Customer Reviews for

Eyes on Target: Inside Stories from the Brotherhood of the U.S. Navy SEALs

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional book! This is a great way to learn about the histor

Exceptional book! This is a great way to learn about the history of the Navy SEALs with some great details on Benghazi, Fallujah, and many more combat stories.

posted by 1Fox on March 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If you have read Lone Survivor or No Easy Day you are surely goi

If you have read Lone Survivor or No Easy Day you are surely going to be disappointed with this book. It's almost as the author's just took stories out of other SEAL books and put them in this one. And it's filled with so many errors and inaccuracies that I lost complet...
If you have read Lone Survivor or No Easy Day you are surely going to be disappointed with this book. It's almost as the author's just took stories out of other SEAL books and put them in this one. And it's filled with so many errors and inaccuracies that I lost complete interest. By far the worse book about SEALs or Special Operations that i have ever read.  

posted by Anonymous on March 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Exceptional book! This is a great way to learn about the histor

    Exceptional book! This is a great way to learn about the history of the Navy SEALs with some great details on Benghazi, Fallujah, and many more combat stories.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Great read!  Really enjoyed it...  Amazing insight into the live

    Great read!  Really enjoyed it...  Amazing insight into the lives of our brave Navy SEALs and how they get things done -- no excuses. Loved the Drago's War chapter. The timeline on Benghazi was also very informative -- our government is still not being completely truthful with us. We should never forget the heroes that have sacrificed so much for our country.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    If you have read Lone Survivor or No Easy Day you are surely goi

    If you have read Lone Survivor or No Easy Day you are surely going to be disappointed with this book. It's almost as the author's just took stories out of other SEAL books and put them in this one. And it's filled with so many errors and inaccuracies that I lost complete interest. By far the worse book about SEALs or Special Operations that i have ever read.  

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    "In times of war or uncertainty there is a special breed of

    "In times of war or uncertainty there is a special breed of warrior ready to answer our Nation's call. A common man with uncommon desire to succeed.

    Forged by adversity, he stands alongside America's finest special operations forces to serve his country, the American people, and protect their way of life.

    Brave men have fought and died building the proud tradition and feared reputation that I am bound to uphold. In the worst of conditions, the legacy of my teammates steadies my resolve and silently guides my every deed. I will not fail." (Portions of the United States Navy SEAL - The SEAL Creed.

    If you are a member, it doesn't matter where or when you served. You can show up uninvited at funerals of the youngest or oldest veterans and be hailed as a brother by total strangers. You can phone another SEAL whom you've never met and be taken for a drink. You might show up to mow the lawn of a widow whose husband died before you served. The bonds are strong partly because the group is so small. There have been fewer than three thousand U.S. Navy SEALs in the history of the world and about half of them are still alive. They all know, or know of, each other. The SEALs call themselves a "brotherhood," and they actually are one. What defines a SEAL is his unwillingness to never, ever give up. It requires extraordinary will in all three aspects of human existence: body, mind and spirit. Very, very few men are dominant in all three." (excerpt from Eyes on Target)

    The SEAL Code

    Loyalty to Country, Team, and Teammate

    Serve with Honor and Integrity On and Off the Battlefield

    Ready to Lead, Ready to Follow, Never Quit

    Take Responsibility for your Actions and the Actions of Your Teammates

    Excel as Warriors through Discipline and Innovation

    Train for War, Fight to Win, Defeat our Nation's Enemies

    Earn Your Trident every day.

    I have always admired the hard work and dedication of our armed forces but none so much as the Navy SEALs especially after reading Eyes on Target: Inside Stories From the Brotherhood of the U.S. Navy SEALs by Scott McEwen and Richard Miniter. It truly takes the readers back into the origins of the SEALs, through training, graduation and missions where they were not always supported by our government through the politics that plague getting the job done.

    Both of these authors share some of the infamous stories that we, as readers, may have heard about, but include details most of us have not heard. From Operation Red Wings in Afghanistan where the lives of Lt Michael Murphy, Senior Crew Chief Dan Healy, communications officer Dan Dietz, and sniper Matthew Axelson were lost to Fallujah which claimed the lives of U.S. Navy SEAL Scott Helvenston and three American Blackwater contractors whose bodies were left hanging from a city bridge over the Euphrates river; and finally the Benghazi attacks that have taken the lives of U.S. Ambassador Christopher Stevens, Gregory Hicks and Tyrone Woods both former U.S. Navy SEALs while our government sat back for hours and did nothing while watching live video feeds sent by drones of what was happening.

