Customer Reviews for

FREE 25 Language Phrasebook: German, French, Spanish, Catalan, Portuguese, Italian, Greek, Danish, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Finnish, Czech, Polish, Hungarian, Russian, Croatian, Turkish, Hebrew, Arabic, Japanese, Chinese, Indonesian, Malay, and Thai

Average Rating 3.5
( 2125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(934)

4 Star

(371)

3 Star

(338)

2 Star

(192)

1 Star

(290)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

102 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

Wow! This phrasebook was free to put on my NOOK and I'd PAY to have it!

This was so cool to find! I'm so glad I came across it. I found it while looking for free books on my NOOK. I'm always looking for phrasebooks that have more than just a few languages, but this one was FREE and had 25 different languages! I HIGHLY recommend downloading ...
This was so cool to find! I'm so glad I came across it. I found it while looking for free books on my NOOK. I'm always looking for phrasebooks that have more than just a few languages, but this one was FREE and had 25 different languages! I HIGHLY recommend downloading it!

posted by styleman428 on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

63 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

Cool

My only knock on it was the format of the book. The way it was on my Nook, you couldn't just go to the page of the language you wanted to learn. For example: If I wanted Russian, there was no table of contents for me to go to page for "Russian" langue. You have to scrol...
My only knock on it was the format of the book. The way it was on my Nook, you couldn't just go to the page of the language you wanted to learn. For example: If I wanted Russian, there was no table of contents for me to go to page for "Russian" langue. You have to scroll through all the other langues to get to the one you want.

posted by Elizabeth_Readwell on October 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 371 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Handy reference guide

    This book contains very basic words and phrases. Doesn't go into any depth, but that's not it's intent. A good little guidebook for basic communication.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Shorty

    Helped me a lot in school with the spanish portion

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    LMJ

    You can learn different languages and all, but for 10 year old me, confusing, but i still read it on my Nooktablet if im bored
    Jut get it incase

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    great for starters

    I am only in the fifth grade so this is great to get a head start before middle school i like spanish french and japanese

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    phrasebook

    Very helpful, interesting, educational.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    This is very helpful

    This is a very helpful book :):):):)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Full version

    How do you get the full version?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    This is great!

    All the pronounciations of all of the words. Has great basic sayings such as
    Hello
    Goodbye
    I do not speak [the language]
    I need help
    I lost my bag
    I need a doctor/ambulance
    Where is the bathroom?
    How are you?
    Help!
    I am lost
    Do you speak English?
    Who here speaks English?
    Thank you
    Goodnight/ good morning
    I am sorry
    You are welcome
    May I use your phone?
    I need a place to go/sleep/eat

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Great for quick reference!

    This book is absolutely wonderful for quick reference. It includes, (as promised) 25 guides on simple sayings that could get you out of any foreign emergency fast. The translations include from saying "hi", all the way down to "I'm calling the police" and "is there anyone here who speaks english?" in different languages. My only complaint is, that sometimes there is spelling mistakes in the languages I recognize, (which are very few), and that sometimes the translations only include pronunciatiations, not the actual spoken word, an vice-versa. But, a great free book overall, it is definitly a keeper in my NOOK library! P.S. I would like to clarify a complaint I frequently have when looking over the customer reviews for various books. This, (and I repeat), is NOT a personal chat room. People look on here to find reviews from readers on a book to see if it is worth getting. I, (along wih many other readers, I'm sure), do not appreciate seeing random chats and innapropriate sentiments on public reviews. So please, use this wonderful feature just as Barnes and Noble intended it by respecting other's precious time and not prohibiting their reading. Thanks! ")

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    recommended

    short and concise and informative

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Anoymous

    Good for foriegn emergencies, but you can't really bevome fluent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Okay but needs improvement

    I need anyone who knows japanese to tell me how reliable this book is. My sister is going to be a forign exchange student in japan but needs to learn japanese so i was going to let her borrow my nook so she could read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    emilieweaver3@gmail.com

    Email me please. Also be my nook friend. I have awesome books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Great help for travel

    Excellent refrence for travel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    :) amazingly helpful

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    GREAT!!

    Nifty and useful! So totally worth more than free but what the heck? Its FREE!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    READ THIS

    Very good but what if I want to order food

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Look good, but needs more

    Good for the streets, but what about in a resturaunt, how would i order food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great

    Its a great book ive lerned a lot from it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    ?

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 371 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19