Customer Reviews for

FDR

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    fantastic...revives the legacy of one of americas great presidents

    fdr is a very well crafted biography, it has tremendous balance between everything fdr had to juggle during his 12 years in office. there is no doubt that fdr had the most adversety to deal with from the great depression to hitler and the nazis to pearl harbor and wwii, all while dealing with his handicap. after reading this book the legacy of franklin roosevelt will be drilled in your brain forever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    quality read

    Overall this book was very well done. It really gave a deep view into FDR's life and the relationships he developed with many of his colleagues, companions, and family members that came and went throughout his life. For example, like Louis Howe, Sara, ER and Lucy just to name a few. The only qualm I had with the book was the ending which I thought a bit abrupt and not as meaningful as it could have been. This particular reader would have liked to see an extra chapter/epilogue or even just a few more pages wrapping up FDR's death and subsequently rehashing the importance of this particular president for these United States. Further reactions from ordinary Americans, and especially ER, to Roosevelt's passing would have been a nice touch as well. In any case, the book was thoroughly entertaining and chalk full of knowledge.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Required reading for candidates

    This is the best biography of perhaps the greatest president of modern time. Jean Edward Smith has given us a classic. How could a man born of wealth, social standing and privilege understand the needs of the poor and ordinary man? Yet FDR did. He quickly saw the devastation of the pre Depression time and the resulting impact of the Depression as it spread. Anyone who lived during that time readily credits FDR with saving them and the nation. From Depresstion to World War II, FDR again rose to the occasion. Although the ultimate politician, he knew the heart of America. This book should be required reading for ALL political candidates and especially those seeking the presidency. They might learn something. God knows they need to!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    The Most Outstand Biography Ever Written About FDR

    I am astonished that this masterful biography has not made it to the best seller list. Mr. Smith should be considered once more for the Pulitzer Prize for writing such a comprehensive, yet readable book about the life of one of our greatest presidents. Mr. Smith gives one a complete picture of the strengths, weaknesses, errors and courage of FDR, his family and his political advisers. The author offers insights into the experiences and mistakes that made Franklin Roosevelt a consummate politician, one dedicated to the welfare of the average citizen. At a time when our democracy is becoming an aristocracy, reading about a man who cared for the citizens with the least, rather than the enrichment of just a few, gives one a perspective into what democracy can and did mean.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Easy to read for a biography

    I am just about finished reading this tome. Most of the presidential biographies I have read as slow-going and contain way too much detail on certain topics, such as going into minute detail of a piece of legislation (who sponsored it, why they sponsored, back room dealing, names of everyone even remotely involved, belabored discussion). This book reads differently, almost like a historical novel. It contains interesting facts, just enough information about issues and situation without getting bogged down in details. (vast majority of the time). It even includes many photos, which I like. (I've read some bios where there is not a single image of the president ...??).

    I like this author's style, and have purchased his biography of "Eisenhower in War and Peace", hoping it will read as easily as FDR.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    A New Deal for a New Age?

    Smith lucidly conveys a masterful account of the greatest American President of the last century. Seventy-five years before `values¿ became a political buzzword, and we focused on cultural issues such as abortion, gay rights and gun control, FDR rightly saw values in terms of economic issues that impact people¿s lives. In light of the enormous changes occurring in the U.S. economy, he called for a `reappraisal of values¿ as the foundation for his economic declaration of rights. So now, changes in the global economy call for another reappraisal of values to ensure an updated social contract whereby ¿every man has a right to life and this means that he also has a right to make a comfortable living. He may by sloth or crime decline to exercise that right but it may not be denied him.¿ The passage of time may lay waste to the means of economic activity, but not to the end goals which ensure that people have a comfortable living and economic security. FDR¿s leadership transcends time because the values he represented are eternal. After reading Smith's FDR, I wonder where all the leaders have gone, and if there could be another FDR on the horizon?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    One of the Beet Presidential Biographies

    jean Edward Smith's one volume account of FDR's life is very insightful. Even though the time period of the Great Depression and World War II has been thoroughly documented and analyzed, Mr. Smith's portrayal of FDR shows him not only as a great world leader but also as a man with his own shortcomings and failings that we all have.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    A must Read

    A great bio about the great man. Jean Edward Smith writes page turning history. Its one of the books you won't want to put down until you finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Gr8 man

    Amazing pres

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great biography of a Great President

    Just finished reading it. For any history buff, this should be a must read. It delves into great detail about all aspects of his life without getting tedious about it. Very easy to read as it really shows how impactful he was a human being and as a president.

    Very timely read for me as I am heading to DC next week for vacation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Interesting Read

    Although the book (thankfully) does not go into great detail about all of the policies FDR put into place and about the decisions he made during WWII, it does give a great overview of FDR's life and what he did while President.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    The first book I've read on FDR and it was great!

    This book was a really good book. I'm a young history buff and I'm trying to read up on different presidents. This book caught my eye and I picked it up. The balance of the reading was great, it didn't shift between different periods of time in his life. I'm not the greatest when it comes to economics, but I did get a little lost in events like recovering from the Great Depression. I do wish this part of the book was a little bit more easier to read. As the biography progressed, it only got better. For anyone starting to read about the 32nd president, this is the one you want to start with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2