Customer Reviews for

FANG (Maximum Ride Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1663 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1169)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(76)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Holy Tollitos

Oh my god! Oh my god! Oh my god! I cannot wait for this to come out! I can't wait! and OMG Fang cannot die! it would totally ruin it! And then max would be sad and it would be depressing and Angel better be wrong or so help me god I will find James Patterson and me and ...
Oh my god! Oh my god! Oh my god! I cannot wait for this to come out! I can't wait! and OMG Fang cannot die! it would totally ruin it! And then max would be sad and it would be depressing and Angel better be wrong or so help me god I will find James Patterson and me and a bunch of other fan girls will hold him hostage until he changes it. But, I really really hope that fang doesn't die. It's unlikely but still! Sorry, rabid fan girl moment. It has passed. For now until the book comes out! OMG! O.O

posted by 710800 on January 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Maximum Ride

I've been waiting to read this for forever, but it was one of the worst books yet in the series!I gotta admit it was kinda sweet and all but it seemed like a bunch of fans wrote it. I was waiting for the same old action packed thriller that the other books have been but...
I've been waiting to read this for forever, but it was one of the worst books yet in the series!I gotta admit it was kinda sweet and all but it seemed like a bunch of fans wrote it. I was waiting for the same old action packed thriller that the other books have been but it was pretty corny. I mean the letter and all ...sweet but " Goodbye , my love"? really that doesn't sound anything that even a 15 year old boy would say.

posted by 1399373 on March 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1684 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 85
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    Holy Tollitos

    Oh my god! Oh my god! Oh my god! I cannot wait for this to come out! I can't wait! and OMG Fang cannot die! it would totally ruin it! And then max would be sad and it would be depressing and Angel better be wrong or so help me god I will find James Patterson and me and a bunch of other fan girls will hold him hostage until he changes it. But, I really really hope that fang doesn't die. It's unlikely but still! Sorry, rabid fan girl moment. It has passed. For now until the book comes out! OMG! O.O

    29 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    good but not great

    I really enjoy this series but, like so many other people, I don't feel the rants about global warming and pollution are really called for. I read for enjoyment. While I am well aware of the growing global warming crisis and the need to educate others on pollution, I do not think that it should be preached throughout my FICTION novel. It takes a bit of the fun out of the book. Also, I cringed everytime I had to read about Fang's blog. The slang was awful and outdated. It seemed as if it were to just fill in pages. Other than those things, I did enjoy the book.

    17 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Maximum Ride Will Have You Flipping Through The Pages Wide-Eyed

    Patterson catches your heart with the epic challenges we share with our favorite mutant avian-americans who battle it out for survival and - well, saving the world.
    In the first three books its all about unveiling the past and Max's quest as they go through battles to the death and earth-shattering revelations. Patterson draws us in by setting up a mission and introduces us to the world of Max and The Flock. Though, im going to be terribly honest and admit that his writing could definitely be improved. I dont think he fully grasped the mind of a fourteen year old. I know he was trying to make it family friendly for the younger kids out there, but he made Max seem too childish at times, even though shes been through a world that prepared her to think as an adult.
    Then we jump up and down in anticipation as we reach for the fourth installment in the series, The Final Warning. Fang and Max further explore their relationship and Patterson tries to convey the message that we really need to help the environment. Really, im all for that kind of thing. But to deliberately push pause on all the action didnt seem like a strong way to go. Then he creates a one-hit super villain that we will never see again. I felt as though he was just throwing something out there to keep the readers at bay. It seemed like an amateur move to me.
    When we get to Max and he expertly combines giving readers a message on how to help the environment and also keeps us crazily flipping through the pages with hope of Fang and Max's new relationship and a nail-biting plot that will keep you reading for hours.
    And next, we have Fang. In this book, I think Patterson stopped experimenting and jumped to exactly what a true author can do - make you feel. In Fang, his writing puts you through so many emotions. You feel the heart-break, the trauma, and all of the love.
    In this series, you grow with the characters and you learn to be part of the flock as you learn to love them. I inhaled the Maximum Ride Series, and I give many kudos to Patterson. At times, he may seem cliche and predictable, but the characters will find their way into your heart as you cheer them on throughout the ride. Maximum Ride is roller-coaster that will send you off with a kiss and have you begging for more.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Getting Back to the Wonderful Way It Used to Be!

    So, I've been waiting for MONTHS for this book to come out! And now (after just finishing it) I can say I'm not disappointed at all. Book 4 in the Maximum Ride series was terrible and preachy, book 5 was okay, but still a bit preachy and not a lot was exciting, and now it's finally starting to get back to the way the first three books were and I'm so ecstatic! The beginning was so-so, but it got better after Dr. Hans-Whatshisname popped up out of nowhere. The characters were amazing, I laughed a lot, nearly cried at the end, and was surprised and in suspense for most of the book.
    To all those who want to tear Dylan (the new bird-kid) to pieces, he's not all that bad. Really, he's kind of a sweet guy (although not better than Fang--duh).
    This series was going downhill, but now I think it's back on the right track and I'm waiting impatiently for the next book to come out to see what happens next.
    If you're unsure about getting this book, I say go ahead! I really enjoyed it and I think fans of the series will like it a lot too.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    book 6

    I think maximum ride is a action packed triller, and i love it. A way too describe it is when you read the first chapter maximum ride is like a spider web, you "fly" right into it and all you can think about is what happens next. Now i have the collection, exept the 6 book which i cannot wait for. Now i think the plot to the 6 book sounds great but i think Max is going to end up with Fang instead of Dylan, bluh. i do not like Dylan. Can't wait for march 15

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fang should get five stars!

