BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Facade

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars. I'm feeling a little let down, I had such high hopes

    3.5 stars. I'm feeling a little let down, I had such high hopes for this book. It tugged at my heart strings no doubt, but the rest of the connection with Adrian and Delaney was absent. To be honest I'm comparing how I felt about this book with my feelings for Charade.




    While Facade is a good story and an enjoyable one at that, I still felt as if something was missing from Adrian and Delaney's relationship. The intensity was there but it felt a little off towards the middle of the book. I finished this book quickly as well, but instead of having that feeling of wanting more I was left with the feeling of,"Is that it?"




    I also fell a little for Maddox, Delaney's brother and am wondering if he will be getting a story of his own. One thing this book does excellently is twists. You think everything is on the table from the get go, but it's not. Be prepared with tissues and make sure you're sitting while reading the second half of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Facade was an agonizingly emotional read for me.  By the end, I

    Facade was an agonizingly emotional read for me.  By the end, I was a sobbing mess but the outcome and resolution were more than worth the tears.

    Adrian is broken and haunted by tragic events that happened four years ago.  He can’t move forward because he relives his past over and over again.  His guilt, grief, remorse, hatred for himself, and for the person who caused the accident, consume him.  He moves from day to day trying to make the pain and memories disappear.  Then he meets her and, like him, she has ghosts in her eyes.  Suddenly, his world revolves around helping her ghosts disappear, all while battling his own.  His journey was beautifully heart-wrenching and I cried a thousand tears for him, and the tragedy that he suffered.

    Delaney is broken and haunted by tragic events that happened four years ago.  She can’t move forward until she atones for her father’s sins.  Her world exploded four years ago and she feels that, through forgiveness, she can slowly put the pieces back together.  She doesn’t count on the utter devastation that is Adrian, or falling in love with him.  Once she is faced with both, everything changes.  Her world is right for a split second, then her secrets blow it back apart.

    I loved Charade and the writing style of Nyrae Dawn.  I couldn’t wait to read Facade and have the opportunity to learn about the enigmatic Adrian.  However, the story started off very slow for me and I really struggled with Laney’s deception.  While I understand her reasoning behind it, I did not agree at all with her actions.

    Once again, the cast of secondary characters helped propel this book forward and I was extremely excited to see Colt & Chey again.  The character that I really connected with, and hope the next book will be centered around, is Maddox.  Laney’s brother mesmerized me and I have to know more about him.  His pain was palpable and the glimpses that we are given of his struggle had me hooked.

    Facade is a great addition to the New Adult genre and definitely worth the read  While I didn’t enjoy it as much as Charade, Facade was still an amazing read.  I absolutely recommend it to any fan of Ms. Dawn’s and the New Adult genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    Very touching story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    My gosh, Facade was an emotional heavy hitter from beginning to

    My gosh, Facade was an emotional heavy hitter from beginning to end. Adrian was introduced in Charade, and despite his seemingly carefree attitude, it definitely seemed like the boy was more than meets the eye.

    Enter Delaney Cross, a girl who hold a few secrets of her own. Facade is one of those books with a story you just know will come to a tumultuous intersection. An intersection in which secrets and lies and pain and guilt all converge into a devastating moment. One of those scenes that blows the story and characters wide open.

    I really thought I knew Adrian, but I had no idea this character was so broken. Adrian has a broken spirit and a poet's heart. His story was devastating and further proves that Nyrae Dawn is exceptionally gifted at creating her broken boys.

    Delaney was a determined girl with a big heart and shame that was not her burden to carry. This poor girl is set on saving everyone around her, and slowly breaking apart in the process. I truly did love Delaney and Adrian together, and hoped lies and tragedy wouldn't stand in their way. I'm surprised by how much I was invested in her relationship with her brother Maddox, and am anxious for his book, Masquerade.

    Facade got off to a quiet start. I was anxious to see Delaney and Adrian form that strong connection that would have me on the hook. Once that happened, I was in it. I really liked the turns Dawn took in the story. She didn't romanticize the darkness that made up the couple's lives, and didn't make the physical relationship between Adrian and Delaney into a cure-all that would take away their pain. Oh! I loved how much Colt and Chey were in the story. In fact, one of my favorite moments was a heart-to-heart between Colt and Adrian.

