Customer Reviews for

Fablehaven (Fablehaven Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 549 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(431)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

A fun fantasy world

All to often with fantasy books written within the past 20 years or so, it's just a rehashing of the exact same ideas and same fantasy tropes and mythological creatures. Child of promise has special powers that enable him or her to take on the great evil presence that h...
All to often with fantasy books written within the past 20 years or so, it's just a rehashing of the exact same ideas and same fantasy tropes and mythological creatures. Child of promise has special powers that enable him or her to take on the great evil presence that has oppressed the entire world. Throw in some elves, dwarves, dragons, vampires, etc and you've got yourself a story.

In many respects, that was what I was expecting out of Fablehaven. Even just the name makes it seem like we're in for the exact same sort of plot structure and fantasy world. However, even though Mull hasn't created any sort of new fantasy or mythological creatures, his take on how the world has come to be and the rules that have been placed onto it are refreshingly new.

Also, Mull is a good enough writer that he doesn't just rely on the typical fantasy plot or limited growth in main characters, but instead creates characters who are complex and through their personalities cause many of the issues that they then need to resolve. The story is more about discovery and personal growth, understanding boundaries and the consequences of breaking those boundaries than it is about mythical creatures.

Not quite a rival for a Rowling world, Fablehaven is still engaging, and will captivate readers in a unique way. I recommend this series to readers 10-14.

-Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

posted by Lindsey_Miller on November 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!

I just finished reading this book yesterday. I love it! Anyone who loves mythology and folkore will love this book. I love it, and I'm just 11! My mom owns the last three, but I had to borrow this one from my school's library. This is the first book of a 5 book series, ...
I just finished reading this book yesterday. I love it! Anyone who loves mythology and folkore will love this book. I love it, and I'm just 11! My mom owns the last three, but I had to borrow this one from my school's library. This is the first book of a 5 book series, and I'm sure they're all going to be as good as the first. Keep on writing, Brandon Mull!

posted by 5396126 on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 549 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun fantasy world

    All to often with fantasy books written within the past 20 years or so, it's just a rehashing of the exact same ideas and same fantasy tropes and mythological creatures. Child of promise has special powers that enable him or her to take on the great evil presence that has oppressed the entire world. Throw in some elves, dwarves, dragons, vampires, etc and you've got yourself a story.

    In many respects, that was what I was expecting out of Fablehaven. Even just the name makes it seem like we're in for the exact same sort of plot structure and fantasy world. However, even though Mull hasn't created any sort of new fantasy or mythological creatures, his take on how the world has come to be and the rules that have been placed onto it are refreshingly new.

    Also, Mull is a good enough writer that he doesn't just rely on the typical fantasy plot or limited growth in main characters, but instead creates characters who are complex and through their personalities cause many of the issues that they then need to resolve. The story is more about discovery and personal growth, understanding boundaries and the consequences of breaking those boundaries than it is about mythical creatures.

    Not quite a rival for a Rowling world, Fablehaven is still engaging, and will captivate readers in a unique way. I recommend this series to readers 10-14.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    It's very rare, in this day and age of Harry Potter mania (and yes, I admit I'm a very devoted victim!) to find a fantasy story that can actually hold your attention. With FABLEHAVEN, though, new author Brandon Mull manages to do just that from the very first page to the last. Not to mention, thank the fairies, that there's already another book planned in the series. <BR/><BR/>The premise is simple enough: two siblings, thirteen-year-old Kendra and her eleven-year-old brother, Seth, are relegated to spending time with their paternal grandparents, Grandma and Grandpa Sorenson, while their parents enjoy a seventeen-day Scandinavian cruise. At first glance, that might not seem so strange, but you have to understand that their family's relationship with the grandparents Sorenson is sort of an odd one. They don't visit much, they don't call; in fact, Kendra and Seth don't really know their grandparents that well at all. <BR/><BR/>This is a forced, mandatory vacation though, so the kids don't have much choice in the matter. And when they finally reach Fablehaven, where, unbeknown to them, their Grandfather is the caretaker, they're a little overwhelmed. First, there were the No Trespassing and Private Property signs that gave way to one that said Certain Death Awaits. Now, they find out that however pretty and secluded Fablehaven may be, there's no television, no radio, and a ton of rules -- not all of which make sense. <BR/><BR/>What follows is two weeks of more adventure, trouble, suspense, and magic than the kids could have ever dreamed of. When their rash actions, and disobedience to some important rules, leads to retribution from the magical world of Fablehaven, Kendra, Seth, Grandpa Sorenson, and even Grandma, who seems to be missing, are in for a ride. <BR/><BR/>FABLEHAVEN is a great fantasy novel perfect for everyone, from young adults to those young at heart. With a cast of characters ranging from witches to fairies, satyrs to imps, strange chickens and conniving trolls, there's definitely something for everyone. I plan to give my copy of FABLEHAVEN to my ten-year-old son to read next, and I'm pretty sure he'll enjoy it as much as I did (not to mention my mom, who gets it when he's done!). Kudos to Mr. Mull for such a great debut fantasy novel, and for giving me something absolutely wonderful to read during my Harry Potter-deprived winter. I can't wait for the next book in the series!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One Of The Greatest Fantasies of All Time