    "Fang," by James Patterson is the sixth book in the "Maximum Ride" series, published by Little Brown and Company. Ever since I read the first book, I haven't been able to put these books down. As you tear through these pages you'll laugh and you will cry.

    I loved this book because Patterson's character descriptions are deep. Max is a sarcastic, tough, and strategic fifteen year old girl. Fang is a dark, mysterious, and strong teenage boy. Iggy is blind, but has proven himself worthy of being the best cook of them all, and he also has a deep interest in explosives. Gasman has been appropriately named for the smells he sometimes releases. As well, this boy loves anything that is explosive. Nudge is an African-American fashionista, although her looks may be deceiving, she is a great fighter. Angel is a devious mind-reading child. This seven year old may look innocent, but she's the one who will control your mind so she can beat you at poker.

    These six kids grew up in a lab, and have bird DNA grafted into them. Cruelly, they were being tested on for the first several years of their lives. With the help of a scientist named Jeb, the six experimented kids escape the evil clutches of the lab. When Max is told she has to save the world, she thinks she has fulfilled her destiny, when really she has to save the world one piece at a time.

    When Max meets her practically perfect other half, she doesn't want to believe he's the one. Instead she has a member of the flock on her mind, none other than Fang. Angel foretells that Fang isn't who she is meant to be with, and Max tries to run from what is supposedly to be the truth. With her love life twisting in with saving the world, there's only one thing to ask, will she fix everything in time?

    This book was awesome; you won't want to set it down for a second. I'd recommend this book to anyone around the age of twelve, and up. Its creative story line will pull you in. This book was intriguing, and I couldn't have been more pleased with this novel. It's incredible, and I have never heard a story line like this one. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    Maximum Ride

    I've been waiting to read this for forever, but it was one of the worst books yet in the series!I gotta admit it was kinda sweet and all but it seemed like a bunch of fans wrote it. I was waiting for the same old action packed thriller that the other books have been but it was pretty corny. I mean the letter and all ...sweet but " Goodbye , my love"? really that doesn't sound anything that even a 15 year old boy would say.

    10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I AM OBSESSED I CANT WAIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I CANT WAIT THIS IS MY FAVORITE SERIES I AM ITS NUMBER ONE FAN I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT I THINK THESE ARE THE BEST BOOKS EVER FANG BETTER NOT DIE OR II WILL BE SO HEART BROKEN HE IS THE BEST THING ABOUT THE BOOK THE ROMANCE BETWEEN MAX AND FANG IS JUST SO ADORABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HE BETTER NOT DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HE PROBABLY WONT THOUGH!!!!!!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sad!!

    I was so excited for this book to come out. But I was very disapointed. The 1st and the second were the best, but the 4th through 6th were stretching it. All the characters don't have anything to do so they don't do anything! The ending was terrible!! This is the worst book yet!

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book, upsetting ending

    This book is a great story that is thrilling and funny. James Patterson writes another amazing novel about Maximum Ride and her gang of mutant avian kids. The whole series is about Maximum Ride, Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gazzy, and Angel; kids with wings. They had escaped from the evil place they were brought up in, called the School. They have to keep on the run and away from the evil mad scientists. This series makes you want to keep reading and is impossible to put down. You keep telling yourself, "One more chapter, one more chapter" then you realize you've read the whole book. I'm not going to give anything away, I'm just going to say the end is very disapointing and I bet James Patterson got a lot of hate mail from it. GREAT READ! WHOLE SERIES!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing.

    Amazing. This novel will not make sense if you didn't read the other 5 books in the series so go read them and then come back and it will make a lot more sense. If you have read the entire series that this is an awesome end (I don't know if it is the end but) and I was blown away by every aspect of this book. 'Fang' is an over-the-top action/ emotional book with twists, turns, and betrayals. I probably should leave it at that so go pick up this book because it will make your head spin with all the action and upside-down turns.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Not Great.

    So I started the Maximum Ride series a while ago, and I loved it. Unfortunatly, the quality of writing has gone way down hill. In Fang, none of my old questions were answered and I have tons of new ones. As i was reading, I realized that there isn't a consistent story line throughout the series. The objective starts in the first few books as Max needing to save the world, and evolves into Max's love interest with Fang.
    Another thing that bothered me was the inconsistency of the details. For example, when Patterson introduces someone, they might have blonde hair, but a few chapters later, he describes it as red or brown.
    On the other hand, i love the story and ideas. The books are great for introducing children to novels and even just for light reading. In fact, I've gotten many of my own friends hooked on reading through Maximum Ride.

