BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Eyes of the Dragon

Average Rating 4.5
( 424 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(239)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Decent book, massive amounts of grammatical errors in eBook format

The book itself was decent, a bit predictable at times, not terribly original in concept. Kept my interest regardless.

I would describe the story as mostly character driven. If you're looking for a book with a lush and intricate fantasy world this is not it. Barel...
The book itself was decent, a bit predictable at times, not terribly original in concept. Kept my interest regardless.

I would describe the story as mostly character driven. If you're looking for a book with a lush and intricate fantasy world this is not it. Barely a mention is made of the world at large outside the small boundaries of the castle.

I can't imagine reading it a second time but the first time was a pleasant experience aside from the massive quantity of grammatical errors. No idea who is copying these books into ebook format but they need to move a little slower I think.

"his eyes would 'bum' a baleful, hellish red." Sorry did you mean 'burn?'

"it would 'bum' off my hand when it went in." Sheesh, I guess whoever copied this to ebook format has a fetish for bums or something.

If that sort of thing doesn't bother you and you enjoy a simple read that doesn't make you think too much, I believe you will enjoy this book.

posted by Lure on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

King strays from genre

The eye of the dragon
For a renowned author, known for horror, mystery this mid-evil fiction is out of his style, The eye of the dragon by Stephen king. Captivates and entrances the reader through the world of Delain. Through betrayal and deceit, Prince peter is blamed...
The eye of the dragon
For a renowned author, known for horror, mystery this mid-evil fiction is out of his style, The eye of the dragon by Stephen king. Captivates and entrances the reader through the world of Delain. Through betrayal and deceit, Prince peter is blamed for the murder of his father by someone close to the king himself.
Eye of the dragon, Follows the life of peter and Thomas the princes of Delain. There fathers council betraying him and peter. Flagg a magician of at least 400years in age. Deceptive and full of betrayal. The eye of the dragon is full of twists and turns.
The storyline was brilliant, but lacked suspense. Stephen king mad a wonderful book. But by the story you can't tell he is out of his typical element. So for a book lacking suspense this is still a wonderful read.

posted by NDB on June 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite Stephen King story

    This book, while still a dark story, is a completely different type for Mr. King. I loved it. Stephen King takes you into a whole new world that somehow feels familiar with all of the other fantasy types stories that are written. I recommend it, whether you enjoy his writing or not. You will not be disappointed.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    One of my favorites

    This was a re-read for me. Since I first read it years ago, I have recommended it a number of times...especially to those who say, "Oh, I don't like Stephen King's books." When the book was published, I recall reading a statement by King that he had written it for his daughter, who at the time was a middle schooler, because he regarded his other books as being too gory for her to read.

    Bottom line, it is a classic tale of good vs. evil with richly drawn characters. I enjoyed the second time round as bit as much as I did the first time round.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Great story from the time of kings and castles

    Great read!! it was hard for me to put this book down. Finished it in 3 days. Not sure if there is a sequel to this book but if there is ill gobble it right up

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved This Book Since Childhood

    I have had this book in hardcover since I was a child. I have no idea where or when I got it, but I have loved it since my first read. I have since enjoyed several King books, but none as much as this first foray. This is a lovely story about two young princes, a loving but flawed father, a counselor that has too much influence, and the struggle that the younger prince has with his jealousy and doing what is right. In grand King fashion, there is madness and secrets and ultimately redemption and triumph of goodness, but not without cost. Although I read this as a little girl, I think it is an excellent read for boys and would be an excellent choice for a parent to read with children and have discussions about the different natures of people and how to choose right from wrong. I will be shipping a copy to my nephew and hoping he loves it as much as I do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Best ever

    This is by far my favorite king book!
    i have read this book at least 5 times and will read it over again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is hands down my favorite book when I was a kid. The only

    This is hands down my favorite book when I was a kid. The only book I liked and would read back then. Wonderful story of good vs evil. The insecurities in us all and how we overcome them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Loved It!

    Absolutely loved it! Kept me glued to the pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Eyes of the Dragon

    For one of King's non-horror/thrillr novels, this one is the best I've read so far!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    I love this book!

    When I was in High School, I thought I would try to read a scary novel and decided on a Stephen King book. I picked this one out and was blown away by what happens to be one of the best fantasy books I have ever read. Even though I was looking for a scary story, I was not let down in the least. I work in a book store and have read many fantasy books. This has to be one of the top must read fantasy books on anyone's list!!!!! You will not regret it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    Different

    While Steven King is known for scarry tales set in new england, this is a bit off his normal track. It's still a thriiler of a book, but set in a long ago time in a far off kingdom. It's interesting due to the facts sprinkled through the book as well as animals' points of view. It also has all the evil plots I'd expect.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Bootyclaper

    Guyd
    I have no time to explain,the bootyclapers are coming,and theyre gonna clap our booties

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    At last

    This is the King you know and love, in fantasy format. A tale of presuptions, assumptions, good prevailing over evil, and the cost of such victories. A concise narration of the human condition, in which the suspense lies, not in the unknown, but in the style in which it is told. Unique artwork accents a tale to which you can vivdly picture a storyteller surrounded fireside by rapt listeners as he spins out their favorite, as if you are one of them, vivid enough to catch the scent of campfire. Wore out three hardcovers of this exceptional story, so glad to finally have a digital. Typos as minimal as the ones found herein can be overlooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Meep

    Ning

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I read this book when it first came out in 1987. I thought it wa

    I read this book when it first came out in 1987. I thought it was great then and it still is today. A welcome departure from King's usual writing fare. If I remember right, he wrote it for his then young children because they wanted of his that they could read. Great book! It would make a good film also. I'm just surprise it isn't one. Something for consideration, Stephen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Hi ashley

    Hey ill chat with you!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Amazing

    One of the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great read

    Love this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    "I'M COMING PETER! I'M COMING FOR YOUR HEAD!"

    The best book ever, i would recomend this book to anyone who likes a suspencefull fantacy ( i apologize for the attroius spelling)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Exciting from beginning to end!

    Exciting from beginning to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Great read!

    No one would expect King to write a awsome story about the stone age, a book thats not even scary too! Well wrote, GREAT READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12