Customer Reviews for

FREEDOM : The Rake And The Recluse : Part One (a time travel romance)

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Time Travel Romance

Freedom is part one in this re-released version of The Rake and the Recluse. This first part gives us an introduction to Francine Larrabee an independent business woman living in Denver, Colorado. During a morning cab ride to her office she is unexpectedly transported b...
Freedom is part one in this re-released version of The Rake and the Recluse. This first part gives us an introduction to Francine Larrabee an independent business woman living in Denver, Colorado. During a morning cab ride to her office she is unexpectedly transported back to the year 1880.

Francine's father was an anthropologist who had written detailed journals theorizing about a time-shift that would occur during an unnamed family's lineage. Supposedly some people within this family were not born during the correct period of time and the universe would align to get the family member back to their proper time. The last thing Francine remembers is holding her cell phone and a framed picture of a woman with long dark hair named Madeleine who could be Francine's doppelganger. The cab makes a sudden turn throwing Francine backwards into her seat. In the next moment she finds herself lying on the ground seconds away from being trampled to death by a pair of horses. She blacks out after hitting her head and is taken to the home of Gideon Alrick Trumbull, tenth Duke of Roxleigh.

After regaining consciousness, she realizes that she is no longer in the same century or country. She has a panic attack and starts throwing things and lashing out at the doctor and housekeeper who are trying to help her. Soon (His Grace) Gideon is summoned and she demands he tell her what is going on. Francine thinks that there is a joke being played on her and insists he take her home. He grabs her and demands that she address him respectfully in his household. While still in his embrace, Francine catches sight of herself in the mirror. Instead of seeing a young woman with blond hair looking back at her she sees herself with long curly brown hair. Madeleine is staring back at her. She looses consciousness for the second time.

Freedom: The Rake and the Recluse flowed very well and was extremely intriguing. With the addition of the photos I felt like I was watching/reading a drama series. I liked all of the characters and can't wait to get to know them better. The dialogue was interesting as well with both modern and old English from Francine & Gideon and then some French dialogue between Madeleine's parents. The budding romance between Gideon and Francine has me in suspense. Francine is adjusting surprisingly well to her new reality. The first part in this serial novel ends with Gideon leaving for London on business and Francine not sure if she will still be there when he returns. I'm looking forward to the other 5 parts of this serial novel and wish I could read them all at the same time. The anticipation is a tiny bit tortuous.

posted by AsianCocoa on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it.

I thought it was pretty good story especially since I don't usually read time travel stories.

posted by 1546724 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Time Travel Romance

    Freedom is part one in this re-released version of The Rake and the Recluse. This first part gives us an introduction to Francine Larrabee an independent business woman living in Denver, Colorado. During a morning cab ride to her office she is unexpectedly transported back to the year 1880.

    Francine's father was an anthropologist who had written detailed journals theorizing about a time-shift that would occur during an unnamed family's lineage. Supposedly some people within this family were not born during the correct period of time and the universe would align to get the family member back to their proper time. The last thing Francine remembers is holding her cell phone and a framed picture of a woman with long dark hair named Madeleine who could be Francine's doppelganger. The cab makes a sudden turn throwing Francine backwards into her seat. In the next moment she finds herself lying on the ground seconds away from being trampled to death by a pair of horses. She blacks out after hitting her head and is taken to the home of Gideon Alrick Trumbull, tenth Duke of Roxleigh.

    After regaining consciousness, she realizes that she is no longer in the same century or country. She has a panic attack and starts throwing things and lashing out at the doctor and housekeeper who are trying to help her. Soon (His Grace) Gideon is summoned and she demands he tell her what is going on. Francine thinks that there is a joke being played on her and insists he take her home. He grabs her and demands that she address him respectfully in his household. While still in his embrace, Francine catches sight of herself in the mirror. Instead of seeing a young woman with blond hair looking back at her she sees herself with long curly brown hair. Madeleine is staring back at her. She looses consciousness for the second time.

    Freedom: The Rake and the Recluse flowed very well and was extremely intriguing. With the addition of the photos I felt like I was watching/reading a drama series. I liked all of the characters and can't wait to get to know them better. The dialogue was interesting as well with both modern and old English from Francine & Gideon and then some French dialogue between Madeleine's parents. The budding romance between Gideon and Francine has me in suspense. Francine is adjusting surprisingly well to her new reality. The first part in this serial novel ends with Gideon leaving for London on business and Francine not sure if she will still be there when he returns. I'm looking forward to the other 5 parts of this serial novel and wish I could read them all at the same time. The anticipation is a tiny bit tortuous.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully Unique!

    This book is a great introduction to a six book serial due to be released over the next several months. We are introduced to Francine, our accidental time traveling heroine, and Gideon, 10th Duke of Roxleigh, whose character lives with a troubled past. Through a family theory, a little time travel, and a lot of fate? Destiny? Francine is thrown into Gideon's century and arms. We watch as their story begins to unfold as the reluctant Gideon does not want to accept the new feelings that are stirring for Francine. I really do not want to say too much here, afraid that I'll give too much of the story away, and what fun is that?

    I have to tell you, though, that Ms. LeBlanc paints a vibrant, colorful, textured scene with her words. What makes this book unique, at least to me, is that within her story are photographs that take you further into her minds eye. This is a book that you will not want to put down once you start it; and it is enough of a tease to set you up for book two, Found, due out in January 2012.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    An intriguing start.

    Love the additional scene!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Really good

    Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good read

    I love the whole plot of time traveling having the girl sent back in time and falls in love I recommend this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Enjoyed it.

    I thought it was pretty good story especially since I don't usually read time travel stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic start to a Serialized book

    I really like this book. I like that its serialized. I like getting this first glimpse of Francine and Gideon. That I get to wonder what happens next, (yes I read the original and I know what happens... whatever. I can do what I want).

    I'm enjoying the time travel aspect. Curious to see how it plays out. I want to see Gideon un-starch his nickers. Relax a little. Like when he was at the fountain. *sigh* A man letting down his guard even for a moment makes me melt.

    I also want to see Francine fired up again. She's got spirit and spunk. Let it loose girl.

    Overall, great start to what I think will be an explosive relationship and book.

    Oh and I forgot, which I'm surprised about really, the pictures throughout and at the end top this unique journey off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Good

    Part one was good, but not good enough to purchase 5 more parts, I just read the reviews and know what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    darn

    another story spoiled by explicit sex scenes, and she included pictures also! the books stop at a wierd time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Very good.

    I love time travel books....this is right up there with my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    THE MAPLE TRE HERD TERRITORY

    THIS IS JOCKO. GET OTHER HORSES TO JOIN AND POST YOUR DESCRIPTION IN THE FIRST RESULT$!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    May have been good plot - Crude obscenity & some profanity

    This could have perhaps been a good novel ha it not had so much crude sexual scenes in it.
    There was some profanity - I strongly doubt a couple of terms were used in the 1800's & early 20th century especially with proper British gentleman - but the obscenity was way out of line. It may have been a desperate attempt to create a series
    from what was truly one or two novels. Regardless, One would not feel a need to read any further, nor would one be inclined to add these
    writings to one's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    It's alright, it's a good series and I liked the story line. I h

    It's alright, it's a good series and I liked the story line. I hated the pictures throughout the book, I like to imagine the characters and scenes and I saw way more man thigh than I possibly could ever want. Not sexy. Overall it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Not good

    I was disappointed. It didnt make sense for him to fall head over heels in love with her since he had only seen her once. You would expect a duke to have more self control than that. Other than that and the pictures, it was okay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1