Customer Reviews for

FREE Periodic Table of the Chemical Elements (Mendeleev's Table)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1023 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(317)

4 Star

(186)

3 Star

(222)

2 Star

(106)

1 Star

(192)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Great resource for anyone who is interested or who might need a periodic table

While many people may not want a periodic table on their nook, this does the job. This is not just the table. There is also discussion of how the table's history, and descriptions of the commonalities of the elemental families. The discussions are quick and easy to ...
While many people may not want a periodic table on their nook, this does the job. This is not just the table. There is also discussion of how the table's history, and descriptions of the commonalities of the elemental families. The discussions are quick and easy to read. I highly recommend downloading this and learning about something about chemistry. Even if you don't think you ever use chemistry, most people do while cooking, cleaning and taking a shower.

posted by Cheap_Reader on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Could be more recent

One of the things i didnt like about this book is that its based on mendeleev's table which is not the table we use now. Many elements are missing and some are in the wrong order. See medeleev's table was base on arranging the elements in the increase of atomic masses a...
One of the things i didnt like about this book is that its based on mendeleev's table which is not the table we use now. Many elements are missing and some are in the wrong order. See medeleev's table was base on arranging the elements in the increase of atomic masses and similar chemical properties. Moseley's table (the current periodic table system) fixed all of the inconsistant placings of elements because he arranged the elements in the increase of atomic numbers not masses. This book has many flaws due to the choice of scientist its based on if it was based on moseley it would more accurate and helpful to scalors this however is just a book on how the table was wrong until 1913

posted by 10714164 on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Could be more recent

    One of the things i didnt like about this book is that its based on mendeleev's table which is not the table we use now. Many elements are missing and some are in the wrong order. See medeleev's table was base on arranging the elements in the increase of atomic masses and similar chemical properties. Moseley's table (the current periodic table system) fixed all of the inconsistant placings of elements because he arranged the elements in the increase of atomic numbers not masses. This book has many flaws due to the choice of scientist its based on if it was based on moseley it would more accurate and helpful to scalors this however is just a book on how the table was wrong until 1913

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Only part of the book

    This is a good reference but does not contain all of the book. Since it is free if you don't like delete. If you use it than look at getting the whole book.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Basic Material

    This was okay for a beginner, but as a science teacher for over 30 years I found it not to be helpful except for an occasional reference.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Yep, you actually MIGHT need it one day

    When I first got my Nook this was offered as a free book. Who needs a periodic table I asked myself? Then came the day... & I' m glad it's still free! Y ou just never know when you'll need to know the atomic number of whatever.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    handy

    good for a quick reference, but not much information compared to academic and professional websites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Tegereww

    Ghjhgghkhgjbbvb jbvgggfgcsegthgdegeegrtyo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Ghfh

    Gjghhghg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Perodic table

    Got it the first day and love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Meh....

    This was a great book for reference, but not enjoyment. This will come in handy for homework problems, though!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Handy!

    Nice reference tool.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    If only..

    If this were an app we might have a future

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Boring

    Its boring cuz its not really helpful. I guess it would be helpful to soem but not to me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Schoool

    Its good for cemestry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    SOS

    Im in middle school but i know the periodic table. I got it just for an excuse to talk with my friends but i wonder if i should do something with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    I love it its good mostly

    A good refrence you have to know u r looking 4
    Over all good:-) / )-:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Good

    I needed to take stuff with me to my grandmothers and i really love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Periodic table

    Good for middle schoolers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Good

    Very useful if your in middle school or high school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Cool

    I though it was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    A Useful Reference

    This contains the essential pieces for the periodic table. It's useful but not in-depth regarding details. It's a mobile reference, after all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12