Customer Reviews for

"F" is for Fugitive

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    F is for Fearless!

    F is for Fugitive becomes the sixth installment in the Millhone's series, and Sue Grafton doesn't fail in delivering a brilliant and well-crafted novel. Grafton delivers another outstanding mystery, a page turner with twist and turns. An exquisite lineup of characters make F is for Fugitive, much alike as previous installments; the narrative technique that Grafton uses is simple and eloquent. Grafton has a way to unfold the story, and make Kinsey's character very truthful. F is for Fugitive puts Kinsey on the task to uncover who really killed Jean Timberlake, seventeen years after Bailey Fowler plead guilty and was convicted. One year later he escaped from prison to never be seen again. He became a fugitive. F is for Fugitive is beautiful because as the series progresses and the novel unfolds Grafton gives us another insight into Kinsey's life. F is for Fugitive makes no exception. As she puts it " Every violent death represents the climax of one story and an introduction to its sequel" The story is a reflection of that and how the characters' lives were affected by it. Grafton is magnificent in wrapping the story, and giving Kinsey a lot of room to reflect on her own life. F is for fugitive has one of the most delicate endings when it comes to kinsey's character, and somehow becomes unforgettable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Mind-Boggling Mystery from the Past

    'F is For Fugitive' is worthy of a five-star rating because Sue Grafton has written this book with: acute descriptions, an awesome plot, and wonderful clues to keep the reader guessing about the murderer's identity till the very end. This book shows how a detective, Kinsey Millhone, is hired to indentify the murderer who had committed the murder of a teenage girl 17 years ago! Kinsey works arduously to achieve vital pieces of evidence, and has to deal with tricky situations just to solve a mystery. It is a very difficult case for her to solve and you HAVE to read till the very end to see if she actually does solve it. The book is meant for adults or young adults, since it uses grueling vocabulary.
    This book is part of a remarkable series featuring the splendid female detective, Kinsey Millhone. In this book, Jean Timberlake, a high-school girl, was murdered 17 years ago, and the one accused was none other than her boyfriend, Baylee Fowler. He was sentenced to quite a few years in prison since he could not deny the charge, but after a year and a bit he becomes a fugitive, who escaped from the jail. Seventeen years later, he is caught and Royce Fowler, his father, hires Kinsey Millhone to solve the mystery behind Jean Timberlake's murder, and find the actual murderer. It brought out the best in her and helped her understand the value of a family. Sue Grafton 'weaves' this mystery so well that by the end of the book you are left dumb-founded and kicking yourself because the conclusion of the mystery made a lot of sense and seemed obvious. The criteria, according to which this book deserves full points, are based on the details put in by the author, character development, the added suspense, thoroughness of the clues, and the effect of the conclusion.
    The book was a 'complete package' because its critical elements were immaculate. The plot, characters, theme, style and setting were all used in a perfect way. It was pure genius of Grafton to create that small-town atmosphere in that community. She used the background of the murder perfectly to create a feeling of how a murder case would be like to solve after a gap of 17 years. All of the characters fit in very nicely and helped develop the story. The mystery is in first person (according to Kinsey's point of view), which generates a lot of voice. All through the mystery you will see how Grafton refers to the background by adding more and more information. Every clue that Grafton uses in the book is so cleverly 'hidden', that by the end of the mystery you actually understand how they fit together. All the characters in the book are different because of their uniqueness. A lot of mystery books have been written, and this book is right up there, with the best of the lot.
    All in all, this book has what it takes to keep the reader going on, page by page. As you read the book you will see: how acute the descriptions are, the effectiveness of the plot, and the numerous clues to keep the reader guessing about the murderer's identity till the very end. So, Kinsey's role in this mystery is not only to solve the mystery, but to also make sure that Baylee Fowler is unharmed. Jean Timberlake's identity as a depressed teenager also has a great role to play because the actual cause of the murder can only be found after Jean's unusual background is uncovered. If you want to read a true mystery, this would be the one I would recommend. It is a memorable. This book is definitely worth full points

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Teriffic!!!!!!

