Customer Reviews for

The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Book Nerd's Dream!

When I first picked up The Eyre Affair, I had no idea what to expect, other than friends saying I would love it. Well, they were right!
Jasper Fforde creates this amazing world of a very strange 1980's England, where the door-to-door proselytizers are Baconians, trying...
When I first picked up The Eyre Affair, I had no idea what to expect, other than friends saying I would love it. Well, they were right!
Jasper Fforde creates this amazing world of a very strange 1980's England, where the door-to-door proselytizers are Baconians, trying to convince you that it was Francis Bacon who was responsible for the works under "his pen name", Shakespeare. Oh, and time travel is a matter of fact, the Crimean War is still being waged, and dirigibles are the way to travel the sky!
The story woven in, around, and because of this world had me hooked pretty quickly. Mixing my knowledge of literature with this topsy-turvy world of literary detectives, Fforde captures the imagination and doesn't let it go!
Before I finished reading it, I went and bought all of his other works. It's become the first book I suggest and the one that I haven't stopped talking about yet! Go read it!

posted by LinusRenee on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Premise, Not So Great Execution

I liked this and I'm glad I read this--but I expected to love it, and I didn't and won't be reading more of Fforde. The book has a fantastic core premise: fictional characters can drop into the real world and intervene in lives; real people can drop into works of fictio...
I liked this and I'm glad I read this--but I expected to love it, and I didn't and won't be reading more of Fforde. The book has a fantastic core premise: fictional characters can drop into the real world and intervene in lives; real people can drop into works of fiction and refashion the story. The heroine, Thursday Next, is a member of Special Operations 27--currently she's on the heels of a criminal mastermind who is murdering and kidnapping fictional characters--including the beloved Jane Eyre.

This isn't the only narrative strand--the novel is set in an alternate universe where a lot of the history we know happened differently. (Time travel is a fact in this world and the timeline it seems continually tweaked by operatives.) In this novel the Crimean War has been going on for 131 years--Thursday is a veteran of that war and it pops up and intertwines in the plot in a clever way. There's also text-eating bookworms, extinct creatures brought back to life to be made into pets--like Thursday's dodo, productions of Richard III done a la The Rocky Horror Picture show and people debate questions of text and authorship with all the fervor of religious disputes.

The book should be a bibliophile's dream with a wealth of literary allusion and word play--a blurb from <i>The Wall Street Journal</i> on the cover calls it a blend of "Monty Python, Harry Potter, Stephen Hawkings and Buffy the Vampire Slayer" and maybe that's the problem for me. It's too manic--too many disparate elements thrown at me even if a great deal of the threads come together at the end. Maybe it's just that I can never quite disappear into this world. Harry Potter is easier. Believe that you can pass through a barrier at Platform 9 3/4 at King's Cross Station into a world of witches and wizards and you're pretty OK from there. People still act like people. But a world where literature is cared about with such zeal is harder.

I also don't feel parts are all that well-written. Almost all of <i>The Eyre Affair</i> is written in first person, but there are patches of third person and third-person like narration and it's not transitioned well. I remember a particularly clunky scene where Thursday talks about her encounter with her nemesis, Hades Archeron, and other parts of the narrative seem clumsy as well.

It's an imaginative story, well-plotted, and I liked Thursday Next, the main narrator of the story. Yet somehow, I found too much of this novel a chore to read to recommend enthusiastically or want to follow more of Thursday's adventures.

posted by Lisa_RR_H on July 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book Nerd's Dream!

    When I first picked up The Eyre Affair, I had no idea what to expect, other than friends saying I would love it. Well, they were right!
    Jasper Fforde creates this amazing world of a very strange 1980's England, where the door-to-door proselytizers are Baconians, trying to convince you that it was Francis Bacon who was responsible for the works under "his pen name", Shakespeare. Oh, and time travel is a matter of fact, the Crimean War is still being waged, and dirigibles are the way to travel the sky!
    The story woven in, around, and because of this world had me hooked pretty quickly. Mixing my knowledge of literature with this topsy-turvy world of literary detectives, Fforde captures the imagination and doesn't let it go!
    Before I finished reading it, I went and bought all of his other works. It's become the first book I suggest and the one that I haven't stopped talking about yet! Go read it!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Inventive