    What is appalling reading this is why our government and even our current President did nothing to expedite the rescue of these men even though for weeks Ambassador Stevens asked for more security at the U.S. Embassy in Libya. Due to budget cutbacks they never provided him the assets he asked for even when violence was escalating and numerous attacks to the Embassy showed that insurgents were testing the response of what could be accomplished in small steps. How people sat back knowing there were five possible scenarios that could have saved the lives of Hicks and Woods but none of them were considered.

    Included in this book are detailed timelines of even during the Benghazi attack, sample rescue scenarios from a military expert who believes that help could have reached Benghazi compound in time, as well as the U.S. House Republican Conference Interim Progress Report on the events surrounding the September 11, 2012 Terrorist Attacks on Benghazi.

    I received Eyes on Target by Scott McEwen and Richard Miniter compliments of Center Street Publishing for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for my review and the opinions are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. It does provide the reader with enough details on what was happening during those attacks and what our own government response was and how they continue to intervene in playing politics when it comes to getting in the way of the SEALs getting the job done. It is saddening to see how in so many other situations this would never have happened, but why it unfolded the way it did on 9/11 needs to be addressed and resolved. There is too many questions that still remain to be answered by our own president and those that were in a position to provide help but didn't. I easily rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Rich Follett for Readers' Favorite Eyes on Target b

    Reviewed by Rich Follett for Readers' Favorite

    Eyes on Target by Scott McEwen and Richard Miniter offers an unblinking look at the history, life, work, successes, and failures of the Navy SEALs from the time the program was founded until the present. As with most special-interest publications, a certain foreknowledge is helpful  for a complete understanding of the text - the world of the SEALs is so acronym-laden that it would be wise for the uninitiated to keep a notepad handy to record the meanings of three- and four-letter monikers assigned to apparatus, organizations, and initiatives throughout the narrative. Tracking the action requires a herculean short-term memory for those who do not know the SEAL code.

    One of the most extraordinary and timely features in Eyes on Target is a moment-to-moment recounting of the events of September 11, 2012 in Benghazi, where the U.S. ambassador was killed in a terrorist attack and two brave SEALs gave their lives to save 40 Americans against impossible odds. The aftermath of the Benghazi terrorist attack has made recent headlines as Federal investigations have been called for, the premise being that viable and realistic options were available for rescue missions to save the lives of the ambassador and the SEALs, along with the others. The last chapters of Scott McEwen and Richard Miniter’s Eyes on Target are a compendium of sample rescue scenarios and an indictment of the administration which failed to implement any of them. The evidence is compelling; the anger, palpable. The code of the SEALs involves a strict adherence to duty and an absolute commitment to leaving no man behind, whether the assailant is a terrorist or a political cover-up. SEALS are a breed apart, and this is a book like no other.

    The narrative is jaw-dropping and utterly riveting. Voice actor Holter Graham never misses an opportunity to reinforce the severity and significance of the events and figures reported in the text; his sonorous baritone has exactly the amount of gravitas required to lend an air of authority and legitimacy to the stories reported in Scott McEwen and Richard Miniter’s arresting text. Eyes on Target will open your eyes, expand your mind and awaken an appropriate sense of outrage for even the most apolitical, recalcitrant reader. Much like the SEALs it honors, Eyes on Target will not settle for anything less than absolute fulfillment of its mission.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Covers a number of unknown accounts of missions, especially Bengazhi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Navy seals

    To every that saying that the book suck you do not know history leave the seals alone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Good Book

    It was worth the $!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    What happens after deployment? you need to read this to find out!

    Up until now all you ever knew about the deployment of Seals was generically cleansed, now you are put into specific locales. These are both ongoing and previous events, naming names and actionable missions. The representation by the author is specific and factual, no prejudices presented. The reader draws his own conclusions. Highly recommended !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2014

    Very Interesting

    Enjoyed this book. Gave the history of the Navy Seals and told about some of their missions. Went into great detail about Benghazi. So thankful to have these guys on our side. Sure hope politics don't stop them from protecting us.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Well written, but not what I expected

    This book was well written with some great stories from Richard Marcinko and others. It truly gives you a sense of the sacrifices these warriors make on a daily basis. The book deals with the Benghazi catastrophe and how that was screwed up in Washington. There are some points regarding that incident that I never heard of before reading this book. I did not care for the three probable scenarios part of the book. All in all it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    highly recomended

    If half of what he writes is true, I don't understand how the administration gets away with it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Bad read

    Full of inaccuracies...nothing more than a re-hashing of Bengahzi....I have read many books on Special Forces and this is by far the worst

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    SUPERB

    This work is a terrific read. Most importantly, it explores, in detail, five possible rescue missions for the Benghazi travesty. I highly recommend the McEwen-Miniter book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1