Customer Reviews for

The Eyes of the Dragon

Average Rating 4.5
( 422 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Decent book, massive amounts of grammatical errors in eBook format

The book itself was decent, a bit predictable at times, not terribly original in concept. Kept my interest regardless.

I would describe the story as mostly character driven. If you're looking for a book with a lush and intricate fantasy world this is not it. Barel...
The book itself was decent, a bit predictable at times, not terribly original in concept. Kept my interest regardless.

I would describe the story as mostly character driven. If you're looking for a book with a lush and intricate fantasy world this is not it. Barely a mention is made of the world at large outside the small boundaries of the castle.

I can't imagine reading it a second time but the first time was a pleasant experience aside from the massive quantity of grammatical errors. No idea who is copying these books into ebook format but they need to move a little slower I think.

"his eyes would 'bum' a baleful, hellish red." Sorry did you mean 'burn?'

"it would 'bum' off my hand when it went in." Sheesh, I guess whoever copied this to ebook format has a fetish for bums or something.

If that sort of thing doesn't bother you and you enjoy a simple read that doesn't make you think too much, I believe you will enjoy this book.

posted by Lure on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

King strays from genre

The eye of the dragon
For a renowned author, known for horror, mystery this mid-evil fiction is out of his style, The eye of the dragon by Stephen king. Captivates and entrances the reader through the world of Delain. Through betrayal and deceit, Prince peter is blamed...
The eye of the dragon
For a renowned author, known for horror, mystery this mid-evil fiction is out of his style, The eye of the dragon by Stephen king. Captivates and entrances the reader through the world of Delain. Through betrayal and deceit, Prince peter is blamed for the murder of his father by someone close to the king himself.
Eye of the dragon, Follows the life of peter and Thomas the princes of Delain. There fathers council betraying him and peter. Flagg a magician of at least 400years in age. Deceptive and full of betrayal. The eye of the dragon is full of twists and turns.
The storyline was brilliant, but lacked suspense. Stephen king mad a wonderful book. But by the story you can't tell he is out of his typical element. So for a book lacking suspense this is still a wonderful read.

posted by NDB on June 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    Decent book, massive amounts of grammatical errors in eBook format

    The book itself was decent, a bit predictable at times, not terribly original in concept. Kept my interest regardless.

    I would describe the story as mostly character driven. If you're looking for a book with a lush and intricate fantasy world this is not it. Barely a mention is made of the world at large outside the small boundaries of the castle.

    I can't imagine reading it a second time but the first time was a pleasant experience aside from the massive quantity of grammatical errors. No idea who is copying these books into ebook format but they need to move a little slower I think.

    "his eyes would 'bum' a baleful, hellish red." Sorry did you mean 'burn?'

    "it would 'bum' off my hand when it went in." Sheesh, I guess whoever copied this to ebook format has a fetish for bums or something.

    If that sort of thing doesn't bother you and you enjoy a simple read that doesn't make you think too much, I believe you will enjoy this book.

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    One of his best!

    I have a lot of respect for this book and its author. This was the first SK book i read many years ago, given to my by aunt who bought it at a garage sale for a dime. being younger, it took me a while to get through it but i absolutely loved it and became immediately hooked on SK books from there on in. A truly amazing story that holds a deep place in my heart. I would read it again in a heartbeat.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Hey

    Hey im ashley...anyone wanna chat??

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Love it

    Not like his other books. This is one of my fav. Out of the box great nook. Keeps you up all night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Great read!

    A great read evocative of Mark Twain's Prince and the Pauper but with Stephen King's style. Great storytelling especially for fans of the Stand and Dark Tower series. Good story on brotherhood, young friendship blossoming into romance, all in the face of lurking danger within and around. A particular style called fir that doesn't detract from modern readers's enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Had to read this book for school-thought i was okay...

    Had to read this book for school-thought i was okay...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Different

    Not his usual story line but very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Really Enjoyed this

    Kept my interest throughout ... good relaxing tale that can take your mind off current duldrums and pressures ... I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Off the beaten path..

    Nice to see Stephen King stray from the killer household objects and unholy life lesson/temptations... good short read fantasy / murder / political backstabbing... but just enough of mindless fun...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    The Eyes

    The book The Eyes of a Dragon is by Stephen King. This fantasy novel is set in a kingdom named Delian that had a king that was going to die in a couple of years. Peter was going to be king after Roland died. That is, until events lead him away from becoming a king.