    When I first heard about this book, I was intriqued by the plot concept. I have so many books that I have unread at home but the plotline was compelling me to buy yet another book. I absolutely love Jane Eyre and had actually just read about half of it prior to picking this book up. As I began to read this story I was amused and drawn to the characters first by their creative names and then by their quirkiness. I found the lead character Tuesday Next to be believeable and interesting so I had no problem moving right through the book at a quick pace. What I found the most amusing was the melding of science fiction, a bit of romance, fantasy and good ol humor mixing it up!If you are a fan of classic literature you will appreciate the story line. I would highly recommend this book. I think it would be a super fun book club selection when you get bogged down in serious literature. It was a breath of fresh air for me!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Premise, Not So Great Execution

    I liked this and I'm glad I read this--but I expected to love it, and I didn't and won't be reading more of Fforde. The book has a fantastic core premise: fictional characters can drop into the real world and intervene in lives; real people can drop into works of fiction and refashion the story. The heroine, Thursday Next, is a member of Special Operations 27--currently she's on the heels of a criminal mastermind who is murdering and kidnapping fictional characters--including the beloved Jane Eyre.

    This isn't the only narrative strand--the novel is set in an alternate universe where a lot of the history we know happened differently. (Time travel is a fact in this world and the timeline it seems continually tweaked by operatives.) In this novel the Crimean War has been going on for 131 years--Thursday is a veteran of that war and it pops up and intertwines in the plot in a clever way. There's also text-eating bookworms, extinct creatures brought back to life to be made into pets--like Thursday's dodo, productions of Richard III done a la The Rocky Horror Picture show and people debate questions of text and authorship with all the fervor of religious disputes.

    The book should be a bibliophile's dream with a wealth of literary allusion and word play--a blurb from &lt;i&gt;The Wall Street Journal&lt;/i&gt; on the cover calls it a blend of "Monty Python, Harry Potter, Stephen Hawkings and Buffy the Vampire Slayer" and maybe that's the problem for me. It's too manic--too many disparate elements thrown at me even if a great deal of the threads come together at the end. Maybe it's just that I can never quite disappear into this world. Harry Potter is easier. Believe that you can pass through a barrier at Platform 9 3/4 at King's Cross Station into a world of witches and wizards and you're pretty OK from there. People still act like people. But a world where literature is cared about with such zeal is harder.

    I also don't feel parts are all that well-written. Almost all of &lt;i&gt;The Eyre Affair&lt;/i&gt; is written in first person, but there are patches of third person and third-person like narration and it's not transitioned well. I remember a particularly clunky scene where Thursday talks about her encounter with her nemesis, Hades Archeron, and other parts of the narrative seem clumsy as well.

    It's an imaginative story, well-plotted, and I liked Thursday Next, the main narrator of the story. Yet somehow, I found too much of this novel a chore to read to recommend enthusiastically or want to follow more of Thursday's adventures.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hugely fun, but not for everyone

    You have to be willing to go with the flow, because the time warps and twists in this series are imaginative. This is a book for readers -- the more literature you've read, the more you'll appreciate the humor that other readers won't even notice. Some events are shocking, as you get lulled into thinking this is a light comedy of errors. It has the feel of a show ride in Disneyland .... lots of wonder, some thrills, and a few laughs as well.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Sci-fi for English nerds

    A wonderfully clever novel -- this is definitely something any lit-nerd out there should look into! Though I think Fforde could use some work on his pacing, ultimately his plot was inventive, funny and exciting and the world that he writes is extremely well-created. Thursday is engaging, and not too feminine-- male readers could also relate well to her, I'm assuming. I'm looking forward to picking up the next one in the series!

    Read my full review of this and other novels at: http://litelephant.wordpress.com

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Worlds apart...