    Façade is an intense and thoughtful story. Both characters were introspective and reflective, and experienced so much growth. Though I loved Charade a bit more, Facade is a great addition to the Games series. I cannot wait for Masquerade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Façade is the second book in author Nyrae Dawn¿s Games Series an

    Façade is the second book in author Nyrae Dawn’s Games Series and the first of her work that I have read.  Two things: first, I am happy to say that you don’t have to read the first in the series to enjoy this amazing book and second, what a positively remarkable and emotional story this was!




    Delany had been living a pretty decent and normal childhood.  Older football player brother, working dad, stay-at-home mom….your typical all-American family.  Until her father has a horrific accident and ruins their picture perfect life.  Well, if she’s being honest, the cracks in their foundation were starting to show even before the accident.  Always one to want to fix things, Delany sets off with her brother to attempt to reach out to the other family that was affected by the terrible tragedy.  She’s hoping that maybe she can help the healing process not only for her, but also for Adrian…the handsome, brokenhearted parallel victim.




    Adrian Westfall never really had it very good.  His father was an abusive bastard and his mother a battered wife.  The only bright spots in his life were his sister and Ash.  Now that he doesn’t even have those two bright spots in his life, he has learned to master the façade that now carries himself through his lonely and depressed days.  His poetry and his writing have been the only things helping him keep a loose grasp on his sanity.  Some days the sadness threatens to swallow him whole.  Then, he meets Delany and thinks there may be something in her that can relate to him…he has no idea how right he is. 




    The secrets and unimaginable hurt that ties Delaney and Adrian together will prove to be a tie that binds and also the bond that can tear them apart.  They are instantly drawn to one another and find solace in each other’s company and what starts out as an innocent attempt at healing turns into something so much more.  Will they find happiness again? Can they truly ever heal?




    If you could see my right at this moment, you would see that my eyes are still puffy and swollen from finishing this book last night.  Partly because I couldn’t put it down and read late into the night but mainly because I was a sobbing, blubbering mess by the time I was done.  This book was intense and emotional and broke my heart more than once…..but you know I don’t think of that as a bad thing! Adrian and Delaney’s story is painful and beautiful and ran through some pretty intense emotions.  Grief, betrayal, guilt, overwhelming sadness….but also love and strength.  The connection they share is a heartbreaking one and they truly need each other to start the healing process and attempt to find happiness in life again, even if Adrian isn’t as knowing as Delaney is in the situation.  Delany is strong and determined with an innocence she still is able to hold on to despite the terrible hand dealt to her.  She knows she can’t change the past and what happened but she is willing to try to bring some peace to Adrian and help him heal.  Adrian is a broken soul.  The accident left him completely ruined emotionally and no matter how he’d like his life to be different, he can’t change what has happened and that has made him who he is today.  He tries hard to keep up a cool appearance and act as though he’s into his partying and sex filled social status, but it couldn’t be further from the truth.  The road Delany and Adrian travel down is absolutely gut wrenching but also extremely necessary in healing. I have to mention there was a twist near the end that I didn’t see coming….and it made the story even more emotional than it already had been, which I didn’t think was possible.  THAT was what turned my sad sniffles into an all out ugly cry.  But remember, I don’t think of that as a bad thing (my family may disagree since I looked like hell the next day, but pffft to them!).




    Emotionally stunning is how I would best describe this book.  I was drained when I finished but happy with how the book ended…I say book, because I know Delany and Adrian’s story will continue on even when we aren’t reading it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Delaney is a young woman who has had a tough life. At only eight

    Delaney is a young woman who has had a tough life. At only eighteen, she has had to deal with a mother who hates her, a father who is an alcoholic. Laney has moved with her brother to a small town. They got an apartment and Laney is determined to right all of the wrongs that she somehow feels responsible for.

    Adrian is drowning in his sorrow. He lost someone he loved and has been numbing the pain ever since. He lives in a small college town and has very few friends. He keeps himself high almost all of the time to keep his bad dreams at bay.