    I Have Read this and it only took me 3 days to read. Mostly because I read it till one in the morning every night. It was well-written, thrilling, and humorous. If you are looking for a good fantasy. I strongly suggest Fablehaven. You wouldn't want to miss a fantasy this well written. :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    I definitely will be reading the entire Fablehaven series. I love books about children who go on fantastical adventures and learn valuable lessons along the way. This book had me from page 1 - I couldn't put it down and finished it within a matter of hours. Highly recommended for lovers of fantasy, fables, lore and adventure!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    Must Have book!

    I read Fablehaven and it was amazing! You are right by the characters side adventuring with them, in your own world of fantasy! To be honest do NOT judge this book by its cover because when you open the book yuo CANNOtput it down...in a couple of days this book is finished from cover to cover! Kendra and Seth go on an amazing adventure that you will have to find out, and of course...read it! This book is great for your child, or YOU. This is a must have for your childs library. my daughter read this book cover to cover reading the whole series and she cant wait for the next one to come out! so go ahead and try it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Fantasy Reading

    I read this book because my 10 year old son loves it and talks about it constantly. I have to say I love it myself. What a great book for imagination and thrill seekers. I loved it so much I have started the second one and plan to read them all. Fun, exciting story for kids of all ages.....

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Excellent work!

    I saw a small story about this series and decided to give it a try. I found that it took me about the first 100 pages to really get into it, but after that, I have hungrily devoured each book as soon as I get my hands on it. I especially enjoy the fact that the characters act like real-life people and don't seem to have that untouchable feeling that many characters in some books do. There are many similarities to draw from their personalities (flaws and strengths) to our own and which gives us a way to look at ourselves in the mirror. Are we the risky and oftentimes disobedient type like Seth or the observant and obedient Kendra? What is wrong with each? Are there things, people or causes that we would go to any length to save? Although their world is in danger from much different sources than our own, we likewise face dire circumstances in many ways and hopefully we can show the same spark that Kendra and Seth do. I would easily recommend this book (and the whole series) to anyone. For some it might spark an interest in reading and for others it will transport them to a different world and forget their own for a little while.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Masterful

    I picked up this book because it was recommended by a friend. I am usually hesitant to buy new YA fantasies, simply because so many of them are rehashing old tropes for a younger audience, and I just can't bear to reread all the same cliches. Fablehaven, however, did none of this. As the summary indicates, Fablehaven is about a preserve for magical creatures. Kendra and Seth go to visit their grandfather who never visits and never calls and never has kids over at his house. He lives in the middle of a dark and mysterious wooods. There isn't much to do a tthe house, but there are little secrets hidden throughout the property. Seth is a little more adventurous than he should be, and he ends up awakening forces that are beyond them. Brandon Mull is masterful in the dramatic revelation of setting. The details come at exactly the right pace, tantalizing you with further details. The setting is also described beautifullly where it should be beautiful, and horrifying where it should be horrifying. The characters are very well drawn, including those who show up for only half-a-chapter. Kendra and Seth are much deeper and three-dimensional than is typical in a YA book, and they each have to make extraordinary decisions by ordinary means. Finally, the plot continue to surprise, but it always had the requisite foreshadowing. I can't find any fault with this book at all, which is a rare feat. This is a must-own book for any collection.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Good book

    Great book would reccommend it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Fablehaven

    The world that Brandon Mull has created is a wondrous place full of different mythical creatures - and Mull weaves a intricate tale that keeps us following right behind him, like a little puppy dog. Mull constantly makes you want more, to discover more about the characters, where Mull does a perfect job of making some shrouded in just the right amount of mystery. And of course the creatures, one of my favorite things about this series is that even though we are entranced by the creatures already unveiled, we know that all around us there is more to discover.
    To say the least, I sincerely enjoyed this book, and each one has me reading it faster and faster, aching for more of the suspense and imagination that we have had so much of already!
    I would recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy, and has a big imagination. To say the least - this book was definitely a great read, and it would be very wrong to pass it by next time you are at the bookstore!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Harry vs. Fable

