BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fly Away

Average Rating 4
( 347 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I loved this, even more than FIREFLY. Kristin Hannah's books are

I loved this, even more than FIREFLY. Kristin Hannah's books are always tearjerkers,
but this one adds the difficult depth by showing us characters who are trying to learn to move on
after they have lost the one person who held them all together.  Brutally honest and ...
I loved this, even more than FIREFLY. Kristin Hannah's books are always tearjerkers,
but this one adds the difficult depth by showing us characters who are trying to learn to move on
after they have lost the one person who held them all together.  Brutally honest and complex.
told without sentimentality, the story is presented in sections that are in different times, but handled
with the skill of a master.  Different, unpredictable, brilliant, and uplifting. 

posted by Luvs2readbks on April 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Firefly Lane is one of my favorite books. This book is my least

Firefly Lane is one of my favorite books. This book is my least favorite of all of her books.  I honestly don't know why I continued to read it. Probably because I paid for it. It was such a dark story.  There was absolutely NOTHING good that ever happened, no funny lin...
Firefly Lane is one of my favorite books. This book is my least favorite of all of her books.  I honestly don't know why I continued to read it. Probably because I paid for it. It was such a dark story.  There was absolutely NOTHING good that ever happened, no funny lines, no happy times during the entire book.  I realize this is a sequel to a story about death , but still hoped there would be some good times in this families journey. I death with gloom and doom everyday with cancer and dying. I just kind of wanted to escape real life in a book for a change. This did not leave me with a warm fuzzy feeling at all!

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Good book....but not great!

    I have read all of Kristin Hannah's books, so was really looking forward to this one. I enjoyed it but not as much as all of her others. Was just a bit disappointed! However, it is a good beach read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    See firefly lane

    This day nook pick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Kendal

    She played with silly puddy angrily

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Starfire

    Hello may i join

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    A small kit.

    A small, dirty, kit walked in. He was a really runty, rejected tom. He was really small, and looked about 2 moons old. He had brown fur, and the happiest green eyes you hae ever seen. He was really playful, but not at this time. He collapsed in the middle of the camp, whimpering for his mommy, who he had lost. He was shaking severely, super terrified and had a quiver in his voice. He really needed love and a home. ~Unnamed kit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Typical sequel

    This is a typical sequel good but not as good as the original. It was touching in parts but seemed to drag a little for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Not nearly as good as Firefly Lane

    Kristin Hannah is my favorite author, but this book was extremely disappointing. It was not nearly as good as Firefly Lane and I had to force myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Closure

    Firefly Lane was definitely one of my favorite Kristin Hannah books. While Flyaway did a great ending the story of Firefly Lane, it did take some time for me to really enjoy it. To me it wasn't one of Kristans best books, however worth hanging in there to finish. I've read almost everyone of Kristan's book, with the exception of maybe 2. She is definitely one of my favorite authors! To TullyandKate forever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    A little slow

    A little slow in the middle. I didn't like this particular novel ss much as I've liked some of her other work. Not a huge fan of Tully...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    This reading this book, but due to family priorities, have not been able to fininsh, but find it hard to put down for the day/evening!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Sad :(

    I love Kristin Hannah's books and I did eventually like this book but I'm not going to lie, it is very depressing. If you read Firefly Lane you are going to want to read this book though. You need to know what becomes of all the beloved characters and such as life its not all happiness and perfection. All the characters struggled in their own ways after Kate's death. Read it to find out for yourself. Just don't say I didn't warn you...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    Yawn

    The only reason I bought this book was because I had just finished the preamble to this book:"Firefly Lane." It was not as good, and I skimmed over most of it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Character development?

    I reread Firefly Lane before I read this sequel. The first book was so wonderful I did not know how she could continue the story.
    The first book was a great story with a sad ending. This one was a sad story with a satisfactory ending.
    I liked the first book better.
    It's so hard to continue a story of that caliber.
    Also Homefront was tough to follow.
    Maybe because Hannah is so good at character development and fly away we already knew the characters?
    Still puzzled why I didn't fall in love with this book. I do love all her others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as the first Book

    I like most books but I found this kind of flat.

    In Firefly lane you are introduced to 2 young women who become best friends. Fly Away is about what happens after one of the friends dies (that is not a spoiler as it happened in the first book)

    Kate has left behind a husband , twins and a daughter in addition to her best friend Tully.

    Tully and Kate's daughter are the main characters. They both have a very hard time with kate's death, Marah actually running from both her family and herself

    Tully hits rock bottom and the healing begins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Not as good as the original

    I just finished reading this yesterday and was disappointed. I normally like Kristin Hannah's books but not this time. A bit slow and not always easy to follow. I had difficulty connecting to the characters even though I knew them from the first book. Not her best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    I loved Firefly Lane-cry every time I read it and makes me hope

    I loved Firefly Lane-cry every time I read it and makes me hope I am as good a friend as Kate/Tully are to each other. But  while I was happy to learn about why Dot (cloud) was the way she was, the rest of the story fell flat for me-seemed a bit rushed to tie up loose ends and didn't have the depth that Firefly did. But I still recommed it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Not a bad read

    I liked Firefly Lane better though. Lots of switching back and forth in time in this one. Quite a dark storyline. I don't think that I've ever cried so much reading a book as I did while reading this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2