BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

FREE 25 Language Phrasebook: German, French, Spanish, Catalan, Portuguese, Italian, Greek, Danish, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Finnish, Czech, Polish, Hungarian, Russian, Croatian, Turkish, Hebrew, Arabic, Japanese, Chinese, Indonesian, Malay, and Thai

Average Rating 3.5
( 2123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(934)

4 Star

(370)

3 Star

(338)

2 Star

(192)

1 Star

(289)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

102 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

Wow! This phrasebook was free to put on my NOOK and I'd PAY to have it!

This was so cool to find! I'm so glad I came across it. I found it while looking for free books on my NOOK. I'm always looking for phrasebooks that have more than just a few languages, but this one was FREE and had 25 different languages! I HIGHLY recommend downloading ...
This was so cool to find! I'm so glad I came across it. I found it while looking for free books on my NOOK. I'm always looking for phrasebooks that have more than just a few languages, but this one was FREE and had 25 different languages! I HIGHLY recommend downloading it!

posted by styleman428 on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

63 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

Cool

My only knock on it was the format of the book. The way it was on my Nook, you couldn't just go to the page of the language you wanted to learn. For example: If I wanted Russian, there was no table of contents for me to go to page for "Russian" langue. You have to scrol...
My only knock on it was the format of the book. The way it was on my Nook, you couldn't just go to the page of the language you wanted to learn. For example: If I wanted Russian, there was no table of contents for me to go to page for "Russian" langue. You have to scroll through all the other langues to get to the one you want.

posted by Elizabeth_Readwell on October 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    very limited

    this phrasebook (free version) has very limited information. you will need more if traveling

    20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    ?

    Should i get the book?

    15 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    Not recommended for Turkish

    The "ch" sound is represented by the letter C with a tail under it and the "sh" sound is represented by the letter S with a tail under it in the Turkish language. However, this e-book does not include the tail or verticle line below the "ch" and "sh" C and S to differentiate it from the actual C and S in the alphabet. This makes corrent pronunciation very difficult (must read pronunciation guide rather than word) or impossible (when the pronunciation guide is not included).

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Aloha com esta? Neva read it

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Skimpy phrase book

    Too few words and phrases to be very helpful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Free but more a trial version

    Full version to be purchased - free version is too limited tp be helpful

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Heyyyyy

    Um....... i always wanted to learn spanish and french but........ from what i read do i really want to get this?????!!!! WELL IDK SOOOOO THIS PERSON NEEDS HELP DECIDING BECAUSE I ONLY HAVE A FEW MORE MINUTES TILL MY COUSIN GETS TO PLAY ON THE NOOK!!!! PLEASE HELP REALLY WANTING TO LEARN SOME NEW LANGUAGES!!! :) THANKS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    US ONLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It is soooooooooo annoying only people from the US can get certain apps i RECOMEND THAT THEY LET THE UK GET SOME APPS TWO THAT ARE FREE IF ANY ONE AGREES PLZ WRITE ABOUT THIS TWO AND THEN HOPEFULLY THEY WILL AT LEAST CONSIDER THE IDEA

    And for that i would give it 0 stars and the rest that that they dont let us buy and get for free

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Just A Sample

    It wasn't the full book, just a sample.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Omggggg

    Why do you need a credit card to get something free bs

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Not bad

    Somewhat useful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Boooo

    Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo this boik stins

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Nice when working.

    Was good, but froze up. I unistalled and reinstalled, but still would not work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    never read it but it sounds pretty cool.

    Taking spanish 1 which is pretty easy but still its nice to have that xtra help

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    very off-putting layout.

    Will delete it, to free up space for something useful. Cluttered, grimy, really.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Yyyyyyyyj

    Caaaaaaaaaaaaaaasaaaaaaad

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Ok but it didnt tell you alot

    It was ok but it didnt tell you alot about a langage because it only told you things like how to say hi and bye and thankyou sit was pretty bado

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    sucked

    Hated it! I know see why it's free!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    G

    B

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15