Customer Reviews for

Fablehaven

Average Rating 4.5
( 635 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(486)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

A fun fantasy world

All to often with fantasy books written within the past 20 years or so, it's just a rehashing of the exact same ideas and same fantasy tropes and mythological creatures. Child of promise has special powers that enable him or her to take on the great evil presence that h...
All to often with fantasy books written within the past 20 years or so, it's just a rehashing of the exact same ideas and same fantasy tropes and mythological creatures. Child of promise has special powers that enable him or her to take on the great evil presence that has oppressed the entire world. Throw in some elves, dwarves, dragons, vampires, etc and you've got yourself a story.

In many respects, that was what I was expecting out of Fablehaven. Even just the name makes it seem like we're in for the exact same sort of plot structure and fantasy world. However, even though Mull hasn't created any sort of new fantasy or mythological creatures, his take on how the world has come to be and the rules that have been placed onto it are refreshingly new.

Also, Mull is a good enough writer that he doesn't just rely on the typical fantasy plot or limited growth in main characters, but instead creates characters who are complex and through their personalities cause many of the issues that they then need to resolve. The story is more about discovery and personal growth, understanding boundaries and the consequences of breaking those boundaries than it is about mythical creatures.

Not quite a rival for a Rowling world, Fablehaven is still engaging, and will captivate readers in a unique way. I recommend this series to readers 10-14.

-Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

posted by Lindsey_Miller on November 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!

I just finished reading this book yesterday. I love it! Anyone who loves mythology and folkore will love this book. I love it, and I'm just 11! My mom owns the last three, but I had to borrow this one from my school's library. This is the first book of a 5 book series, ...
I just finished reading this book yesterday. I love it! Anyone who loves mythology and folkore will love this book. I love it, and I'm just 11! My mom owns the last three, but I had to borrow this one from my school's library. This is the first book of a 5 book series, and I'm sure they're all going to be as good as the first. Keep on writing, Brandon Mull!

posted by 5396126 on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 635 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Very good

    This book is a great book. It has andventure and mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Epic

    This is an awesome series!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Best book everrrrr

    I read it in two dys read the seres in a fe weeks most amazing book ever at first its a but boring but omg just get it its amaizinggggg

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Read this!!!

    I read this book in 2009-2010 in 6th grade and found the story very interesting. WARNING FUNNY PART SPOILER: Part with massive cow/utters is awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    ???

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    MY OPINION

    This book never made any sense. The book dosnt get to the point and is npnstop waiting for the climax.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Booo

    SUSKS

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Awesome book!!

    My friend and her brother and sister are addicted to this book, and she begged me to read it, so I took it home. I honestly don't know what's different and special about this book, but it is. When I got home, I told myself I would read one chapter of it before I went to walk my dog. I finished the entire book in two hours without once stopping to do anything. I will definitely read the entire series, and I can't wait to get the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    I've always been intrested in ficton/fantasy novels such as Harry Potter, Spiderwick Cronicles, and stuff like that. When I first saw this book and started reading it, it was a little boring, but after the first chapter or two I got hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    WORST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It doesnt even deserve one star it deserves negative infinity all you peolpe who like it are stupid and babyish like this book hunger games is so much better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This book so&*%$#@" sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    My favorite book EVER!!!!!

    A great and intruiging book. I love how Mr. Mull puts a twist on things. I've read the whole series and I would HIGHLY reccomend it. In this fascinating tale, Kendra and Seth are face to face with dangers, creatures unheard of, and magic. Join them in this crazy, fascinating, life-endangering, and magical ride. So what are you waiting for??? Hop in and start reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Worst book ever dont read it

    Fablehaven is dumb. I hate the grandma and how she was the chicken. Hunger games is a real good book

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Price wise

    Amazing book i pay 10 bucks for a crumy book almost close to like this and this is so much better.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Flat characters, some shining scenes

    This is a pretty enjoyable book: it's got a lot of action and magic that is really entertaining to read. But I can't help feel that something is missing. The story is about two siblings, Kendra and Seth, who go to their Grandpa's house while their parents are on a cruise. However, it turns out their Grandpa's house is really a preserve for magical creatures.

    Now, I sort of found the characters to be a little flat. There was no room for characterization, although I did like when Kendra got the guts to try and rescue her family. But there was no build-up to get there. I feel as though the characters could have been worked out more.

    Mull's writing, though sometimes he's got this fantastical images, gets annoying after a while. I don't even know how to explain it really, but it seems really, really functional and a lot less fluid.

    But all in all, it's a pretty decent book. There were some really shining scenes, like when Kendra and Seth were hiding on Midsummer's Eve and Kendra's heroic act near the end. But other than that the plot was simply left to exploring the magical preserve and seeing what mischief and/or wonders that could happen.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome draw you in series!

    Looking for a great series if you love Harry Potter and Percy Jackson you will love Fablehaven! Turns out all the fairy/myths are alive and well living on a perserve. Lots of action!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Just Good Enough

    In a nutshell this book is good enough to make me want to see what happens in the next one. Overall it's not a great book but enjoyable enough especially for the younger audience it was meant for. The problems with it are that there is this magical world with rules and laws that are just kind of thrown at you without allowing them to be revealed slowly so that they seem more believable. Then there is the character Seth who is probably one of the most annoying characters ever. It's due to his disobedience that all the events of the book happen to begin with. He's not endearing or likeable and it's hard to feel sorry for him when he meets trouble. The redeeming qualities are the character Kendra who remains true to form and the author does provide us with the climatic ending the book needs. I almost felt like Seth could have been left out totally and it would have been a much better book. I'm looking forward to the next book and hope there is better story and character development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I didnt like Fablehaven......

    ................. I LOVED IT!!!!! its an awesome book! very funny and it helps you with your vocabulary! thrilling toooo!its very surprising! you wont believe who saves the day!! or night! i cant wait to read the second one!!!! (p.s if you read this book have a dictionary beside you!) HAPPY VALENTINES DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Fable Haven

    This book is very interesting and makes you want to keep reading until you have finished the book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Story

    I found this book a little annoying. The main characters kept doing stupid things and it just seemed to me it was a bit overdone on stupidity. But the story was good and the characters were interesting with enough variety to keep you reading. I don't know if I will read the next in the series or not.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    fablehaven is awesome

    First off everone says its a book just for kids....well its not.It can be for adults too.it has a lot of magic and magical creatures.Even though its a big book, you will keep on reading and reading it.When your done readig it you will be sad,because its sooo good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 635 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32