Customer Reviews for

Fly Away

Average Rating 4
( 339 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I loved this, even more than FIREFLY. Kristin Hannah's books are

I loved this, even more than FIREFLY. Kristin Hannah's books are always tearjerkers,
but this one adds the difficult depth by showing us characters who are trying to learn to move on
after they have lost the one person who held them all together.  Brutally honest and ...
I loved this, even more than FIREFLY. Kristin Hannah's books are always tearjerkers,
but this one adds the difficult depth by showing us characters who are trying to learn to move on
after they have lost the one person who held them all together.  Brutally honest and complex.
told without sentimentality, the story is presented in sections that are in different times, but handled
with the skill of a master.  Different, unpredictable, brilliant, and uplifting. 

posted by Luvs2readbks on April 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Firefly Lane is one of my favorite books. This book is my least

Firefly Lane is one of my favorite books. This book is my least favorite of all of her books.  I honestly don't know why I continued to read it. Probably because I paid for it. It was such a dark story.  There was absolutely NOTHING good that ever happened, no funny lin...
Firefly Lane is one of my favorite books. This book is my least favorite of all of her books.  I honestly don't know why I continued to read it. Probably because I paid for it. It was such a dark story.  There was absolutely NOTHING good that ever happened, no funny lines, no happy times during the entire book.  I realize this is a sequel to a story about death , but still hoped there would be some good times in this families journey. I death with gloom and doom everyday with cancer and dying. I just kind of wanted to escape real life in a book for a change. This did not leave me with a warm fuzzy feeling at all!

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 339 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    I loved this, even more than FIREFLY. Kristin Hannah's books are

    I loved this, even more than FIREFLY. Kristin Hannah's books are always tearjerkers,
    but this one adds the difficult depth by showing us characters who are trying to learn to move on
    after they have lost the one person who held them all together.  Brutally honest and complex.
    told without sentimentality, the story is presented in sections that are in different times, but handled
    with the skill of a master.  Different, unpredictable, brilliant, and uplifting. 

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Firefly Lane is one of my favorite books. This book is my least

    Firefly Lane is one of my favorite books. This book is my least favorite of all of her books.  I honestly don't know why I continued to read it. Probably because I paid for it. It was such a dark story.  There was absolutely NOTHING good that ever happened, no funny lines, no happy times during the entire book.  I realize this is a sequel to a story about death , but still hoped there would be some good times in this families journey. I death with gloom and doom everyday with cancer and dying. I just kind of wanted to escape real life in a book for a change. This did not leave me with a warm fuzzy feeling at all!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Memorable

    This is an amazing book. I never wanted to put it down. The way the story is so heart warming that tears begin to fall. It was beautiful story. That is why Kristen Hannah is my favorite author. I highly recommend this book as well as Firefly Lane. The adventures and life changing things that occur in these books allows you to not take family, friendship and love for granted.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Incredible¿highly recommended sequel

    Hannah has done a wonderful job finishing the TullyandKate story. I was literally counting down the days to purchase this and was not disappoints. Hannah revisits the greving family of Kate who are struggling to heal after the death of Kate. She also tells the heartbreaking story of Cloud who is Tully's mom, and the horrible childhood she had that led her to her addiction filled life. The author evenly balances out Marah's pain, Johnny's grief, Cloud's story, and Tully's devestation. Fans of the incredible friendship will enjoy the sequel. Though the first book will always be my favorite, the second was enjoyable as well. I am hoping for a third to finish up Tully, Marah, and Johnny!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Great sequel to Firefly Lane

    Kristin has done an excellent job of writing about the lives of those we first met in Firefly Lane. She writes so well about how peoples lives were affected by others and how they surpassed and overcame their hardships. The story of Tully and Kate is a magical one. It is an emotional read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Great book

    I love firefly lane and it always brought me to tears at the end every time I read it! Fly Away didnt give me as much if closure i needrd for the the family to be all back together. I.was.hoping Tulley would fall in love with johnny and go back to the picture perfect family.I absolutely love the story being told from different characters so at least they can each get their side in . I wish this book would have brought me to tears too

    People suffer from depression every day and this bookmay help those who feel.helpless and as the only person in the worldwith thesame problems .