    Sue Grafton, the author of F is for Fugitive and the rest of the alphabet mystery books, writes another entertaining book that keeps the reader guessing about what will happen next. Kinsey Millhone, a PI. from Santa Teresa, California, is hired to track down the true killer in a murder investigation 17 years ago. The father of the accused murderer hires Kinsey to retrace the steps of the wrongfully accused son that was sent to jail for a murder he swears he didn't commit. After escaping from prison, he is picked up by the cops a year later, then his father hires Kinsey to find the real murderer. Kinsey is faced with exciting twists and turns has she hunts for the true killer to save an innocent man from going back to jail. I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys an exciting book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    A fun read

    A fun and easy book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    F is for Fugitive by Sue Grafton is everything that I had hoped

    F is for Fugitive by Sue Grafton is everything that I had hoped it would be.  This is the first book in the series that I actually figured out before the final chapter.  The writing style is amazing.  One little paragraph in the middle of the book is the only one that led to the final realization.  I did not know how it would end at the time, but once I finished, my mind flashed back to that paragraph and all the pieces fell into place.  I have said this before about the other books in the series, but Sue Grafton weaves the individual strands of the story, then pulls them all together into the web of lies and deception at the end.  Where does she come up with all of these ideas.  I am a fan.  Moving on to G. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    I love Kinsey Millhone

    As usual, Sue Grafton puts together a great mystery. I'm reading them in order so obviously I've only been through a few, but haven't yet been able to figure out 'who done it' til almost the end. I like Kinsey's self-deprecating humor, it makes her seem more human. I plan to read them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    I would recommend reading the whole series.

    Have enjoyed all of the Kinsey Millhone series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Heg

    Vhfhrrhechff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Morgyn

    Kid,
    Sorry for like, causing any trouble we had last night. I think I had an MP change, but Im not exactly sure. I get that if you hate me, and Im really sorry. Im also sorry for the way Avril acted. O should have held her back or something. Im not exactly sure of youre reading thos right now, but I just wanted to say:
    I'm sorry. And if you hate me and we're officially broken up, then fine. Whatever makes you happiest.

    ~Morgyn Ten Waterman. Moopie. Moop. Etc

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Death the kid

    He packs his stuff and leaves

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Dapplekit

    <fu_ck> maybe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Must Read...

    I have just recently became a reader of Ms. Grafton. But I have fallen in love with her Kinsy Millhone character. She is gutsy and not afraid to take on any situation. Can't wait for the next book to come out. Love it..............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    F is for fun

    What an imagination to come up with the story lines. Even outlandish situations keep your attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    F is for f*cked up book

    Sucks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    J

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Heyr

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    Floral Beach wasn't much of a town: six streets long and three deep, its only notable feature a strip of sand fronting the Pacific. It was on that sandy beach seventeen years ago that the strangled body of Jean Timberlake had been found.

    The people of floral Beach didn't pay a whole lot of mind to past history, especially when Bailey Fowler, the self-confessed killer, had been properly processed and convicted. They weren't even unduly concerned when, a year after the murder, Fowler walked away from the men's prison at San Luis Obispo, never to be seen again. After all, everyone knew Jean had been a wild kid. "Like mother, like daughter," some said--though never within hearing of Shana Timberlake, who, whatever her faults, still mourned her murdered child.

    And then, by sheer fluke, the cops stumbled on Bailey Fowler. And a case seventeen years dead came murderously to life again.

    For Royce Fowler, old and sick with not much time left, his son's reappearance was the chance to heal an old wound. For Kinsey Millhone, the case was a long shot, but she agreed to take it on. She couldn't know then it would lead her to probe the passions buried just below the surface of family relations, where old wounds fester and the most cherished emotions become warped until they fuse into deadly, soul-destroying time bombs.

    One of today's hottest mystery writers is back with the latest installment in her alphabet sleuth series. This multi- layered novel explores the explosive passions that reignite questions concerning the 17-year-old murder of a promiscuous teenage girl.

    It was pretty good. I thought i knew who the killer was, and was kind of surprised that the killer wasn't someone that I suspected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    F by sue grafton

    Really one of her best books so far. Poor tap you have got to read what happened to this looser. Fast paced action! Karebee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good story

    Another good read by Sue Grafton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    A little slow

    I have begun reading the alphabet books. This was a bit slow in spots but was overall pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4