BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

F Is for Fugitive (Kinsey Millhone Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Mind-Boggling Mystery from the Past

    'F is For Fugitive' is worthy of a five-star rating because Sue Grafton has written this book with: acute descriptions, an awesome plot, and wonderful clues to keep the reader guessing about the murderer's identity till the very end. This book shows how a detective, Kinsey Millhone, is hired to indentify the murderer who had committed the murder of a teenage girl 17 years ago! Kinsey works arduously to achieve vital pieces of evidence, and has to deal with tricky situations just to solve a mystery. It is a very difficult case for her to solve and you HAVE to read till the very end to see if she actually does solve it. The book is meant for adults or young adults, since it uses grueling vocabulary.
    This book is part of a remarkable series featuring the splendid female detective, Kinsey Millhone. In this book, Jean Timberlake, a high-school girl, was murdered 17 years ago, and the one accused was none other than her boyfriend, Baylee Fowler. He was sentenced to quite a few years in prison since he could not deny the charge, but after a year and a bit he becomes a fugitive, who escaped from the jail. Seventeen years later, he is caught and Royce Fowler, his father, hires Kinsey Millhone to solve the mystery behind Jean Timberlake's murder, and find the actual murderer. It brought out the best in her and helped her understand the value of a family. Sue Grafton 'weaves' this mystery so well that by the end of the book you are left dumb-founded and kicking yourself because the conclusion of the mystery made a lot of sense and seemed obvious. The criteria, according to which this book deserves full points, are based on the details put in by the author, character development, the added suspense, thoroughness of the clues, and the effect of the conclusion.
    The book was a 'complete package' because its critical elements were immaculate. The plot, characters, theme, style and setting were all used in a perfect way. It was pure genius of Grafton to create that small-town atmosphere in that community. She used the background of the murder perfectly to create a feeling of how a murder case would be like to solve after a gap of 17 years. All of the characters fit in very nicely and helped develop the story. The mystery is in first person (according to Kinsey's point of view), which generates a lot of voice. All through the mystery you will see how Grafton refers to the background by adding more and more information. Every clue that Grafton uses in the book is so cleverly 'hidden', that by the end of the mystery you actually understand how they fit together. All the characters in the book are different because of their uniqueness. A lot of mystery books have been written, and this book is right up there, with the best of the lot.
    All in all, this book has what it takes to keep the reader going on, page by page. As you read the book you will see: how acute the descriptions are, the effectiveness of the plot, and the numerous clues to keep the reader guessing about the murderer's identity till the very end. So, Kinsey's role in this mystery is not only to solve the mystery, but to also make sure that Baylee Fowler is unharmed. Jean Timberlake's identity as a depressed teenager also has a great role to play because the actual cause of the murder can only be found after Jean's unusual background is uncovered. If you want to read a true mystery, this would be the one I would recommend. It is a memorable. This book is definitely worth full points

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    F is for Fugitive by Sue Grafton is everything that I had hoped

    F is for Fugitive by Sue Grafton is everything that I had hoped it would be.  This is the first book in the series that I actually figured out before the final chapter.  The writing style is amazing.  One little paragraph in the middle of the book is the only one that led to the final realization.  I did not know how it would end at the time, but once I finished, my mind flashed back to that paragraph and all the pieces fell into place.  I have said this before about the other books in the series, but Sue Grafton weaves the individual strands of the story, then pulls them all together into the web of lies and deception at the end.  Where does she come up with all of these ideas.  I am a fan.  Moving on to G. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    I love Kinsey Millhone

    As usual, Sue Grafton puts together a great mystery. I'm reading them in order so obviously I've only been through a few, but haven't yet been able to figure out 'who done it' til almost the end. I like Kinsey's self-deprecating humor, it makes her seem more human. I plan to read them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Heg

    Vhfhrrhechff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Morgyn

    Kid,
    Sorry for like, causing any trouble we had last night. I think I had an MP change, but Im not exactly sure. I get that if you hate me, and Im really sorry. Im also sorry for the way Avril acted. O should have held her back or something. Im not exactly sure of youre reading thos right now, but I just wanted to say:
    I'm sorry. And if you hate me and we're officially broken up, then fine. Whatever makes you happiest.

    ~Morgyn Ten Waterman. Moopie. Moop. Etc

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Death the kid

    He packs his stuff and leaves

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Dapplekit

    <fu_ck> maybe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Must Read...

    I have just recently became a reader of Ms. Grafton. But I have fallen in love with her Kinsy Millhone character. She is gutsy and not afraid to take on any situation. Can't wait for the next book to come out. Love it..............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    F is for fun

    What an imagination to come up with the story lines. Even outlandish situations keep your attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    F is for f*cked up book

    Sucks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    J

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    F by sue grafton

    Really one of her best books so far. Poor tap you have got to read what happened to this looser. Fast paced action! Karebee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    SUPER!!!

    This is my first Grafton book but it will NOT be my last! Super writer and great story line that does not drag. Decently written without raw material. Good meaty novel -- would recommend to all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2