Customer Reviews for

Bone #3: Eyes of the Storm

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    My son loves the Bone books!!!

    My son loved these books. He doesn't like to read but with these books, he doesn't stop reading now!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Amazing - changed my life

    This is the best graphic novel ever made. I purchased it at a rather difficult time in my life and it changed my perspective from that of a negative pessimist to a man willing to move mountains to achieve his goals.

    A little backstory: I was suffering through a divorce and needed an outlet. A friend had recommended I try exercising, but that required more effort than I was willing to put in. Movies had lost their magic, food had become tasteless without my salt shaker nearby, long drives had become expensive and a night out with the guys had turned into a swim in the shallow pool of self-pity from which I observed all the happy couples out on the town together.

    Back to the book - I was browsing through Google looking for something to pique my interest and hopefully find an activity that would redeem some of my masculinity during my newly-acquired lifestyle of independence and microwave dinners (the Salisbury Steak ones weren't so bad if I closed my eyes and imagined my wife sitting across from me, on the other side of the TV tray I'd purchased at Goodwill after I came home from work and saw that most of the furniture was gone, presumably to my wife's new house along with her new boyfriend that had a "real job" and no "mommy issues").

    Of course, those dinners often resulted in a flood of tears and a cacophony of sobs and wails that could only be interrupted by my elderly neighbor screaming once again through his window that I should "grow a pair" or at least close the curtains so he didn't have to watch me bathe myself in my own tears. Why was he watching me anyway? What a sad, lonely guy my neighbor must be. But to the point:

    I'd started out by Googling "Harry Carey" but soon realized that I'd need to refine my search a bit better if I was going to find something to do with myself that didn't hurt. So I then searched "Drew Carey," which led to me finding old episodes of "Whose Line Is It Anyway?" and after a 17 hour marathon the electricity was shut off I went and bought a generator and a few adapters and continued my search.

    Next, I searched for "rain boots" and "Pokemon," which led me to Amazon, where I ordered some galoshes and 300 packs of "rare" Pokemon cards that I figured I could sell on eBay for at least three times what I paid for them. I also found some Pokemon comic books, and upon Googling comic books to pursue my newfound business venture of buying things to sell on eBay I came upon some first edition X-Men comics. I made a note to myself to go back and look some more, but first I Googled "ice cube," "stuffed buffalo," and "nine-iron."

    Back to the X-Men. I'd seen the movie and Halle Barre was a knockout as the character "Storm." I did a Google image search for "Storm" and was not disappointed by the tirade of teen-angst inspired artwork that filled the results page. But my interest in Storm was pure, and I found her eyes to be the most captivating thing of all. So I refined my search to "eyes of Storm."

    Imagine my surprise when Bone #3 "Eyes of the Storm" appeared in my search results. What trickery was this? Here I was, a grown man doing productive and captivating Google searches, and my time was being wasted with images of a kid's book.

    But, I digress. I've never read this book. I ordered it for my daughter and she loves it. She's half

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Series!

    My son never read as much before, but now he can't put this series down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Jeff Smith does it again!

    This book was the same as books 1 and 2...funny, great graphics, and easy to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Things pick up

    The story starts to get darker in this volume. A conflict between the red dragon and Gran'ma Ben turns up, some truths are revealed that turn Thorn into a somewhat overdramatic character a few times, and there is a lot of hinting at things yet to come in the series. I think I would definetly have to come back to read this book after I finish the series and find some details I missed. Overall, a really fun book, and the only mild complaint I have is that Jeff Smith just can't seem to figure out how to draw Thorn consistently. It becomes an issue because she is the main focus of a lot of what happens in this issue, so any time her facial appearance beomes hard to recognize it distracts from the emotional intensity of the book. Still, it's a challenging story that Smith has taken on to tell in this volume, so kudos to him nonetheless. Also, I love the twist that Phoney, Smiley and Lucius' story starts to take as they consistently provide the laughs in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My opinion of Eyes of the Storm

    The book was great altogether and I could read it a million times and not get tiered of it! You should read it you wont regreat it....... Also try the book listed below

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Awesome

    I am eaght years old. And the Bone books are the best in the whole universe. I have loved every one of the books and cant wait to read more from Jeff Smith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    This is my son's book

    My son enjoys reading all of the "Bones" books. He saves his money and loves going to the store to buy his new books. It's great to see him that excited to read. Keep up the great writing!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    a reviewer

    I love the pictures in the book. I am going to try to get all of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    i love reading these books there good. bone books are the best books jeff smith has writin. GREAT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    Bone: Eyes of the Storm