    The "genre" for this book is near unclassifiable. It has much that Science Fiction fams will enjoy, but then its fun increases for those well read in "literature". Equally some of it is fun in the best possible sense of "silly" (I particularly liked the pet Dodo).<BR/><BR/>As with other loosely related stories that cover multiple books, you can read them out of order. However in this case I would recommend starting with this one - the first Thursday Next story. If you like it then you have the added pleasure of knowing there are more in store...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Beware if a Fan of Eyre

    The Eyre Affair was a thrilling read and I must say thoroughly enjoyable, but it is not for those seeking a novel like Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys. This novel is not going to satisfy those that would like a good look at any of the characters. Rochester is focused on at times and is a pivotal character for the novel, but his personality seems a little out of character. The novel has little to do with Jane Eyre and when the book or the character herself is involved at all in this novel the reader can be left disappointed by the author's interruption of Jane's character. She has no fire and is not allowed to know that the world of the novel is being tampered with. But by the end of this novel, she is allowed to know what is going on and somehow it is fine that she knew then. This loophole has to be the most frustrating thing about the novel in general.
    Thursday Next¿s character is also questionable. Honestly there were many a time where it was hard to distinguish whether she was a female or not. Her gender ambiguity leaves the novel lackluster for many readers. It is like Fforde did not honestly know how to write from a female¿s perspective, or the case might actually be that he wanted the main character to be a male but the interaction with Rochester would not have been correct if Thursday was a male. In either case, Fforde needed to make up his mind and decide which gender Thursday should be. She can be a tomboy, that is fine, but there was just too much confusion there.
    To be honest, this novel is not for any person with a super critical eye who analyzes every detail of a novel. The book would drive a person like that crazy. But for a case of light reading the novel is quite good. Even if you do not know all the books referenced in the novel, it is fine because you will not be missing the meat of the storyline. And even with all my critical words on the novel I can assure you, I read it in a day¿s time and could not put it down. I enjoyed the wit and humor of the book even with the critical errors. So, for those looking for a novel that reminds them of Wide Sargasso Sea, avoid this novel. But if you are looking for an easy read for relaxing after a long day, this could quite be the book for you!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Fun, light, plot-driven read for the classic lit AND time-travel fan

    I guess "steampunk" means: time/ dimensional travel, revisions of history, Ministry of Magic-esque agencies, war vets, classical literature, jokes that only Shakespeare scholars (not even just your average Shakespeare nerds) get, extinct animal cloning, plot-heavy stories, and big baddies named after the river to the underworld (not THAT river, the OTHER river)...then I like steampunk.

    I picked this off a recommended reading list for the steampunk genre and - based on the crossover between this novel and my own personal tastes in (see above) everything, I opted that this would be my foray into contemporary steampunk lit. Truth be told, I started reading it in conjunction with HG Wells' Time Machine and flew through this one despite it being three times as long (or thereabouts) than Wells' classic novel. This book is perfect light reading (light and airy and plot-driven and witty) for the fan of classic literature AND time travel. I wrote on Goodreads that it reminds me A LOT of the SyFy television show "Warehouse 13" (no coincidence, I guess, that my signig other tells me that show is steampunk as well). Very entertaining. Love the mash-up-ness of it.

    I will hope to continue the Thursday Next series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Great read

    A fun and inventive story. I cant wait to read the next book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A must read.

    This is a series that captures you completely from beginning to end. Jasper fforde has become my favorite writer, he is just brilliant. His love of literature and stories brings new life to reading. Such a whirlwind all of these books and a perfect balance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Jasper Fforde is an author who is capable of making the reader u

    Jasper Fforde is an author who is capable of making the reader use their imagination to their fullest ability. The Eyre Affair Affair by Jasper Fforde, combines many literary genres such as drama, romance, mystery, and sci-fi, almost in a way creating his own genre. A combination that could either work very well together or blow up in the authors face. Fforde has such a deep understanding for other literary works that he incorporates them into his book giving it it&rsquo;s humor and interesting spin off twists. Fforde&rsquo;s ideas and imagination are incredible, but also a little confusing.

