BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

FM For Murder

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Music can be deadly

FM for Murder

Now here¿s a neat plot! A late night alternative Rock Music DJ is murdered on air; or is he?
Once again Professor Pamela Barnes is called upon to analyse the soundtrack of the murder for clues. She knows that her husband Rocky is not going to like this...
FM for Murder

Now here¿s a neat plot! A late night alternative Rock Music DJ is murdered on air; or is he?
Once again Professor Pamela Barnes is called upon to analyse the soundtrack of the murder for clues. She knows that her husband Rocky is not going to like this and asks other members of her faculty of Psychology to assist her. The dead DJ was also a grad student/Teaching assistant at Drake College.

In other town miles away; an old and very well to do man lies dying and his other son wants to reunite him with the son he disowned years ago, and hires a PI to track him down, which he does. The result is a downward spiral to murder with some interesting twists along the way. The remaining son has a secret of his own which he will reveal after this mission is accomplished.

Ms Rockwell has done it again with an interesting and suspenseful plot. Will the true identity of the killer be revealed? You will just have to read on and find out.
I give this book 5 A+s.

posted by karenvaughanwrites on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Really liked it

I love mysterys and this was great. It took me all but the last few pages to figure out the killer. Total shock. But in a good way. Will try to find more of her books.

posted by linjune on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Really liked it

    I love mysterys and this was great. It took me all but the last few pages to figure out the killer. Total shock. But in a good way. Will try to find more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Music can be deadly

    FM for Murder

    Now here¿s a neat plot! A late night alternative Rock Music DJ is murdered on air; or is he?
    Once again Professor Pamela Barnes is called upon to analyse the soundtrack of the murder for clues. She knows that her husband Rocky is not going to like this and asks other members of her faculty of Psychology to assist her. The dead DJ was also a grad student/Teaching assistant at Drake College.

    In other town miles away; an old and very well to do man lies dying and his other son wants to reunite him with the son he disowned years ago, and hires a PI to track him down, which he does. The result is a downward spiral to murder with some interesting twists along the way. The remaining son has a secret of his own which he will reveal after this mission is accomplished.

    Ms Rockwell has done it again with an interesting and suspenseful plot. Will the true identity of the killer be revealed? You will just have to read on and find out.
    I give this book 5 A+s.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    pathos and humor, intelligence, surprises, shock and very interesting investigative methods

    Another unique foray into the forensic use of acoustics in aiding murder investigations. Who would have thought what a great tool this can be? I had the privilege of reviewing Patricia Rockwell's first book in this series, Sounds of Murder, this is the second. We have several of the same characters as in the first, but this time out the location is completely different. The book is written in two time periods as well as the present. Not confusing because times are well laid out, and essential to the mystery. The story begins December 15 just before midnight with a late-night radio broadcast of alternative music, hosted by "Black Vulture", normally running from midnight to 4:00 a.m. During his patter, he hears a visitor arriving, the door opens, and the listening world hears the shooting death of the local celebrity, Black Vulture a.k.a. Theodore Ballard, on air, then deathly quiet as the mike is switched off. So here we are with a mysterious death and the shocked alternative music world as audio witness, right in the Prologue. Back to a previous day in the week, December 11, we meet a dying carpet king, his son Daniel who is currently running the business, and the family lawyer Harold Vickers, among others. What could a carpet manufacturing business have to do with an alternative music disk jockey? As secrets in this family, Daniel's secret sweetheart, a secret to reunite his disowned brother with his father, no easy task as he left many years before, but he asks the family lawyer's assistance. Next, we move into "present" time, which at this moment in the story is December 16. Before long, a pattern of timing will appear explaining why these three time periods are important, how they connect up, and eventually reach the present in all three parts. We are now at the home of the intrepid and feisty heroine, Pamela Barnes, who is trying to sleep in on this Sunday morning, while her dog is trying to wake her up. We also meet her husband Rocky, and daughter Angie. Rocky is the main cook in this family and there are recipes in the back of the book. Rocky is against his wife "sticking her nose in" when it comes to murder, as does the Columbo-like Detective Shoop, whom she assisted previously on her own. Nor does Rocky approve of Angie's relationship with Pamela's graduate assistant, Kent, referring to him as "that hoodlum" and "looks like a weirdo". Kent and Angie are into alternative music. After a movie the night before, they were at a friend's home listening to Black Vulture's show and so it is that they also became audio witnesses to his murder, and called the police. Angie knows his real name which shocks Rocky because he has met him. He is one of the doctoral students in the English Department at Grace University, where both Pamela and Rocky work. Their friend Trudi is his advisor. Of course, Pamela's mind switches into investigative mode, while Rocky slips into his over-protective mode both for his wife and his daughter. Since the murder was recorded, this time Detective Shoop asks for Pamela's help in analyzing the audio with her specialized equipment for any possible clues. Of course, Pamela's mind switches into investigative mode, while Rocky slips into his over-protective mode both for his wife and his daughter. Since the murder was recorded, Detective Shoop asks for Pamela's help in analyzing the audio with her specialized equipment for any possible clues.

    There is a blend in

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Recommended for All Cozy Mystery Lovers

    FM for Murder is the first time I have read Patricia Rockwell. I found that the main characters to be well formed yet I'm sure that more can be learned about them in future books. I was a bit puzzled at first with the way the first couple of chapters went but soon realized that they were just two points of how the mystery would be solved. I have to admit that I try to figure out the who in every book that I read and boy was I wrong in this case. I am a reader of Cozy Mysteries and this in that category. I look forward to reading the first in this series and more to come.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Pat

    Nevermind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Genis

    Um actually i am king sooo...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    TO GENIS

    WHAT?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    SHADOW QUEEN JADE

    NO NOT OF MY KINGDOM THANK GOD I HAVENT CHOOSEN ANOTHER BOOK YET!!!!! AND WHEN I DO U R BANNED FROM IT SON OF A F?U?C?K?I?N? B?I?T?C?H? UR A MAN?WH?ORE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Very good.

    Nice twists. Very good. Highly recommened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Great read!

    Keeps you tied to your chair. Easy and great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1