Customer Reviews for

Fables, Volume 1: Legends in Exile (NOOK Comics with Zoom View)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    If you like The Sandman, check this out!

    This is one of the very best comics out right now. If you like fantasy in an urban setting, tight storytelling, intriguing art, and great dialogue you should pick up this book. The first issue from DC is completely sold out! The only way to get this storyline now is to either beg it off of a friend who has it, or to pick up this trade paperback! The premise of the book itself is simple. Characters from fairy tales, folk tales, mythology, and world literature have been chased out of their homelands and are now living in modern America. A large number of the humanoid (or those who can purchase a glamour to make them appear so) live in a community in New York City. Many of the non humanoids live on a farm in upstate New York. This first trade paperback deals with a murder mystery. Rose Red has disappeared under mysterious circumstances and a sinister message "No More Happily Ever After". The Big Bad Wolf (now known as Bigby Wolf) is investigating the case. The suspects include (but are not limited to): Prince Charming, Bluebeard, and Snow White.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just started reading the Fables series last week and have quickly made it up to the 22nd or so issue, each just as enjoyable as the last. I had no idea what the big deal seemed to be about this series, but as other reviewers have pointed out, it has a very addictive and magical charm to it. Keeping the backgrounds of the characters remarkably intact while thrusting them into a modern world, with much more mature themes, makes for very compelling reading. Excellent writing, beautiful art which makes a perfect fit for these stories. I would highly recommend this title.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    'Disarmingly Charming'

    The simple, addictive, and creative world of fabletown binds the reader not only because of its wonderfully professional script but also with the soft-to-the-eyes yet stunning images created by Lan Medina bringing the characters truly to life with their charm and personalities. A must-read for anyone who enjoys graphic novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hooked on this series

    Love the concept, knocked out by the execution (storytelling, characterizations and art alike), thrilled by the potential. Will be snapping up the rest of the series ASAP.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Your Grandma's Fairytales

    Characters from fairytale and legend take on new life in these fabulous graphic series. Fleeing persecution in the magical realm they were born in, a group of fairytale refugees crossed dimensions and settled in New York. Now run by elected officials (King Cole and Snow White) the Fables hide their existence and plot a way home. Willingham breathes new life into ancient characters and creates new relationships and stories that are every bit as compelling as the original tales. Love this series, but there is some pretty mature content, so would recommend for mature readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Great stuff!

    Great stuff!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Highly Recommended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    The title that started an obsession

    I read comics like other little girls in the 80s; a Supergirl here and there, Superman, X-Men... and as a teen I read a few indie comics off and on, with a few manga religiously. I'd loved Sandman in high school, but really wasn't sure where to go from there. I ran across this first issue of Fables while looking for Aesop's Fables, and Bill Willingham returned me to comics with a fervor - I was hooked. I adored the premise and layered story telling, the nuanced art, and the innate sense of humor. This title started a snowball effect in branching out into other titles, and a lifelong love affair into the Western comic industry. This title was that captivating. Even now when I pick up my monthly pull list, I always save Fables - the best - for last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    LOVED IT!!!!! Great twist on some old tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Now this was a fantastic read. Fables opens up a world of all an

    Now this was a fantastic read. Fables opens up a world of all and any known beings in any fable, nursery rhyme, fairytale you name it. The ensemble of potential characters that this series can contain is endless. In Volume One: Legends in Exile: it's a who-dunnit mystery. The sister of Snow White, Rose Red has gone missing. There is too much blood in her apartment to make it possible that she survived, but where's the body? Mr Wolf and Snow White take on the case together and start interrogating all the people Rose Red has been known to consort with.

    Volume One contains the first 5 issues of Fables, but contains the whole complete story of Rose Red's disappearance and ends on a very perfect ending to her story. The combination of dialogue vs illustrations was perfect and the introductions to several other characters was not overwhelming and has an opening for several more story lines to branch off.

    Along with the mystery we get an introduction into the world, how the fables came to be living among the mundanes in our world and the desire to want to be able to go back to their homelands one day.

    Interesting side characters that are introduced such as Beauty and the Beast, Cinderella and Prince Charming, although we only get a peek into their lives, but the girls take on major kick ass roles. They play an even role against the guys in this story and I loved seeing a new and intriguing way to view Snow White and Cinderella. My favorite character was Snow White, she has a powerful job working for the government, better off divorced and stronger for it, great apartment and can stand up to the more animal side to the guys. By far my least favorite character is her ex husband Prince Charming. He's a cocky, selfish ass.

    This is by far one of my favorites, I do not know what took me so long to look into this serialized story, no wonder it won an Eisner Award in 2003. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Bad!

    A couple of coworkers turned me onto this graphic novel series, and so far I have quite enjoyed it. Willingham creates a clever story based around fable & fairy tale creatures in a more modern, mundane enviornment...each living in disguise amongst the humans of Earth. Volume 1 covers the 1st few graphic novels in the series. I am looking forward to digging into volume 2 very soon. If you like both comics and fantasy, this is a good series to check out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fables

    Fables is one of the first graphic novels I ever read, and it's probably my favorite. I picked it up because I loved James Jean's cover art, but it wasn't long before I was hooked. Fables follows the denizens of folklore, myth, legend, fairy tale, and beloved fiction as they cope with exile from their homeland and work to defeat the shadowy Adversary and find their way back. Well-known characters like Snow White, the Big Bad Wolf, Goldilocks, and Pinocchio---among others---receive a twist on their characters that both honors and defies their traditional roles, and the graphic novels are so filled with literary references that any lover of fairy tales and folklore can't help but be entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2