    The book is about where Flagg tries to get another character in trouble by setting the character up. It turns out that Thamous was a very troubled kid by how he acts and thinks. Peter is the first born of King Roland's kids; he's the one that winds up in trouble for something another person did. Roland is the king who acts totally different when he's hammered, and Thamous finds that out when he looks into his bedroom. It's very interesting to find out what happens.

    One thing I didn't like about the book is that it's a slow starter, which really bugs the crap out of me. I like the action and the suspense in the first couple pages of the book. I also didn't like some parts of it because it jumped around from person to person, which I would rather read a book that stays with one character. I liked it in the end because it had a lot of action in it. it also ended the way I wouldn't have thought it would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    A good work on King's part

    As a new Stephen King reader, I was expecting much from such an acclaimed author. I had picked up "The Eyes of the Dragon." Met with the typical "prince and the evil wizard" scenario I was skeptic at first. Before all things, let me straightforwardly state the novel was excellent. I was intrigued by the plot and I thought the novel was entertaining and time consuming. I was met with a twist on a classic-fantasy-esque storyline. I would have preferred this novel much over any other tale in its category of medieval-times fantasy. There were a few points of negativity on the novel which somewhat affected me as the reader. The ending along with much of the later parts of the secondary perspective of the character Ben Staad, was frankly speaking boring; humdrum, whatever you wish to call it. These parts were disappointing and I felt that even though they were essential to the novel, they did not feel as interesting as the other parts and I desired to skip these sections.
    One of the characters set this novel apart and his name was Thomas. As a misguided young child, a resentful lesser of his brother, being manipulated by the antagonist he stands out a very normal character thrown into a very normal plot. This made him and the novel interesting. The story focuses mostly on his redemption as a brother and as a good person and concludes as him temporarily defeating the antagonist of the novel, predictably being the malignant sorcerer.
    I enjoyed this work of fiction and would recommend this to serious readers. Less passionate readers may become bored and be forced to skip several sections of the novel. King has done well on his part, regardless of my few trivial objections with his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    A Unique Fantasy Classic

    Stephen King does not disappoint with this epic style fantasy that seems to relate to the Gunslinger series. With Eyes of the Dragon there is a hero and an evil Wizard Flagg who cries to be bested in this bizarre but unique that encompasses everything that is King. It is a great change from his horror, but just as engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    very addicting

    I thought that it was a good book. It definately kept me entertained to the very end.I liked the deception side of the story, along with the dog eat dog theme. Basically Peter is wrongly imprisoned for killing his father by the court magician, Flagg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    I love this book!

    I have never been able to get into Stephen King books, but this one was different. From the moment I picked it up, I couldn't put it down. I first checked it out at a library, and then had to go out and buy my own copy. If you like this genre, I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    Very good novel

    For any fan of Randall Flagg, this is a MUST read. He is awesome. This whole novel is very easy to read due to the fact that it was written for Kings daughter. The tale is a great one, the characters are well written (especially Peter), and it has a Dragon in it. what more could you want?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Very dialogue driven but still interesting

    I enjoyed Eyes of the Dragon eventhough it was very boring I still was interested. The characters are well done and to see a special villian that has appeared in other king books was cool. The book may bore some but for others who enjoy dialogue without action should like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    Long Time Coming...

    I read this book many years ago when it was first published and I was in my early 20's. I'm 38 now and to this day I still remember the feelings I had when I read this book and how it swept me into it's tale of 2 princes and an evil wizard. I read it more than once and will most likely read it again. It is quite different than King's usual tales but if you like 'King Arthur' type stories (with a King twist) you'll love this one!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    an old tale in stephan's style.

    well i am a big fan of stephan. so i must say that it is not one of his best books but it is a very good novel indeed. a gothic tale of good princes and evil wizards, of old kingdoms, which only king can write. so if you are king' fan that you must read it, and you will ofcourse, and if you are someone who like such tales than you should also read it. an old tale in stephan's style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    An excellent modern day fairy tale

    This was a good little book. However, I have seen that a lot of people didn't really care for it. This is probably because it is not a traditional Stephen King book, nor written in a traditional manner. Yet, if you are a fan of fairy tales and like good,not dramatic or amazing, stories you should pick up this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    good book

    I normaly don't read Steven King novels but this book was nice. I really enjoyed reading it. The plot does a great job at capturing your attention. The characters seem to be real people. I thought the book was good and I would recomend it to other people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6