & then a somewhat disappointing 2nd effort in SHADOW PREY, EYES OF PREY got the reader back on track with a thrilling story driven by an unpredictable villian who ... caught in the end, delivers a promise of more to come when he says "You should have killed me." You almost look forward to seeing his promise fulfilled. The end also gives us our 1st glimpse of a more down-to-earth & likeable side of Lucas Davenport. The whole supporting cast of characters is also being well-developed & you get a strong sense that the series is moving in the right direction from a reader point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Kept me interested, never saw the ending coming.

    After reading a review that said to skip this one, that's what I almost did. I can only imagine the reviewer was not a Sandford fan. I loved this book! It appeared that everything was clear, cut and dried, and Mr. Sandford was merely telling the story. As usual, he told it in such a way as to compel me to read on. Doing what he does so well, he held my interest the entire book. Then at the end, WHAM!, he revealed a mystery I'd not even thought of! I thought the book was really good until the end, and then I thought it was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Davenport Book!!

    Great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Good book to read, it was hard for me to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Unbelievable

    Bekker is a character that i loved to hate in this book. It was so exciting from begining to end. It is hard to figure how they are going to get his guy and he made you hate him. One of the best endings in any book i have ever read if you see it before the very last page i will be suprised

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    Enjoy Mystery Novels

    Just like Mary Higgins Clark and Elieen Dreyer, John Sandford has beginning his written in 1989 book called Rules of Prey. But sudden his loves mystery, thrillers, and suspense. He was read whole book for John Sandford.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    Where It All Began.... (& become hooked)

    This first of the 'prey' series is a page turner. I read it and was hooked on the series. I highly recommend any of the 'prey' series books (although I didn't care for Winter Prey too much. This book does end somewhat abrudtly, but never a dull moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    You must read ALL THE PREY NOVELS.

    A friend suggested one book, and I have them all. Can hardly wait until the next one comes out. I stay up all night reading, as I CAN NOT put any 'Prey' Novel down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6