    Before reading this book I was not expecting the story plot that I was given. I prepared myself to be completely bored reading The Eyre Affair because I am not a fan of Jane Eyre. I did not enjoy Jane Eyre because I felt that Jane started off as a strong independent woman who slowly changed her views and beliefs because of a man. The Eyre Affairs main character Thursday Next is similar to Jane Eyre in the sense she is fearless, loveless, and driven. Thursday is different because she sees herself as an equal to the men in her life. I was really drawn to a strong woman heroine who wasn&rsquo;t put down for being a woman.

    As I began to read The Eyre Affair, I was baffled by the writing style of Fforde. He makes this pretend universe where literature is the king and it&rsquo;s the Spec-Ops job to make sure the literary works never get altered. Fforde's heroine Thursday Next works as a literary detective having the responsibility of tracking down forgeries and changes in literary works. Thursday Nexts, mission is to look for Acheron Hades, who has stolen the original manuscript of Martin Chuzzlewit and killed one of the characters in it. Acheron Hades is also capable of jumping into Jane Eyre and committing other acts and it&rsquo;s Thursday Next&rsquo;s and the Literatecs job to stop him. If you&rsquo;re looking for a book to confuse, mind puzzle, dream, and wow you then The Eyre Affair is a great book to jump into.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Jasper Fforde’s The Eyre Affair is a fun and exciting book

    Jasper Fforde&rsquo;s The Eyre Affair is a fun and exciting book that is loaded with literary allusions and action. What makes this book so exciting is the alternate reality that Fforde has created: time travels, re-created pet dodos, and jumping inside one&rsquo;s favorite novel, or characters jumping out of their novels, are absolutely possible in the setting of The Eyre Affair. Following the action packed story of LiteraTec Detective Thursday Next of England&rsquo;s Special Operations, the plot is propelled keeping a reader on their toes and dying to know what comes next. Fforde shows intricacy in the novel with the multitude of literary allusions he makes; so many, in fact, that one can&rsquo;t possibly catch all of them in one read. This is a great aspect of the book because one can read the novel over and over again and find something new giving one a completely different experience. The book will never get boring!

    The only critique I have of the novel is the fairytale happy ending. There was so much action at the end of the novel it was great! But with that action there came an ending that to me seemed too good to be true. After ten years of not talking, Landen and Thursday just all of a sudden say &ldquo;let&rsquo;s get married?&rdquo; That is very impractical and I feel like it was only thrown in so that the issue and drama of their relationship would be settled. It was as though at the end everything in the plot was closing, so Fforde felt he had to give closure to that too. It was almost like he ran out of ideas so he had the two get married. But it could be seen that just like after Rochester and Jane of Bronte&rsquo;s Jane Eyre after a long separation still loved each other and were married, so also is the case for Thursday and Landen, even though it seems a little too fairytale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Jasper Fforde’s novel, The Eyre Affair is an exciting and

    Jasper Fforde&rsquo;s novel, The Eyre Affair is an exciting and entertaining read. This book breaks the typical genre mold and creates it&rsquo;s own fantasy-fiction realm that readers soon fall in love with. Perhaps the most exciting accomplishment within the novel is the fact that literary characters jump from the pages of their novel, and real life characters jump into the pages of literary texts. In this alternative realm time can stand still, cloning is common and literature is held at a much higher standard. The protagonist of the novel, the independent and dynamic, Thursday Next, is reminiscent of the famous Jane Eyre in Charlotte Bronte&rsquo;s novel. Accordingly, the novel Thursday jumps into is actually Jane Eyre. Thursday&rsquo;s character is likeable and she captures the reader&rsquo;s attention. This novel has the reader closely examining each page to find any literary illusion Fforde has included and hidden within.
    One downfall however is the fact that starting the novel takes a bit of patience. It feels as though Fforde is constantly including literary references which overwhelms any reader who is not comfortable with a plethora of literature. Despite the rough beginning, The Eyre Affair calms down quite quickly and readers are able to enjoy the story. It can be considered a light, but interesting read. I enjoyed reading Fforde&rsquo;s novel and recommend the book to anyone - especially a literature lover. I am truly excited to read the remaining books in Fforde&rsquo;s Thursday Next series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Eyre on the Side of Caution