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!! MUST READ SERIES!!!!

    This book was totally great i have read the series and plus im a big reader too.Butt in this book i was really surprised by the choses max and fang choose. i was sad when the book ended butt i was glad that fang loved max butt not that he left .[BEST BOOK EVER!!!:D]i wish the series didn't end there ,i just keep going on how there love charied on and more dangers that followed them .butt i still worship james patterson and his books.And i also reccomend the percy kackson series,blue blood series,the fallen series,plus the Hush,hush series too.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!

    So i finished the whole entire series in less than three days and i love them. Fang made me cry. When i was reading the letter, it was just so sad. I'm hoping for another book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Maximum ride the best book ever

    it is just simply amazing u cant stop devouring it. max and fang were ment to be and i cant wait for the next book to see if it tears them apart or brings them closer together i cant wait!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MAX IS MAKING A COMEBACK BUT NOT QUITE THERE

    Okay I am a BIG Max fan! I remember reading the 1st book, The Angel Experiment, and thinking this is the most bizarre thing I have ever read! By chapter 3 I was hooked. I love her sassy attitude, her instincts to protect the flock and the way she just handles whatever comes her way. I read through the first three books and was dying to know what happened next. Patterson was so inventive and made this series a page turner. Then it seemed like the next two books were rushed through and not well thought out. Not only that but you got the impression the series was going to end but it kept dragging on and on and on. I have always thought that sparks would fly between Max and Fang and could not wait. We got a little glimpse of that in the previous book when they went on their date. I just hope that JP gets back on board with this series or ends it for our sake!! I will definitely read the next book since this one was such a cliff hanger!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    really good, but some iffy stuff

    ok, first off all, i borrwed this book from my friend yesterday, and stayed up until about 2 to finish it. i must say, this book is pretty good, but there's some stuff that really gets on my nerves.
    first of all, Angel. i literally wanted to THROTTLE her for about 3/4 of the book. i mean COME ON how annoying can a 7 year old get? second of all, this dylan guy was also, really getting on my nerves. i mean, where did YOU come from? he was practically STALKING max throughout the whole book. i must admit, i was alittle sad when the shot didn't kill him. tres dissapointing. but there where some good parts to! like fang still rocked my socks of and max still had me rolling on the floor and laughing up my gallbladder whatever that is. (i should probably get that back in there) and even though fang left, it's pretty obvious that he's coming back. (he better be!) but idk about wats gonna happen while he's gone since mr hot shot dylan is still there. im gonna have to have a little talk with pattereson. but still, READ THIS BOOK. even though Angel is the most annoying little..ugh! never mind.
    hugs and kisses!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Dylan annoys me

    For no reason, Dylan just annoys me. I AM TEAM FANG!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ehhh

    I loved the first three books in this series but when i got the Final Warning it really dissapointed me. It seemed as if James Patterson was no longer writing, the main plot was just kinda replaced by a "let's go save the enviroment!!" attitude. Believe me I'm all for saving the enviroment and preventing global warming but it just wasn't Max. The books that followed the fourth also dissapointed me. But then Fang came out and I was really hoping hat it would be better and it was in some ways. I felt like he was kinda going back to his plot and I was looking forward to the blossoming romance between Max and Fang but it just wasn't working for me . So I say it was better than the most recent books but it wasn't as spectaular as the first books which made me fall in love with the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I have high hope for this.

    The first three books, The Angel Experiment, Schools Out Forever, and Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports-top notch. Each one of them. However the last two where let downs. They where short and didn't leave me begging for more like the others. They where rather dull. The Final Warning had nothing redeeming about it, it was just Patterson getting on his soap box to talk about global warming.

    Honestly Patterson, awesome job for using your fame as a tool to reach out to people n something thats important to you, but if you want to teach us about it, the write a NONFICTION BOOK. Heck, have Max & the flock star in it. Where the plot of the book picks up "all six pages dedicated to, you know, the PLOT where just awkward and uncomfortable to sit through with Max and Fang going through the "are we right for each other stage.

    The last one Max was better (however with this one titled Fang, a disturbing trend in the tittles is appearing) However it seemed rushed. For instance they spend two, what three chapters in each location. Which might sound like a lot, but Pattersion and is inability to keep a chapter going for more then two to three full pages at a time with in six pages they are on the move to a new location. It just seemed to be a way to burn up pages till the end of the chapter. Also Max & Fang go from fighting to lovely dovey in 2.5 seconds.

    So with that in mind after reading the plot of Fang I have to say this could be good. I am a little concerned about them in Africa with the whole giving aid thing, I mean is this gonna be more of Paterson on his soap box for the 3rd book in a row. But the rest of the plot sound promising, and its been awhile since Max, maybe this one Patterson can make it back into the series that in my mind ended when Intex was defeated.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1684 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 85