    Some people dont like it but thats because
    1.they havnt even read the book
    2.they are big Harry Potter snots (no offense to jk rowling there good books) and they havnt even given it a chance so take that people who are gonna make nasty comments if they had a great taste for books they would plow right threw the $%*&-*+@#! Series so if u agree with me press yes they should make a movie out of this






    P.S Drink the milk l.o.l.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Wow

    To childish got bored questions write back with wow

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Gage burden:

    This book is a great book for readers 11-adult i would know i'm 12 this book is a fantasy story that will keep you on the edge of your seats

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Wonderful story for all ages!!

    Initially when my sister told me about this book I thought there would be no way that I would like this book but I LOVED it and now I am hooked on the series. If you love books that are easy reading and have some adventure and lots of imagination then you will love this book. I love magical books and this is exactly what this book is. It makes you dig down in your imagination and brings you to world of fairies,trolls,witches and even a giant cow!!
    Great story and I can't wait to read the rest of the books in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Nice return to Fairy tale stories.

    Nice to return to stories about fairies and legends. Not often do you have stories that you learn new things as you read. I cannot seem to find many stories that interest me in the fiction department. This is along the lines of the Harry Potter type of books but not the same story line at all. The author, Brandon Mull, writes with real clarity. I can "see" the story as I read. I predict that the next popular movie series will be these books. Couldn't wait until the next book and I am in now in book 3. 5 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Too wordy and descriptive

    This was a bedtime read-aloud that I read to my nine year old daughter. She loved the book even though it is a bit dark and scary at times.

    I was not as enthusiastic about the book. I think the plot itself was well developed and for a children's book the characters were also fully developed but the writing drove me a bit crazy. This is the first book by Brandon Mull that I've read so I don't know if all of his books are like this but he is definitely too wordy for me. A little descriptive detail is always a good thing to paint a picture in the mind but this author went overboard. My eleven year old lost interest early on in the book because of the excessive descriptions. On a positive note, I kept telling myself that my daughter was being exposed to new vocabulary. :)

    My daughter wants me to read the next book in the series but I'm actually dreading the thought of 400 pages of descriptions...

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    WHAT!!!!!!

    BRANDON IS MAKING A FABLEHAVEN MOVIE AND IS ALSO MAKING A SECOND FABLEHAVEN SERIES!!!!!!I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS MY WHOLE 11 YR OLD LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    (more like 2 years)
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!@ @!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!O!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    SOMONE PINCH ME!!!!!!

    MINECRAFT NAME:rockster11

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    Thrilling  The book Fablehaven was five times better than I thou

    Thrilling 
    The book Fablehaven was five times better than I though it would be.  I continually told my mom I would never read the book because I thought it was childish.  I was wrong, theres nothing childish about Fablehaven, except for the magic.  At first I thought the book would never get good until the magic was introduced.  I wanted to know what the next event would be.  I wanted to know who would &quot;win.&quot;  I was a huge Harry Potter fan and I didn't think there could ever be any books that could come close to it, Fablehaven is close.  Brandon Mull does a fantastic job making the story come to life.  Ever line was worth being put in.  Every sentence had meaning.  After Kendra was fairy struck and the book was coming to an end I wasn't happy.  Until I found out there was a second book.  The story Fablehaven wasn't like any ordinary take on magical being, it was new, and well though of.  The characters are all complex and unique.  They all face different, hard challenges that help them personally as well as physically.  Kendra and Seth had a lot of room for improvement that they were able to accomplish over their journeys.  Neither Kendra's or Seth's relationship with their grandparents were good.  They were both unhappy about spend time out of their summer to be with their grandparents.  Little did they know their grandparents lived completely different lives than they thought being incharge of Fablehaven.  If you haven't read Fablehaven and your looking for another good book I suggest you read this.  It's for both girls and boys as long as you have an open, adventurous, and exciting way of viewing things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A very unique fantasy fiction book that will keep the reader beg

    A very unique fantasy fiction book that will keep the reader begging for more. This book is a rare treasure. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!!!!

    This book is adventurous and is filled with excitement. One word to describe Fablehaven is Magical. I really enjoyed how the events are so exciting and magical. I would reccommend this book for people who like fantasy. This book has become one of my favorites and I hope that you read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 549 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28