    What would you do if you were having crazy dreams about your childhood that you don¿t even remember happening? What would you do if you found out they did happen after all these years of being lied to that they never happened? What would you do if you had rat creatures chasing you that ran you out of your home because of your parents? Well Gran¿ma Ben, Thorn and Fone Bone know exactly what to do because this is all happening to them. Read Bone: Eyes of the Storm to find out why this is happening to them. The book Bone: Eyes of the Storm is a book about three cousins (the Bone cousins), a girl named Thorn, and Thorn¿s relative Gran¿ma Ben who live with each other. Thorn has these crazy dreams about her past that lead her to questions she doesn¿t have answers to. Fone Bone is a very close friend to her. So one day, Thorn decides to tell Fone Bone about her dreams. They go to the barn and Gran¿ma Ben walks in on them talking about the dreams. She got upset and ran off. Thorn and Fone Bone went after her to find out why she was so upset. Gran¿ma Ben told them why Thorn had been having those dreams and Thorn got upset because Gran¿ma Ben had been lying to her. Then they found out that the rat creatures were after them because of Thorn¿s parents. Gran¿ma Ben, Thorn and Fone Bone packed up their belongings and left the valley. I believe that one deeper meaning in this book is that you can always count on friends to talk to them and trust them because Thorn counted on Fone Bone to tell her dreams to and she trusted him with what she was telling him. I think Fone Bone has a great personality because he is open-minded about what people have to say. He¿s nice, cute and funny. Fone Bone has a huge crush on Thorn, but he never told her. He writes poems to her secretly, but he never gives them to her. Fone Bone¿s character is original. This book is exciting, funny and adventurous because the character¿s make it funny with the things they say and do and they travel to several places throughout these Bone books. I enjoy reading these hilarious comic books because of all the adventure and humor in them. In conclusion, this book is laugh out loud funny. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading hilarious and adventurous comic books. They¿re great!! I don¿t know who wouldn¿t want to read Bone books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    The greatest book EVER!!!

    I'm don't really read to many comic book or books with pictures too often. But when i read a few pages of the 1st book i got hooked, and HAD to read the rest. This is a great book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    An Addictive Tale of Exciting and Surprising Events!

    In Bone 3: Eyes of the Storm, Thorn, one of the main characters, has strange dreams that, as she believes, link to her past. She tries desperately to learn about herself, and what her dreams are supposed to mean. Eventually, her Grandmother Ben tells her. She tells Thorn about how she is heir to the throne of a land called Atheia and that during a great war against the monsters called rat creatures, or hairy men, she was given to the dragons for safe- keeping, to prevent her from being killed. Thorn also learns that Grandmother Ben has lied to her, claiming that dragons don¿t even exist. She becomes angry at Grandmother Ben for lying to her, and still doesn¿t completely understand her past, but is somewhat content with what she¿s learned. The conflict of Bone 3: Eyes of the Storm is not between Thorn and Grandmother Ben, and is not completely understandable. People want to know certain things, like ¿Why did Grandmother Ben lie to Thorn?¿ The main idea is somewhat confusing, which is one of the many things that makes this book so interesting, this is because it leaves the reader curious about what is happening and wanting to read more. This book is suspenseful and gripping, it is nearly impossible to put down, especially during the climax. This is because of the suspense of the climax, which is a family fight, which is always interesting. This book is impossible to forget, especially because of the cliffhanger ending. Cliffhangers often leave readers filled with curiosity, and that is what keeps people wanting to read all the books in the series, if there is a series involved. Otherwise, this is obviously and truly an excellent book. Bone 3: Eyes of the Storm, is an exiting book! Mystery, suspense, and humor can be hard qualities to fit into a story at times, but this book pulls it off with profession. I strongly recommend this book, even though I am not much of a reader, I know a good book when I read one! Of course, since this book is titled Bone 3: Eyes of the Storm, it is obvious that there are other books in this series, first of all, Bone 1: Out from Boneville, and Bone 2: The Great Cow Race. These are also excellent books, and read them first, just so you understand the story- line. All-in-all, this is an awesome book, I wouldn¿t give a second thought about reading it, nobody else should, either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Read this book!!!

    If you love Bone, this is a book for you. Eyes of the Storm explains so much, that all those secrets spinning around in your head will diminish as the danger comes closer and the secrets uncover themselves. Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    Easily, the best!

    I chose this book from my school bookfair because it looked very interesting and fun,and it is! I will recomend it alot to people that are about 10 or 11 years old who like mystery and fun books. This book is about a rare creature ¿Bone¿ that likes Thorn (the girl) and when Granma finds out they get into very serious problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    GrEaT tO rEaD!!!

    the 3rd book of Bones is really great! i have one myself and has read it at least over 7 times! this book is sumthing EVERYONE will enjoy, and remember. Bones has some comedy, suspense, romance, and a little bit of scary stuff... Really, if u haven't read ANY Bones books yet, i recommend you try reading them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    One of the best out there

    This book is as good as it gets, equal to the previous two. Though I'm a reluctant reader, I read Bone non-stop. It was simply fantastiac, and nothing short of that!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    the coolest book ever

    this book is a great adventure story.i love it!im a true bone fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    the best one yet!

    I am a big fan of the new bone chapter comic books, and I own #1 and #2. These books are great, and highly suggested. I can't wait to recieve this book! Whoo hoo! I can't even start to think of a better comic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2