    Many words can be used to describe Jasper Fforde¿s The Eyre Affair but dull is not one of them. The story is fast paced and totally off the wall wacky in its rampant implementation of time travel, to literary characters popping in and out of reality, and nearly countless genres thrown in between. Fforde walks the very fine line, and by very fine, read razor thin, between hilarious absurdist humor found novels such as Adam Douglas¿ Hithchhiker¿s Guide to the Galaxy and total hack wackiness flop-city found in your local college creative writing class. Sometimes he hits the perfect tone in this tight wire game, but all too often the jokes fall very flat and inevitably detract from what could have been an excellent story.
    The story stars Thursday Next, a pugnacious and spunky literary detective in an alternative 1985 tasked with identifying cases of literary fraud. In this world, England and Russia continue to fight the Crimean War after over one hundred years, time travel is not only possible, but commonplace, and literary characters and people alike can essentially come and go as they please between the real world and the novels the characters inhabit. After Thursday¿s archenemy Acheron Hades, a sort of Joker-esque super villain but not as funny, reappears strange things begin occurring in the world of literature. Characters begin disappearing and culminate with the kidnapping of Jane Eyre straight from the pages of her book. Thus Thursday is tasked with tracking down Hades, stopping his evil plot, and restoring Jane Eyre to its former glory.
    I found the book relatively enjoyable with its story being captivating and fun to read. The pacing employed by Fforde is excellent and never slows from start to finish. The problems arise with the multitude of references and genres Fforde attempted to fit in a relatively short story. The only way to describe the feeling of reading the novel is sheer reference claustrophobia. Too much is going on in the novel from the countless literary references, to the melding of several genres from romance to sci-fi and mystery that the story doesn¿t have a chance to flesh out any single aspect. To call this a mystery novel would show a serious lack of respect to the genre. From the second part of the novel onward it is fairly obvious what is going to happen, and it does. The romance aspect seems forced and fairly unbelievable and honestly doesn¿t belong in the novel at all. While the plot itself is great these side elements distract from it and the novel as a whole suffers. The child like sense of humor falls terribly flat with examples such as characters names being Jack Schitt and Paige Turner to name a few. I do recommend this book but very tentatively. Many people will be turned off by the aspects I¿ve discussed and will find it hard to slough them off without losing the story in the process. Fforde is an ambitious man, but with The Eyre Affair, he might be a bit too ambitious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    For Literacy Nerds Everywhere

    The Eyre Affair was nothing like I originally expected it to be. Considering it was assigned as a required book for one of my college English classes I didn¿t expect a science fiction detective story laced with many English references and funny wordplay, which is exactly what this book delivers. I thoroughly enjoyed The Eyre Affair, it was a quick read containing many different elements that I personally enjoy. There are numerous references to famous works of literature (the general society, belief systems, and names), time travel, werewolf and vampire hunting, romance, mystery, and just plain humor. I enjoyed the way the book contained so many different elements, but it may be difficult, confusing, or irritating to others who don¿t care to follow such a style. Due to the myriad number of references in this book some can get lost as well, but if you are willing to take the time to figure them out, or you are enough of a literary geek like myself to understand most of them, they are quite satisfying and humorous to read. Finally, with a title like The Eyre Affair there has to be some storyline involving the story of Jane Eyre right? Of course it does, however you don¿t actually get into the real meat of that story until about halfway through the book, which was surprising to me. When the narrative does start to involve the world of Jane Eyre, the book really takes off. The plot moves along at a fast pace that caused me to not want to put the book down. I found myself wanting to read more about the adventures of Thursday Next at the end of the novel, and was very pleased to see the book was part of a series. Overall, The Eyre Affair is a funny, fun read that can appeal to up and coming literature lovers as well as hold the attention for those who know the classics by heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Fun But Not Fantastic