    Laney gets a job waitressing and one night, in walks Adrian. He is immediately attracted to her but Adriane doesn't do anything more than casual flings. He doesn't deserve anything more after all of the bad things he is responsible for. Laney sees Adrian for who he is behind the pain and she wants to help him. Laney wants to take care of everyone and make everything better. But she can't. She finally has to realize that she can't control what other people do and she has to let some things go. Her mother does not take this well.

    Adrian is continuing to struggle with his past. As we learn the true nature of what happened we can understand why it was so devastating for him.


    Laney gets closer and closer to Adrian and begins to fall for him. Only she is hiding a major bombshell of a secret. When Adrian finds out, he may never forgive her.

    Nyreae Dawn writes THE MOST amazing dramatic romance stories EVER. This one was a four star instead of five only because it didn't resonate as much for me as the first in this series did. I love, love , love these characters. The chemistry was amazing. It is a heartwarming and gut wrenching story of love and forgiveness.

    The twists and turns that we go through to get to the climax of this book were amazing. My heart broke for both of these characters. I also love the set up for the next book and can not wait to read on about Maddox, Lanie's brother.

    4 Gut Wrenching Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Façade is a love story between Adrian and Delaney. Two people wh

    Façade is a love story between Adrian and Delaney. Two people whose lives are interconnected, though only one of them knows it. They are both keeping secrets from each other. How will it effect their relationship?

    This book was raw, emotional, beautiful, heartbreaking, haunting, angsty...as the characters went through the emotional wringer so did you! I enjoyed being able to see both Adrian and Delaney's POV, and to be able to get inside both of their minds.

    I was captivated by Nyrae Dawn's book and her writing. Façade is the second book in the series, and while I didn't feel I needed to read the first book, Charade, to know what was going on in this one, she did revisit the main characters from Charade. The glimpses that we got into their relationship had me so intrigued by their story, that I paused in my reading to purchase the first book so that I could start reading it as soon as I finished Façade!

    I highly recommend this book! Nyrae Dawn took me on an emotional roller coaster with Façade that I would NOT have wanted to miss!

    I received an ARC from Forever (Grand Central Publishing)via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    WHAT DID I THINK: 3.5/4 out of 5 Stars; I loved Charade so I was

    WHAT DID I THINK: 3.5/4 out of 5 Stars; I loved Charade so I was excited to read Façade. However, I did not love it like I loved Charade. I can’t put my finger on what was missing. The writing was good and the story was interesting, yet something missing.

    Did I feel connected to the characters? I liked Adrain and I liked Delaney, I just don’t know if I liked them together. I did not feel their connection. I did not feel their chemistry. Something was missing.

    Pace of the Story: I wish some parts would move along. In the beginning of the book the story was going through day to day events in the characters’ lives, but once the revolution came out it would skip to a week, then 2 weeks and then 2 months. I would have liked to see them more after the truth came out. I think the story would have been better if Delaney told Adrain the truth earlier in the story.

    Positives: I am still a big fan of Nyrae Dawn. I love her style of writing. I will read everything by Nyrae Dawn. My disappointment with the book came with the concept of this story. Some of it was hard for me to connect with or believe.

    I loved Adrain’s poems. I think there should be a book or a story just around Adrain’s poems. They were beautiful.

    Negatives: I did not like that the Delaney did not tell Adrain the secret until 75%. It made it less believable all that happened after she told him. I lost respect for Delaney that she was willing to show her love to Adrain yet could not be honest with him when I think she had a lot of opportunities especially since he asked her over and over what her “ghosts” were.

    Bottom Line: I cannot wait for Maddox’s story!!!!
    Book Format Read: A copy was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    This is a heart wrenching story about two soul mates who find ea

    This is a heart wrenching story about two soul mates who find each other only to have a secret tear them apart.  I laughed.  I cried.  I hoped they could find a way to forgive themselves and each other.  

    I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about overcoming tragedy and learning to live life each day even when you don't want to go on.  This story shows you can learn to live again with a new normal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    .

    <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1