    Itis definitely a wonderful book to read

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Beautiful (:

    This was as good or even better than firefly lane. It was moving and definitely tells a story. I thoroughly loved this book and i recommend it to you all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Did not enjoy-

    Ihave read all of Hannah's books and lovwd them all- except this one. Wanted to quit reading at page 120 but didn't want to waste the $ i had spent. Way to much switching back and forth and wow, a lot of poor pitiful me on everyones part!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    Kristin Hannah doesn't again with Fly Away. I loved Firefly Lan

    Kristin Hannah doesn't again with Fly Away. I loved Firefly Lane from the first moment I started reading. It is one of the few books that actually made me cry while reading it. Fly Away is the follow up that talks about life after Kate's death. It talks about the struggles Marah has dealing with her mother's death, and Tully's struggles dealing with the mother that was never there(I can really relate to Tully in that sense). I also like the glimpse into Johnny's heart from his perspective. I always doubted that he truly loved Kate *for* Kate and just settled for her because he couldn't have Tully. Thank you Kristin for putting that to rest. The only thing that would have made the book perfect is that under the dates, the person was listed. I found myself having to go back a few times to figure out which character was speaking. Hey Kristin, how about a book in the future dealing with the twins?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    TOUCHING STORY!!!!!!!

    I loved this book jist like I loved the prequel "Firefly Lane". Kristen Hannah is my favorite author and I have loved all her books. This one did not disappoint!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Depressing,

    I was disappointed in this one.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Blogging?

    You know ehat is annoying? When you want to read reviews not pages and pages of teenage rambling

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Wow

    This book was an amazing read. Not only one of my favorites by tHis author but one of my all time favs too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    Tully Hart is still reeling over the death of her best friend Ka

    Tully Hart is still reeling over the death of her best friend Kate Ryan, even though it has been quite a few years. Her career as a television personality has gone down the toilet, her life seems hopeless, and she just doesn’t know how she can live anymore. When a bad decision, and a terrible car accident, critically injures Tully and brings her to Sacred Heart hospital, it might take facing her past to keep her alive.




    Many people are called to her bedside. Her best friend Kate’s husband Johnny, who has held a grudge against Tully since his wife’s death. Kate’s oldest daughter Marah, a confused and hurt teenager when her mother died, now an adult hiding behind the pain she has felt since that dark day. Tully’s mother, Dorothy, a former drug-addict and alcoholic who has hurt her only daughter more times than she cares to remember. Even Kate, who has watched from the heavenly sidelines all these years since her departure.




    I mainly chose the book Fly Away by Kristin Hannah, because of its cover. With its purplish hue and starry backdrop, it instantly reminded me of nights spent outside at my childhood home…fireflies flitting about and candles illuminating the darkness. Ironic, since the author wrote a book called Firefly Lane.
    Kristin Hannah is not an author who was particularly familiar to me. In fact, I can honestly say that before listening to this book (I have the audio version of it), she was nonexistent in my mind. How I could have gone so long without hearing about her wonderful stories, I shall never know. Because the book Fly Away was truly wonderful.




    The story is beautiful, it is emotional, and it was a stunning novel to listen to. I loved every minute of it, and will definitely have to read more of Kristin Hannah’s books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I have read all of Hannah's books and loved Firefly Lane. I did

    I have read all of Hannah's books and loved Firefly Lane. I did not enjoy this one. No happiness in this book.
    The first half of the book dragged but I kept reading since I spent money for it. Toward the end it got more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Good book....but not great!

    I have read all of Kristin Hannah's books, so was really looking forward to this one. I enjoyed it but not as much as all of her others. Was just a bit disappointed! However, it is a good beach read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I absolutely love Firefly Lane and you would not believe the tho

    I absolutely love Firefly Lane and you would not believe the thoughts that ran through my head as I anxiously waited for the release of Fly Away. Obviously there were many directions Kristan Hannnah could have gone with this book and I was completely blown away with the story she told. This is a book you want to share with everyone. I want to tell absolutely everyone just how absolutely wonderful this book was. It's a gift that you've never expected and a book that will stay with you long after you have read the last word. I am in awe of Kristan's talent to tell a story that was so emotional, so intimate and so fulfilling that you can not stop reading until you've reached the very end. This a book that will stay with you long after the last word has been read and will have a prominent spot on my keeper shelf. Every once I will take it down, sit down in my favorite chair, open to that first page and loose myself in the story all over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Fly away

    I just started fly away but so far it is pretty good. It was not so easy to gef interested into this book but once I did it was very intrieging and making me want to read more and more. I am reading more and mlre chapters a day now thanks to my cousin kisani she is also an inspiration anyways this book is wonderful. I think anyone could get drawn into this book
    Bye,

    Malyssia Davis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Fly Away

    I love this book it was so dark and mysterious. This book reminded me of a movie. Also the beggining is after the middle. So you kind of go back and relize it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    You will cry!

    You will cry! Loved this book. Of course you must read Fire Fly Lane first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 339 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17