    This novel is about an alternate reality, time travel, literature characters coming to life, black holes, vampires, werewolves, Martin Chuzzlewit, Jane Eyre and plocking dodos. Though this lighthearted story can be enjoyable so long as you don¿t try to take it seriously, this isn¿t a novel I would give a second read. The alternate reality Fforde has created is fascinatingly imaginative, but his enthusiasm for it is one of the biggest problems with the novel. In an effort to show readers every aspect of Thursday Next¿s crazy, upside down world, the main plot is often put on the backburner in order to make room for a staggering number of side plots. These side plots usually take the story absolutely nowhere and can be dropped so quickly that it takes a while to realize that the story is never going to refer back to those moments ever again. Characters drop in and out of the story is a similar manner- so quickly that you either hardly realized they were there or are surprised to find out that they are also never mentioned again. The number of characters is just as staggering as the number of pointless side plots, and they are often hard to keep up with. It doesn¿t help that they all have unusual names intended to be punny or clever but that actually make them even more difficult to remember. Jane Eyre fans take note, the title of this book is very misleading. Jane herself plays no active role in this story, and Jane Eyre, the novel, is barely mentioned until the second half. When not going off on a random tangent, the first half of the story focuses on the theft of the original manuscript of Charles Dickens¿ book Martin Chuzzlewit and the threat posed to its main character. It isn¿t until much later that Thursday Next must enter the Jane Eyre story in order to protect it from the same man who stole Martin Chuzzlewit. So, if you were looking for a futuristic twist on the Jane Eyre story, this book is not for you. Despite its many drawbacks, this is still a entertaining book. If you can accept all the random twists, turns, characters and pointless moments and just enjoy the imaginative wackiness, you¿ll still have fun. Though it¿s not a book I plan on reading again, I don¿t at all regret reading it the first time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Refreshingly Fun!

    Jasper Fforde¿s The Eyre Affair is easily one of the most refreshing novels I have had the chance to read this year. The plot is smart, yet not so mundane that it alienates itself from any particular audience. With a novel steeped in such classical literary figures Fforde could have easily gone overboard in his approach, but it is obvious that he doesn¿t take himself too seriously. Fforde is not trying to replicate the appeal of Jane Eyre or Dickens, but is instead simply paying homage to the greats. I find it to be a wonderful tribute to the great works that have shaped the literary world, and an interesting peek into a society that holds literature in such esteem. It¿s a successful balance of literary puns and suspense; a cooperative effort of hidden cameos and romance.
    To deconstruct The Eyre Affair for all that it doesn¿t do would really take away from all that it does accomplish. There is a question of how far Fforde¿s demographic reach really is, and a question of whether this novel belongs in the ¿young adult¿ section of bookstores. I believe that such black and white categorization isn¿t necessary or appropriate where The Eyre Affair is concerned. They way Fforde arranges the narrative, with time hopping epigraphs and descents into the classic text themselves, create a complexity that can keep any reader engaged. Although the plot unravels pretty quickly and the character development is somewhat shallow, it is easily redeemed by its sheer inventiveness. The idea of basing a novel around the inner-workings of the narrative itself is engaging and original.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    An Enjoyable Ride

    As the title of this review suggests "The Eyre Affair" was a quick and easy read that was enjoyable. Jasper Fford kept me entertained from the first page to the last. He combined mystery/science fiction with a literary classic, and made them flow together. I never would have imagined that ¿Jane Eyre¿ could be a science fiction novel before. I enjoyed the characters and how some were named ironically. The plot, without giving too much away, is about a man named Hades who has stolen the original copy of Jane Eyre and plans to kill her unless Thursday Next and the SpecOps team gives him what he wants.

    The book was a fun read because I found myself thinking about it when I wasn¿t reading it, constantly wanting to know what was happening. The plot is a little tricky to grasp at first, and sometimes I had to go back and re-read the section that I missed. Even if you don¿t get all the literary references in the novel, it still will hold your attention. If you love "Jane Eyre", but would like to take a break from it, I would suggest this book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Quirky anf fun!!

    One of my daughter's friends lent me her copy of this book the other week and she insisted that I read it. To be polite, I read it...and am sooo happy that I did! I've never read Jane Eyre before but after reading this, I'm dying to know the whole story....The Eyre Affair is a funny, engaging, and totally fun ride!! I loved how this story was incredibly thrilling and engaging, while not taking itself so seriously. Loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Fabulous

    Can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12