Customer Reviews for

Eyewitness to Power: The Essence of Leadership, Nixon to Clinton

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Gergen

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Real world Leadership lessons

    Interesting stories and insights from the inside. Wonderful leadership lessons which everyone can internalize and Apply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    Finally...some insight that's real!

    While I don't deem myself to be a political expert of any sort, I do like to find out about people who have attained positions of power and wonder who they are and how they got where they are. This book provided some great insight to the questions I have always pondered.<BR/><BR/>We hear so much about the "bad" side of government. It was nice to finally read something that showed what really happens and that it's not all bad. What it boils down to is people are people and no one is perfect.<BR/><BR/>In Michael Douglas' speech in the movie, The American President, he says "....that being President of this country was, to a certain extent, about character. And although I've not been willing to engage in his [Senator Rumson] attacks on me, I have been here three years and three days, and I can tell you without hesitation: Being President of this country is entirely about character." Mr. Gergen's book shows the true character of these men as well as the people around them. It removes the questions about what really goes on behind the scenes, and how what we hear as outsiders can be 100% accurate or completely off the mark.<BR/><BR/>During the 2008 election, Mr. Gergen was one of the few experts I followed on CNN for his take on what was happening. I find him to be a man that really knows his way around the Washington game, while simultaneously being a real person who cares for the greater good. <BR/><BR/>I enjoyed this book as a layperson - not a political science major or die-hard political aficionado looking to tear it to bits. It was a book that took away some of my naivety, and solidified what I had always felt was happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Interesting Inside Information

    Gergen's insights into Leadership aren't revolutionary. What makes this book readable is his personal experience working for so many Presidents. He shows a bit of partisanship in his glowing histories of Reagan and Nixon, but does give Clinton a fair appraisal. I was surprised he would have anything nice to say about Clinton after his experience in that particular White House, but Gergen seems to have few bones to pick. As a book on Leadership, it is sub-par, but as an "eyewitness" account to history, it is an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1